We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Loft Hostel Budapest
Ranked #42 of 671 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I stayed here with a couple of friends from uni for a few days. Not only were the staff friendly and helpful they went the extra mile in recommending places we might find of interest to visit as well as recommending cheap food options and good clubs and bars. Everyone was very friendly, both bathrooms were kept very clean and the kitchen and lounge area were both sizeable for the amount of people there. It was a lovely setting at the top of a block of apartments and was about as central as you could get:within walking distance of shops clubs bars and the beautiful Danube. Would definitely visit again! Thanks to Maria and all the staff!,

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 59 of 137 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2014

We really couldn't have asked for a better experience at Loft Hostel. The hostel is on the top floor in this beautiful old shabby-chic apartment building in perfect central location, about five minutes walk from the metro station and the banks of the river. On arrival we were met with a hot drink by the really friendly staff who immediately made us feel at home: they gave us a series of helpful tips and restaurant/bar/club recommendations that proved so helpful over the next few days (all of which were at most ten minutes walk from the hostel door), and were always around to chat to or answer any questions we had. The hostel has this really homely, quirky, communal vibe and ticked every box, from interesting decor, a great kitchen/dining space and really clean bathroom facilities. There's a perfect balance of ample privacy and a strong sense of community which was just what we were looking for. One of our group had never been hosteling before and was very sceptical prior to arrival: she left having absolutely loved the place and was really eager to return. Our group had no complaints and only really fond memories of the place. Thoroughly recommended - hope to come back again some day!

Room Tip: All rooms are spacious and homely - none to avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynton L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was such a lovely place to stay. Really cosy and nice homey atmosphere created by the incredible staff and the small number of guests. Really easy to meet people and great communal area. It's located in this fantastic old apartment block in a really central location. The staff are so knowledgeable about local tips and very approachable. I stayed here 4 nights and could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We read all of the great reviews about this hostel and were not disappointed. The location was great, the building was this really cool old apartment block, and the atmosphere was fantastic. We had a great time here meeting new people and having a great base to explore the city from. We stayed in the private room which was great - it was like a mini apartment, and we could hang out at the main hostel as well. The best of everything!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LPat25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I have met the best people there, comprehensive, fun and helpful. If you're looking to have à great time in Budapest, it is the place to go! It is cozy, you get to dis over some fun and local places with the staff.
Have fun!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chloé L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hostel is a great place to stay and different from the run of the mill hostel. It is a welcoming place with a friendly and knowledgeable staff that are live-in. It is clear how much they genuinely care about their guests. They have created a really cute and quirky spot, there is an outdoor terrace that you enter from, large common room with computers, TV, DVDs, books and a kitchen. Laundry is available and done for you same day. The space also attracts a really nice crowd of travelers (none of the amateur hour nonsense you can come across at a lot of hostels). The location is superb, easy walking (and subway) access to both Buda and Pest. I was in the four bed dorm, which was quite nice. It would be better if there were lights and a shelf at each bed, but really it's a small detail. I was really pleased with my stay and would gladly stay there again. In addition to the three dorm rooms, they also have a private suite with kitchen and bath. Cash Only.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aps101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Loft hostel was the best hostel we ever stayed in. It Had a laid back relaxed atmosphere. Jasmina Emily and Feci were absolutely fabulous hosts and we highly recommend this hostel, if you stay anywhere else in Budapest you are a fool.

Amazing cosy little hostel.

Room Tip: Choose any
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#34 of 671 in Budapest
130 reviews
Terézváros
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
Adagio Hostel 2.0 Basilica
#35 of 671 in Budapest
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Groove
#65 of 671 in Budapest
137 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 671 in Budapest
750 reviews
District V / Inner City
Lavender Circus Hostel
Lavender Circus Hostel
#22 of 671 in Budapest
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Loft Hostel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Loft Hostel Budapest

Address: Veres Palne utca 19., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 671 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £12 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi backpacker! We are here to welcome you to Budapest and also to invite you to join our community at The Loft--a community that shares with each other, explores together and stays up into the wee hours because there is still more beer in the refrigerator and the conversation is too good to end. One that celebrates the thrill of a new city, new food and new people, but also understands the need for long, glorious, uninterrupted sleep (having spent too many nights in airports to save a euro), never ending hot water and the rejuvenating qualities of a perfect, giant couch. So if you are tired--you sleep. If you are hungry--you eat. And whenever you are ready to go outside and see Budapest, we will not drag you by the wrist to the obvious places, but we will stand beside you and help to navigate the twisting roads, quirky museums, cheap cafes and uniquely-Budapest bars that collectively are the pulse of the city. We are a small space at Loft, but it suits us and our travelers perfectly. We are simply ourselves here, but the music is always on, the kettle is always on, we are happy and most of all? We really hope you will join us. The Staff, The Loft. Our hostel workers are lovers of fine cuisine, and other such things. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing