We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a real hostel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barocco Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barocco Hostel
Ranked #210 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not a real hostel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

Well located in walking distance from the bridge next to Gellert hill and easy to find, although it is not at the main street. Good for value but actually it is not a hostel, you will be a guest in young people's apartment. The staff not much friendly, and they mostly turn the air conditioner off but the cleanness and rooms are o.k. On the negative side, only 2 bathrooms for all guests, one of them is extremely small that you can't even turn and the door will touch your knees! at night it is so noisy which is annoying if you want to sleep. Overall, if you need somewhere cheap and just for sleep you can rely on this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Medelin_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
2
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

I stayed in a 4 bedroom room with my boyfriend and we found the hostel great! if you go for one of the bigger dorms, it could be a pain as theres very little privacy. to get to the 4 bed dorm, we had to walk through the big 10 bed (i think) dorm, which i could see people getting annoyed at. the 4 bed was lovely though, big lockers, massive room, big window. i was right next to the bathroom, which was annoying when 10+ loud french girls all decided to take showers at 3am. very helpful and friendly staff, all young and talkative with excellent english. cosy common room. great bathroom. really relaxed atmosphere all together. 5 minute walk away from a metro. 5 minute walk to a big indoor market. 15 min walk to a huge bath house. really good, free wifi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I stayed at the hostel for 3 nights during a heat wave of 35 degrees, the hostel offers air conditioning as well as window shutters which was very convenient. The rooms are specious and very clean, I was in a 4 bedroom dorm where all the beds are singles. It was nice to take a break from sharing a bunk bed and climbing ladders. The bathroom is also very clean, nicely decorated and the showers are great. Location of the hostel is ideal, good metro links, restaurants, a grocery store and walking distance from most tourist attractions on both sides of the river. The kitchen is an added bonus, well equipped. The staff are amazing, helpful and make you feel very welcome!! Enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonderlust1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and felt completely welcome, there is a nice lounge with a big tv, spacious rooms and bathroom, it is in a great location, not too busy but close to all main sights, can walk... Friendly staff who are good with recommendations of places to see and go out. Use of a great kitchen and utensils. Also compared to lots of hostels well equipped with effective blinds and comfy beds. Street of nice and good value for money restaurants just around the corner. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

The Barocco Hostel has a few good things going for it. 

It has by no means been the best place I have stayed in during our travels but it is comfortable, with a cosy atmosphere and a nice feeling of being in a home away from home. 

It is by no means big or lavishly decorated but you really feel like you are living in a European apartment which is totally cool. 

The hostels facilities are quite decent: really good wifi, good kitchen, very spacious rooms and there are two bathrooms which is handy. 

Some things could be better though. 

If you are a security freak then maybe this isn't the best place for you to stay. We believe security to be super important and I found it a bit unnerving that the only time you need to enter a code to get in to the hostel is at the downstairs lobby of the apartment block where everyone puts their pin in to go to their flat. Once you get in to the apartment block, you get to the front door of the hostel and often you find it unlocked because people are coming in and out all of the time and there is no key. There is someone staying here 24 hours a day but I'm not sure that that's really enough lconsidering there also isn't any locks on the dorm rooms themselves. 

In saying this however, once you are in the hostel and you get over the initial worry, you actually feel really safe and I actually haven't ever stayed in a place with such a feeling of safety. It is in a quiet little street so that is really helpful and I think the fact that there are families all throughout the block it is really nice. 

Other than this, Barocco Hostel is quite charming and I really liked it. The comfy couches in the lounge room were especially nice for eating meals and just relaxing after a busy day or when you are waiting for the rain that was supposed to fall 3 hours ago.

Visit more reviews, ideas and tips on budget travel at www.danielandkellytravel.wordpress.com

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan_and_Kel_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed there for 3 nights and had a double room which had no real windows, so the air was bad all the time. There were problems with hot water - and the staff was very unfriendly when we confronted them with the fact that we can not shower with ice cold water in the middle of March. Very ignorant and rolling their eyes. And don't believe the description "quiet hostel" - we didn't have the chance to experience it (loud parties till the morning, staff participating in them, people vomiting on the toilett next to our room - interesting but annoying sounds. Maybe you can tolerate it for one night, but after 2, 3 nights you are really not happy anymore). All in all I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LellaPella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

There was nothing really wrong with Barocco - actually I found it quite beautiful, I think I've never seen that nice bathroom. The rooms were kind of oddly placed - you had to go through shower or another dorm to get to the other one. But it wasn't all that bad.

The reseptionist was nice, he helped when asked. The overall mood in the hostel was kinda bland. There was a nice big tv to look Avatar from, though :D And you could see from the shower to the common room, I assume that you could see from the common room to the shower, too...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sudenmarja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Kalvin House
Hotel Kalvin House
#86 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budapest Centrum
Ibis Budapest Centrum
#67 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
0.0 mi away
Danube Apartments
Danube Apartments
#40 of 188 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hello Budapest Hostel
Hello Budapest Hostel
#302 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flow Hostel
Flow Hostel
#125 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Rabbit Hostel
White Rabbit Hostel
#170 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barocco Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barocco Hostel

Property: Barocco Hostel
Address: Lonyay utca 9 | 1st Floor/5 Doorbell, Budapest 1093, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Barocco Hostel is a new and modern hostel in the centre of Budapest. The Hostel opened its gates in the middle of June. It is located in the heart of the city, in the 9th district. Come and stay at the best and coziest hostel in the town, where you can feel completely at home! What can we offer to our visitors? Homely atmospheres, affordable prices, free luggage storage, individual security lockers, comfortable beds, friendly and helpful staff. We provide you a great atmosphere in a clean, cheap, comfortable and air conditioned hostel. We provide free use of internet, free use of linen, free use of towel, free unlimited self-serving coffee and/or tea, cooking facilities, washing facilities, security lockers with individual key, free maps, free Budapest guide, AC. Location: The location and the public transportation are excellent. We are located in the heart of the city. 2 minute walk to the blue line station of Kálvin tér, near to the international railway station (Keleti railway station). There are a lot of entertainment facilities in our neighborhood. Pubs, clubs, restaurants, and shops are near at hand! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Barocco Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing