We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Danube Hostel

Blue Danube Hostel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Budapest
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Danube Hostel
Ranked #173 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Sándor picked us up from the train station for free and drive us around the area of Budapest where we were staying pointing out the places of interest. He then took us to an apartment and got us over a map to show everything to do in Budapest. Never met anyone quite so enthusiastic about his city than this guy. Really puts the effort in to make your stay as good as possible. The room was exceptionally clean with modern touches, free wifi, TV, waterfall shower and washing machine all for €15 a night each. (Private apartment for three). We texted him with questions and he was down to us in half an hour to talk through it in person. Will definately use this hostel again in the future. 11/10!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed summer 2013. I can't say enough good things about our stay here. Sandor was fantastic! He picked us up from the station and even gave us a mini tour on the way back. He gave us lots of good recommendations about what to see, where to eat etc. The hostel itself was in a good location and was clean and well equipped. Stayed for 2 nights and as Sandor told us this simply wasn't enough. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Austen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

The reason why everyone keeps mentioning Sandor here, is because he just might be the BEST hostel owner around. I made an account here just to comment on how hospitable he was. The hostel is an easy 100%, but his advice about Budapest made this my favourite experience in Europe!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broderick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antigonish, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

After backpacking around Europe for 2 months, we were tired and ready to relax. Sandor was an amazing host. He picked us up from the train station and was warm and welcoming immediately. You can tell he loves his city. He gave us maps and told us all the great things to do in the area, including bath houses, tourist sites and restaurants. We knew he was for real when we saw him at one of his recommend restaurants later that night with his family. He came right up and introduced us all and asked if we were enjoying ourselves. He is truly a wonderful man, and on top of his beautiful apartments, adds so much to the stay. We went to all of his recommend sites and had the best time. This was definitely a highlight of the trip. Sandor even arranged our taxi and made sure that we would arrive safe to the airport without paying any exorbitant fees like tourists often do. I can't say enough good things about this hostel and this host. Definitely the highlight of my 2 months in Europe.

Room Tip: Stayed in 3 bed apartment. 2 singles and a double in one large living room. Not a lot of separation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillianpulsifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I fully recommend this hostel, probably the nicest one I've ever stayed in. Sandor is a great host, who's very helpful and even picks you up from the train station himself. The hostel is right in the middle of everything, such as bars, clubs, etc, however situated in the backyard off the street, which means that the rooms are absoluetly quiet and peaceful. We've really ejoyed staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_10085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Sandor is a very helpful host and is looking out for people staying in the hostel. I am particularly grateful by how he would write notes on key places to go, key websites to check out for information, etc and pass these handwritten notes to us. I was also very impressed by how he comes by to check on how we were doing and constantly reminds us that his help is always available when we need it.

Rather than a hostel, Blue Danube is more like a little apartment and this is really a pleasant surprise. I feel vey at home in the hostel and it is so accessible that you will walk right into an attraction no matter which direction you take.

I would strongly recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

I was very impressed with the Blue Danube hostel. It was more of a small apartment than a hostel. It was very spacious, clean and in a great location. The host, Sandor, was so informative and personable. I look forward to returning to Budapest with my family and plan to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laramarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#74 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Oleander Hostel
Oleander Hostel
#359 of 651 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#50 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#63 of 651 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Danube Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Danube Hostel

Property: Blue Danube Hostel
Address: Visegradi utca 83, Budapest 1133, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing