We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #22 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Gorgeous staff, stunning old building, free local spirits, beautifully decorated rooms, close to everything, information everywhere - pay the tiny bit extra and stay there. Divine hostel

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lou_Hedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2011

Funky hostel centrally located in front of a major museum.

The staff are the loveliest, nicest and most helpful you could want. We were greeted by a very friendly staff member who offered us spirits and coffee/tea and gave us an extensive summary of things to do and a custom map. Extremely friendly and fun.

We got a private room with a private bathroom. The room also had a small kitchenette with a sink, microwave and fridge (no stove or anything).

The room was lovely and big and airy. The bathroom had a large shower but did have some drainage problems (not a big deal). The place is extremely secure- locks everywhere and secured windows.

The one thing that was a bit annoying was the horribly low quality of the bedding- one bed with two child-size blankets and pretty tiny pillows made sleeping kind of uncomfortable. On the plus side, the mattress is huge and I liked the firmness. I would say bring your own bedding if you want.

Also, if you have any kind of mobility issue or stairs are hard for you for any reason, this is not the place for you as you will have to drag your stuff up a long staircase.

In all I am very happy with this place and would recommend it!

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Jaytee7905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Fantastic location in the city, near good bars, right on the tram and underground lines. Easy to get to from the airport.

Despite arriving quite late upon arrival we were greeted by an enthusiastic staff member and given plenty of information on the hostel, city, restaurants and attractions.

We stayed in the apartment and it was very spacious. Perhaps some of the furniture and fittings have seen better days but the fridge/freezer and fan were very welcome with the sweltering temperatures in the city.

Overall this place was great and I would stay there again for sure if I returned to Budapest.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyt7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Can see why people liked this hostel but it is an acquired taste and it just wasn't for us.

Pros

- Very good price
- Close to center, opposite national museum.
- Staff are very friendly and welcoming even offering free samples of local spirits.
- Laptop in common room which is free for all to use.

Cons

- Up 3 flights of stairs with no lift, which was a lot whether young or old.
- Common room was very hippyish and weird and is not for everyone's taste. Felt uncomfortable going in there as people who lived there or friends was always in the common room. Also was constant african / samba type music playing non stop which can get annoying. No tv in common room except a large projector showing wildlife constantly.
- The bed was hard and uncomfortable, found several hairs on the pillows, and the duvet was unacceptable ( was thin, and very small. Im only 5 ' 10'' and my feet where easily hanging out the duvet )
- No mirror in bedroom. Sounds minor but was actually quite annoying having to go shared bathroom all the time just to look in mirror.
- The bathrooms and toilets were very dark, especially at night.

Overall, some people will love it due to the friendly hosts and warm welcome but we was not happy with the bedroom and did not like the quirkiness of the hostel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank donnie85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

When a friend of a friend recommended that I try out Lavender Circus for my recent long weekend in Budapest I don't mind admitting I had my reservations. Essentially it's a hostel with a couple of apartments for people wanting a bit more than a basic hostel room to stay in. Since we were only going away for a few days and didn't want to spend too much money I gave in and booked an apartment within the hostel with ensuite facilities.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a really friendly girl who immediately made us feel at home and gave us with shots of Palinka (a local spirit) as a welcome (beware - it's very strong!). She then gave us an overview of the top places to visit, drink, eat, etc (not just touristy places either), and armed us with some basic words and phrases to help us get by. I've stayed in some expensive hotels in my life but this was the best welcome I've ever received. She then took us to our room which turned out to be a huge double room with high ceilings and a view of the national museum, an ensuite shower room and to our surprise, a kitchen area. This is what makes Lavender Circus so great - you get a massive apartment for less than the cost of a hotel room and you can even pretend you're not staying at a hostel because it's self contained.

The whole place is really bohemian and quirkily laid out and decorated (think shabby chic), totally individual with so much character and 100 times more personality than any generic hotel room you can find online. It's only a 15 minute walk from most of Budapest's main attractions (meaning you don't need to us public transport too much) and just a stones throw from a host of cool bars and restaurants.

Basically this place rocks and is definitely worth considering for a short stay in the city. I would advise people to look beyond it's title of 'hostel' and view it as an absolute find, a hidden gem that'll enrich your Budapest experience far more than your bog standard hotels.

(For those just wanting a hostel it's also good as the communal facilities are great and theres lots of other travellers to hang out with.)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james_chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in March 2011. We were immediately welcomed by friendly staff with free homemade wine and a chat about the city, where to go, as well as marking places on a map for us. They also mentioned they'd be cooking a traditional Hungarian meal that night and invited us to attend. We ended up going and it was a great way to meet other hostel dwellers and make friends. We noted that there were a diverse group of people staying there, from many different places, however a lot of them were repeat customers!! Always a good sign :) The staff seemed like they were having just as much fun as us that night!! They always left out the homemade wine and encouraged us to have some whenever we'd like. The location was across from the national art museum, and we could walk to Great Market Hall (check it out, a unique mix of souvenirs and food items - get some saffron at very low prices!). The room was comfortable, kind of a feel like staying at your grandmother's place. Dim lighting in the room but very spacious. Had a bathroom right outside but walked to another hallway to take showers (nice hot water too!). Would recommend. One thing to note - you have to bring your luggage up about 5 flights of stairs. We did not realize this before, so I think it is worth mentioning. Would stay here again and recommend to other travellers! (Oh and check out the Szechenyi baths in Budapest, amazing experience!)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_And_Tell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Lavender Circus was the best part of my trip to Budapest. They were always willing to help find things to do, offered lots of recommendations on restaurants and bars, and were generally welcoming and friendly all the time. Without their guidance, I would not have been able to experience as much of Budapest as I did. Additionally, the hostel is very well-located and is within walking distance to all of the major sites of Budapest. I would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting Budapest!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 672 in Budapest
960 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 672 in Budapest
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
757 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#34 of 672 in Budapest
131 reviews
Budapest Budget Hostel
#25 of 672 in Budapest
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £29 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing