We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two words: Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lavender Circus Hostel
Ranked #19 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Shots! Coffee! Tea! Laundry! Great atmosphere! Chairs on the ceiling! A spectrum of colors, cool, antique decor, & they played Radiohead! Beautiful historical building. Felt extremely safe behind several locked doors to get to our hostel. Backpackers heaven-a lot of traffic in the common room-everyone (young & old) was sharing stories and tips about their adventures. Friendly, helpful hosts that will make reservations at the baths for you & offer suggestions on places to eat (take them-Budapest is home to scary, gangster, scam artists who will charge you $6 for water if you're not careful). BEAUTIFUL apartment style suite - you will not find a better deal for your buck. Book through their website, it's cheaper than hostel world. STAY HERE!! :)

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blaiserlightshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

My partner often have the bad luck of booking hostels with good reviews which then turn out to be awful! This place was thankfully not one! We were really happy with this hostel - it was clean, the staff were really helpful and accommodating - even after our flight was delayed and we arrived at 5am! - and the room was really large with a great view over the Museum and it's grounds. The building is lovely and old and the decoration of the rooms and common areas gave the hostel a fun, quirky vibe. We also liked that this wasn't a typical hostel with people constantly coming in and out, making lots of noise, drinking and partying etc. It was much more relaxing and quiet for us!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank User_186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

It was a really pleasant place full of friendly people. Our room for 2 was HUGE we couldve slept another six people in it, great place. Beds were relatively comfy and the place was quiet, only downside was the long walk up the stairs to get to the room. Other than that great place

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cameron A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I found the hostel really welcoming and fun. I particularly enjoyed the laid back vibe. After checkout I had a little sleep in the corridor and have to say even their concrete floors are comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed from 10th June to 15 June and enjoyed our stay. Rooms are nice, shared bathroom, nice staff and great location. Negatives, lots of stairs and other guests noisy at time, party hostel. We found late night parties and people sleeping in the corridors in the morning. Too much alcohol!! This was not lavender circus' fault though and they were very nice. Good decoration of rooms. Hard beds. Would come back

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mim0mame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013 via mobile

Just one word: Excellent! The best hostel I stay in! The staff is very kind and rooms are clean! The atmosphere was very friendly: it seems to me to be guest by old friends!
Besides this, the underground station is just on the other side of the street: this allowed us to move to and back from the city centre in no more than 10min. And what about the view?! I've been there with my girlfriend and our rooms had an amazing view on the Magyar Nemzeti Muzeum!
The bad news is that is on the third floor of a building with no elevator..
I really suggest this hostel to everyone wants to enjoy and spend a great time in budapest!

Thank Marco P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Great rooms ! Only double or appartments so it is mainly couples booking there. Not the type of place to party but you can meet a lot of interesting people in the community room. Staff is always looking to help you and offering something to drink. They came up with so many helpful suggestions that it made my trip easier. Almost everything is within a short walk so the location is good except that it is located on quite a busy street.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P-L_Qc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#6 of 677 in Budapest
988 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 677 in Budapest
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#5 of 677 in Budapest
780 reviews
Terézváros
Penthouse Privates
Penthouse Privates
#34 of 677 in Budapest
132 reviews
Budapestay Apartments
#32 of 677 in Budapest
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Circus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Circus Hostel

Address: Muzeum koerut 37., Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 677 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lavender Circus Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lavender Circus is a vintage, quiet apartment like place in the city center . A cozy,special atmosphere is waiting for you in a historical building from the end of the 19th century.In our hostel there are several kind of double bed and dormitory rooms available. The staff is ready to help you 24/7. We are specialized in 2 bed private rooms, en-suites and apartments.You can enjoy your privacy but you're also welcomed in the community room to meet other guests any time. Free WiFi connection is available in all of the rooms and the entire hostel.All of the rooms has an own, individual character designed by graphic designers, painters and sculptors. And you can enjoy the drawn vision of the owner on the walls. If you want, you can cook something in the kitchen. In our lounge there is always free coffee and tea as well and we organize Hungarian dinner parties where guests can try Hungarian palinka or local wine and learn how to prepare traditional dishes. Bedrooms and community rooms are non-smoking!There is a comfortable special separated smoking area. Every private room can be locked safely. Earliest check-in is at 9 a.M. Please inform us about your arrival time. -Free city tour every day -Free map here -Free luggage storage We are looking forward to see you!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lavender Circus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lavender Circus Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing