We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All these reviews cannot be wrong!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Ranked #4 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“All these reviews cannot be wrong!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Quite simply we loved it. Spotlessly clean. Friendly & helpful staff. Really not that far from anywhere with a great selection of restaurants in Raday Street only minutes away. A very spacious room & ensuite. Great value albeit booked long in advance through Expedia. Breakfast was great, set us up for the day and the breakfast staff were lovely. Only fault? Well if you get one of the rooms off the main entrance you'll be advised the room is larger than standard and is on the first floor above the road but it won't be street noise that disturbs you - it'll be the cleaners in the middle of the night cleaning the seating area and stairs! Dreadful - until they got a sight of my husband in his pyjamas telling them to be quiet. We mentioned this to reception who kindly offered to move us but that wasn't necessary, just clean quietly and stop yapping. Don't let this issue put you off, hopefully it's sorted now.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REALLYMR&MRSSMITH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,811
    700
    70
    7
    2
See reviews for
498
2,769
154
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (670)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Palazzo with my fiance from September 16th through the 20th. The hotel was very nice, the service was impeccable and the rooms were very well decorated. We stayed in room Junior 508 which I believe is a Junior Suite. The room had plenty of windows and opened up to a view of the church across the street. The front desk staff was very helpful, offered lots of advice and even offered to make us a to go breakfast for our early morning departure. They also have complimentary coffee and water in the bar area but they lock the refrigerators at 5pm. Although our stay was enjoyable, there were a few items that I wished were a little different.

The breakfast was a little disappointing. There weren't any made to order options. The precooked eggs were dried out and not edible. It just seemed like everything came from a package and was laid out on trays for consumption. Overall not horrible, but we had just spent 4 days in Prague and were spoiled by an amazing feast each morning!

I wish they had room service! We went on a full day tour of the wine country and didn't get back until late. Being tired from spending the day on the road it would have been nice to order something in room.

The mattresses in the room were like sleeping on concrete. I'm well versed in European mattresses standards but this was probably one of the hardest mattresses that I've slept on in a while. To be fair, I am 5 1/2 months pregnant so maybe that had something to do with it. Also, the church bells across the street ring and due to the room location is pretty loud!

I was disappointed with the location. It seemed that we had to spend lots of time walking to get to our destination whether it be a tourist attraction or ground transportation. If I could do it over again, I would stay closer to the Chain Bridge since that is where we spent most of our time.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GinKnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

The Hotel Palazzo Zichy is beautifully located in a quiet area. That being said, the hotel is within walking distance of many sights including Andrassy Avenue, the Castle district, the Chain Bridge, the Central Market and the Parliament, as well as a variety of restaurants. The staff was gracious and professional starting with my initial email contact, to securing the reservation, and finally our arrival. They arranged a car to meet us at the train station, recommended dining options, and assisted with our sightseeing. The hotel is far lovelier than their website depicts. The lobby and the bar are quite outstanding, actually, blending a contemporary interior with an exquisite palace exterior. Our Superior room had more than adequate space - the bathroom was lovely with a walk-in rain shower. The breakfast buffet was displayed well and food was plentiful with many choices. Hotel Palazzo Zichy is an incredible value.
There are only a few cities that evoke an indescribable sense / feeling and Budapest ranks high among them. It’s a glorious and interesting city. I loved it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Dear "CharlieSR",
First and foremost thank you again for your kind attention taken in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy and for having choosen us for your stay in our lovely city. It was great to be heard that your were satisfied with our spotless hotel rooms, rich buffet breakfast but from all the compliments I was glad to read that our staff provided exceptional service throughout your stay and could make your holiday enjoyable.
We are all sincerely hope that we can welcome you back in our hotel in the near future!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

This friendly chic hotel exceeded our expectations. The decor is classy modern, the rooms were always clean and overall I thought the look and feel was fantastic. We were pleased at the size and design of our room and the helpful staff made sure we had everything we needed. If you're from Europe I'm sure you will love it. Americans perhaps expect bigger rooms and more privacy than the style of the bathroom affords (no lock on bathroom door) but we loved the attention to detail and the sheer style of the design. The suite of 6 computers with 24 hour internet access was a great bonus. Perhaps the location for some is not central enough but the transport links by tram and metro are so close it really isn't a problem. We would love to stay here again sometime. The price is right - excellent value.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ortonioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Dear "ortonioni",
Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad to read that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am also delighted that you had highlighted our modern, contemporary art „chic” design for other travellers. I will be happy to assist you with any future bookings when your travel plans bring you back to Budapest.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2010

The management of the hotel helped us to get full enjoyment out of the visit by arranging airport pickups and booking the best restaurants.

Also making the best cocktails in town.

Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktbu711n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Dear "marktbu711n",
Thank you for taking the time to recommend us on TripAdvisor! I was delighted to read your short but to the point comment of our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff's service exceeded your expectations. . It would be our pleasure to welcome you back anytime should your plans bring you to Budapest again.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I chose this hotel based on the wonderful reviews I read and it did not disappoint. Loved the old building with the super modern interior. Decor was very contemporary in grays and yet still warm. Good breakfast, good service, good location. I was happy to have free internet access while there--a real plus these days. We were lucky enough to have a room with a balcony. I think there are no more than two.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pesca7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Dear "Pesca7",
Thank you on your generous feedback about the service and other attributes of the hotel. I am glad that you were contented with our décor and style, buffet breakfast service and the free wireless access. We hope to be able to welcome you back to Hotel Palazzo Zichy in the not too distant future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

We stayed for 2 nights in August here. I would agree with all the others that this is a fantastic hotel. The key feature of this hotel are the hotel staff, they go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The first night, we arrived in late and had skipped dinner. The bartender made one of the best caprese salad! Even after we checked out, the hotel provided us towels to visit the spa. They have a free internet terminals (with printer) available for guests.

We strongly recommend the Szechenyi bath, it was a fantastic experience. We purchased bath tickets at the hotel and also got the Budapest card for 2 days (incld a free river cruise). The night views of the city from the Gellert hill is not to be missed. The public transport in Budapest is very good and safe.

Tip: To reach the hotel, please ask in advance for the directions as this is good 10-15 min walk from the nearest station

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whizb02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ibogyo, Front Office Manager at Hotel Palazzo Zichy, responded to this review, 3 October 2010
Dear "whizb02",
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.com regarding your stay in our Hotel Palazzo Zichy. I am glad to read that we have met your expectations and you have enjoyed your stay with us. We do appreciate that you have recognized our staff’s professionalism and their service minded attitude. We do hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel and provide the same level of service.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#2 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,886 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Zichy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Zichy

Property: Hotel Palazzo Zichy
Address: Lorinc pap ter 2, Budapest 1088, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Budapest
#1 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#2 Business Hotel in Budapest
#4 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Zichy 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The place where history meets present! Stay in a historical palace that was originally constructed in the 19th century and served as the residence of a Hungarian noble, Count Nandor Zichy. Located in downtown Budapest in the historical Palace quarter. Our guests will enjoy a state-of-the-art guestroom with a flat panel television, and complimentary high-speed Internet. The 80-room hotel features many free services: lounge with free water and coffee, Internet-access, business corner with 6 workstations and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Zichy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Zichy Hotel
Palazzo Zichy Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing