We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Circus Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$181
US$148
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$721
US$679
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$140
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$172
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cosmo City Hotel(Budapest)
US$162
US$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$226
US$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$197
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Mediterran(Budapest)(Great Value!)
US$233
US$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
192
70
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
192
70
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsnational museumno liftshared bathroomgreat locationan en suite roomapartment was greatbring earplugsjewish quartermetro stationon arrivalno air conkalvin terlove budapestvisit budapest againcommon areasruin bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
164 - 169 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights after 2 nights in s party hostel. This hostel is absolutely gorgeous and so homely, I found myself jealous of the people working there. It's decorated with lots of lovely bohemian trinkets and antiques and always had great music playing. When we arrived the girl showed us some great bars and restaurants on a map and was really welcoming. It's not a big party hostel with organised nights out but it's so relaxing and chilled out here. So lovely for couples!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank egzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed here after it was recommended to us by a friend and also after reading the mainly positive reviews on TripAdvisor. This is a quirky little hostel run by some really great people, but aspects of it left me a little disappointed. Our room was quite big and the decor was interesting, but lighting in the room was pretty dim - possibly energy saving lights, which is to be applauded, but this also made it near impossible to do makeup etc. The bathroom closest to our room had limited hot water and after 1 or 2 people had a shower in the morning the hot water was basically non-existent. Great location close to both Buda and Pest, but as we ended up spending most of our time in Pest we had to do a lot of walking and/or catch public transport. There are three (very long) flights of stairs to get to the hostel - not their fault, as the building can't be modified, but this is something to be aware of. Our room was in a lovely quiet spot with virtually no noise at all. We were there in the middle of summer so it was quite hot, but the pedestal fan which was provided alleviated almost all of this. Despite the couple of minor issues we had, the hostel makes for excellent value.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A really great little hostel, just as good as a hotel. The staff are really friendly, give good recommendations and consider your needs and knowledge of the city. The common areas are nicely decorated and the rooms were pleasant too.

Great location and also very helpful when we had to add an extra day at short notice.

One thing to be aware of, it's on the third floor and there's no lift.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lily gave us a very warm welcome when we arrived and some great recommendations (ask her about the ruin bars!). Our room was the one with the makeshift mezzanine bed... not quite what we were expecting and good fun (could be a problem if you've had a few too many beers!). I have to say that I had slightly higher expectations for the quality of room after seeing the photos on hostelworld and their own website. All in all a good stay in a centrally located hostel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We chose to stay at Lavender Circus based on past positive reviews. Unfortunately, the facility did not live up to our expectations.

Pros:

The location was excellent, within easy walking distance to major tourist sites on both the Pest and Buda sides of the river. We were also impressed by the warm greeting from the staff and their helpful recommendations regarding restaurants, baths, clubs, and shops. The building in which the hostel is housed is incredible as well - a beautiful heritage building with an open courtyard in the middle. Security was excellent - perhaps even a bit excessive - with multiple locks, gates, and keyfobs for each door.

Cons:

The windows of the flat in which we stayed (2nd floor, below the main hostel reception) opened to the courtyard, which made for a very noisy experience when guests came in and out. It was particularly disruptive at night, and since the flat was not airconditioned, keeping the windows closed was not ideal. The "bedroom" of the flat was not as depicted on the website - it was essentially two single mattresses laid on the floor of a cramped alcove, reached by a wooden ladder. The flat had a full kitchen but gave off a feeling of uncleanliness - enough so that we wouldn't have felt comfortable cooking there. The bathroom, though private. also gave off a feeling of being unclean - the floors were worn and dirty, there was no shower curtain, and we found spiders and small flying bugs in the bathroom upon check-in. As the flat is considered private, no one came in to clean the bathroom or the kitchen during our three night stay - this could become quite gross if staying longer.

Overall, while I suspect the hostel part of Lavender Circus is fine, for couples or families staying in the private flat, there is better value to be found elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMReviewer1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews