We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Danube Hostel

Blue Danube Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Danube Hostel
Ranked #173 of 649 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

Sandor is a wonderful host who will pick you up from the bus or train station for free. He gave me a short but information packed ride around the city on the way back to the hostel.

Once there, he'll sit down with you and explain everything about the city: opening times of museums, best spas, where to eat, where to drink, etc. He seems to have an info pamphlet for everyplace he explains too.

The room was really large compared to a normal hostel. Hostel is a bit of a misnomer though, because you stay in a room in one of several different apartments. Wonderful accommodations for those who just want a quiet, clean place to sleep and relax. If you're looking for a hostel with nightly beer-pong events where the workers get everyone together to sing kumbaya and go on pub crawls together, look somewhere else.

I wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Blue Danube. It's a wonderful place in a great city.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweeney72492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

Traveled with two other friends and all were more than satisfied. Sandor is the best host out there. When we arrived, he picked us up from the airport and continued to share amazing information about the city, driving us around certain landmarks on our way to the hostel. Once in the hostel, we were amazed by the design of the room: It was SO modern, clean, cool and private. Sandor had multiple maps, all prepared with highlights and pen marks showing us all the places to go. He also had every single pamphlet imaginable for events and venues in the city. Throughout our stay, he would check in regularly asking us if we needed anything and what not. This hostel was amazing. Washing machine was in the room as well, which was extremely useful. All of us would go back for sure! In fact, one is going back with her parents (says a lot to be able to bring parents to a hostel). It was an absolutely amazing stay. The rooms are AMAZING and Sandor is just as amazing. I recommend this hostel to everyone! It is on the best street in the city: right across the street from some of the best food I have ever had and the number 3 bar in the world! Walking distance (5 min) from The New York Cafe, which was voted number one cafe in the world. Honestly, if you don't stay with Sandor, you're not doing Budapest right.

Room Tip: All rooms are amazing, safe, clean, quiet and beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaddieC10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

This is one the most friendliest hostels we have ever stayed at. It’s a 20 minute walk from the Keleti Pályaudvar (East Station), but inform the gracious, most generous host Sándor in advance and he will pick you up from the station for free! The hostel is a part of an apartment building, and the one we stayed at had two private rooms with one shared bathroom and a kitchen.

The apartment is clean and well-maintained by the one person, Sándor, who speaks great English and is a magnificent, lively person that will help you out anytime of the day or night. Upon arrival at the apartment, we were given an extended, elaborate orientation on things to do, things to see, best place to visit or party, best restaurants to eat and great maps. All that information was extremely helpful to us in planning our 3-day visit to Budapest.

The apartment itself is located in the prime neighborhood of Jewish Quarters and a 40-minute walk along the Andrasy blvd. to the Hero’s Square. Or just a 15 minute walk from Danube river.

The room rates are reasonable and he also offers a pick up/drop off service to the airport for EUR 18. Book it well in advance.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOnTheDollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

This 'hostel' was fantastic. As a traveling couple we constantly come across the battle of finding a truly valuable double room in Europe. Blue Danube was more like a BB and we were given an apartment with full facilities to ourselves.
The owner, Alexander is truly a gem - full of information and will go out of his way to help you.
Definitely recommend to anyone, regardless of their purpose of travel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TeamSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kells, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Me and two friends stayed here for 5 nights. Everything about our stay here was excellent. The owner Sandor was very helpful, picked us up at the airport and then spent 40 minutes telling us the best attractions in Budapest and the best places to eat & drink. He is very  passionate about Budapest and his information made our stay in Budapest much more fun. The apartments are located right in the heart of the Jewish district which is one of the main areas for nightlife with lots of bars within 5 minutes walk including Szimpla Kurt ruined bar which is right across the road. There is also a Tesco supermarket a 1 minute walk away. The river Danube and other main attractions are within 15/20 minute walking distance. The apartment we had was spacious and spotlessly clean. If two or 3 friends were heading to Budapest for a few days I certainly recommend this hostel/apartment. 

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GerbinhoPower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

As previous reviewers have mentioned, I wouldn't class this as a hostel it is more like having your own apartment. We chose to book a twin room with a shared bathroom, it turned out to our surprise that this was only shared with a couple. For around 17 euros a night each, the rooms were incredibly large, the kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom wasn't at a top notch quality, but for the price you couldn't find us moaning! The apartment was complete with WiFi, it was very clean and the bedding and towels provided were of a reasonable quality.

The location is excellent for everything, with bars across the road, Tesco down the road and close to public transport, including the stop Astoria at just a few minutes walk away. When I arrived, at first I was a little concerned that being on one of the busiest party streets in Budapest it would be noisy in the evenings, as we came on holiday to sight see, not stay up all night. However with a locked, gated courtyard, it was quite a distance away and therefore it was unbelievably silent!

However, the best thing about this hostel is the owner Sandor, he was amazing. As my friend said - what Sandor doesn't know about Budapest could be written on the back of a postage stamp. As soon as we booked he sent us emails detailing relevant information and then kindly offered to picked us up from the train station. He then spent over 35 minutes asking us what we were interested in and told us all about the sights, the public transport and where to go, circling a free map and giving us mounds of free leaflets!

Budapest is a great city, really interesting and complete with amazing architecture. If you have chance, go and spend an afternoon in the amazing spas and visit the Parliament building, but you must queue up early in the morning to make sure you get tickets. If I was visiting Budapest again I would certainly go to the Blue Danube Hostel, the value for money and service you get is much better than anywhere else I have ever been to.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LakelandMints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2012

POSITIVES:

THE QUALITY: This is not a hostel. It is an apartment block were you are given a flat to yourself. This was a wonderful surprise when we arrived, having booked a "double bed private". What we got was a ground floor flat which included:
A well furnished and fairly new kitchen (fridge, freezer, electric cooker/oven, microwave, coffee maker).
This was connected to a bed/living room via a small breakfast bar style, built in table.
The bed was a spacious double bed, fairly comfy. The was also a large heater in the bed/living room which went unused, a good size TV, and plenty of wardrobe/drawer storage.
The flat had a built in sound system, with speakers in the walls, so bring CDs.
Finally, a new tiled bathroom with a good size bath/shower. The washing machine was also kept in the corner of the bathroom but was not in the way.

THE VALUE: The value for money was ridiculous. We paid £17/night, which wouldn't get you the cheapest of hotel rooms back home, and is cheap even for Budapest.

THE LOCATION: In the heart of the Jewish district, exactly where you want to be. The Jewish district is where everything is in Budapest (other than the castle). About three doors down, across the road (far enough away that noise wasn't a particular problem), was the world's 3rd best bar. A couple of streets either side were Andrassy ut and Radzincy ut, two main boulevards of Budapest. The metro was available on both, and takes you everywhere you would want to go.

THE OWNER: Sandor is a great guy. Within a day of booking (months in advance), we had e-mails detailing everything, offering airport pick-up and thanking us. He is a very happy man, passionate about Budapest. He couldn't wait to tell us everything that was available, nearby, and even a bit of history. Also, his english is better than my own.


NEGATIVE:

HEAT: Budapest in the summer is a very hot place, and the air conditioning in the flat we had was not the best. The windows can be left open constantly as they are stylishly barred (as in the norm in Budapest). If its still too much I recommend a cold shower. To be honest, this is probably us just being Scottish, and used to the cold.

OVERALL:

Would definitely return to the Blue Danube again, it gives you far more than you pay for. Budapest itself is a gorgeous city with lots to do, and places to eat/drink. The heat can get rough, so I might go at a different time of year. The language barrier is tough, so make sure you go in a group (so you have someone to talk to), or be prepared to learn some Hungarian (or at times you'll get away with German). I highly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SF1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#59 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Unity Hostel
#107 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Oleander Hostel
Oleander Hostel
#359 of 649 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#45 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
2Night Hostel
#370 of 649 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Danube Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Danube Hostel

Property: Blue Danube Hostel
Address: Visegradi utca 83, Budapest 1133, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 649 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing