We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes yes yes!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Big Fish Budapest Hostel
Ranked #67 of 674 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I travelled with my boyfriend and we met my old friend in The Big Fish Hostel. Well, we didn't stay much there because there was a lot to do with my friend but the stay was more than pleasant. Clean rooms, nice and helpful staff. Bathrooms weren't as gross as you could imagine since there's a lot of users.

Thank you very much! I will come back if I ever find myself in Budapest again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

The Big Fish Hostel was everything you want from a hostel: clean, amazing prices, well equipped and had amazing staff. The kitchen was awesome, always had the basics like milk so we didn't need to worry and the supermarket around the corner meant we could always cook and spend our money on experiences instead of food. Everyone was friendly and it truly felt like a home away from home. Will definitely be recommending the Big Fish to everyone :)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Imogen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Really helpful owners speak great English and offer helpful suggestions of places to eat and visit while in Budapest. The hostel is located near all of the tourist sites and the bars.
Good value hostel, and there is always bread out in the mornings for breakfast

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creims12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I went there for 3 days. IT WAS PERFECT. I travelled a lot and paid up to a 100 Euros for hotels and was not welcomed better than at the Big Fish hostel. The hosts are sooo nice, the place is fun, full of life and very central. From there you can visit absolutely anything in budapest at a 5 minutes distance, very near the metro too! Nice common place, kitchen, laundry service,mand the hosts are unbeleivably helpfull and nice. Place very clean and tidy, theres is no other choice to visit Budapest for me!

Room Tip: Tulip room was nice and quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guillaume B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Centrally located so it was easy to walk around the heart of the city. The hostel was pretty clean and the staff very helpful. During our 2 days stay there were a lot of party people from across the world and the hostel got pretty noisy until late in the night. The reception has enough information on the ruin bars, free walking tours and all other things to do in Budapest. There is a kitchen which is shared and you can buy food from the nearby supermarket. Overall, it is fun as long as you do not mind the noise.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archana_iyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Stayed here for one night, and loved it! Would have stayed longer but I was just passing through. Definitely not a party hostel, but great common area to meet people. I made friends right away, we went out together and had a great time. Staff was helpful and friendly. Convenient location. I walked everywhere without a problem. Very clean and tidy.

Perfect for people who prefer a chilled out but social atmosphere. Budapest is one of my favorite cities, can't wait to return.

Only issue is that they only have 2 bathrooms if I remember correctly, so sometimes you have to wait. But this really didn't bother me too much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nevko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

When we were travelling around Europe the perfect hostel we were looking for was one that was clean, comfortable, with good facilities, friendly people, a good atmosphere and a night life. This place had it all, it wasn't such a party hostel that the place was a mess and you couldn't get any sleep but it wasn't dull with no atmosphere. The staff were friendly and helpful, joining in with the guests on the social side, sharing a drink. They also had postcards available on the front desk where you could give it to them and they would post it. A small touch but one that i hadn't seen before and that was really useful as the prospect of trying to find a place selling stamps and a post office can be a hassle in a foreign city. We did the bar crawl with the hostel which was good, they took us to the ruin bars as well as a few other places. There was drinking and a really good atmosphere before the nights out as well. We also did the free Communist walking tour which was very good, professionally done by local Hungarians who really knew their stuff. I would recommend the place, although it was quite hard to find!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomsmitty2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
The Hive Party Hostel
The Hive Party Hostel
#29 of 674 in Budapest
236 reviews
The Groove
#69 of 674 in Budapest
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa De La Musica Hostel
#54 of 674 in Budapest
289 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 674 in Budapest
965 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Bazar Hostel
Bazar Hostel
#75 of 674 in Budapest
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Fish Budapest Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Fish Budapest Hostel

Address: Erzsebet koerut 33 | 11 Doorbell, Budapest 1073, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter , Erzsébetváros
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 674 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £15 - £31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming, small Big Fish Budapest is perfectly located in the downtown, within walking distance to all the main attractions. We offer huge deluxe dorms and privates, comfortable new beds with lockers, lots of freebies, power plugs and reading lights next to all the beds.There’s new bathrooms and toilets with hot showers, a well equipped kitchen, a cosy common room with a game corner, 24/7 reception, free maps, free towels...you will like it!Our LOCAL staff are experienced in tourism and are always happy to inform you about the city, the country or almost anything you need. We can recommend the best places to go, local food and drinks, pubs and clubs.Laundry service is also available with drying.There’s no curfew and no lockout.We have free Wi-Fi and internet, a huge collection of DVDs to watch and a PlayStation3!Meet travellers, share your travel experiences and learn about destinations. Like Verena said: Welcome home. :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Big Fish Budapest Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing