We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Circus Hostel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$142
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$768
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$232
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (281)
Filter reviews
281 results
Traveller rating
193
70
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
70
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsnational museumno liftshared bathroomgreat locationan en suite roomapartment was greatbring earplugsjewish quartermetro stationon arrivalno air conkalvin terlove budapestvisit budapest againcommon areasruin bars
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 281 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed at this hostel with my BF and I couldn't have wished for a better place to stay. The staff is so friendly and the design of each room is unique and very artfully decorated. It is easy to find, since it is located right across the National Museum. Located at the end of three flights of stairs, the place is well secured and each room gets their own key. The common room is very practical, since there is a kitchen and refrigerator and you are allowed to use all the utensils.

When we arrived, the staff member offered us a glass of water and told us in a very detailed way what to do and where to go. The bathrooms and toilets are clean and since i didn't bring enough clothes with me, I just washed them on the spot and the lady in charge was so kind to lend me her drying rack to put in our room to dry.

The rooms were spacious and clean and designed in a very unique way!

On our last day, we kinda just thought to buy some groceries and stay overnight in the airport, but the lady told us we could stay in the common room and wait for our taxi around 4 am. Hospitality is for sure the forte of this hostel.

I recommend this hostel! One of the best!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Pros -
We were given an excellent welcome by the staff. Unfortunately I cant remember the girls name but she sat with us for half an hour (at least) telling us all about Budapest and gave us free glasses of wine which was delicious!
The hostel décor is amazing, it is so quirky and interesting and there is always something to look at.
The staff were great at answering any questions we had. They were so friendly and we had really good chats with them. They all gave us free wine and coffee throughout our stay.
The room was comfortable and again we loved the décor. We also definitley appreciated the fan in the heat! The shared bathrooms were good, I sometimes struggled to get the right heat but in the hot weather it didn't really matter that it was cooler than I would normally want.
The location is good with a nice restaurant street nearby and it is really near a metro station.

Cons -
You have to walk up about five flights of stairs to get to the hostel which is really hard going with a heavy backpack! However it's a protected building and so they can't add a lift for this reason.
We found it quite difficult to find (based on the instructions you receive in an email from hostelworld). It is pretty much directly across from the museum (we wandered around the museum for ages).

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank slesserfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

We stopped in Lavender Circus for 3 nights, as a relatively last-minute booking in the middle of an InterRail trip- and we could not have been happier with our experience there.
As we had been unable to do a great deal of research on the move, there was nothing but pleasant surprises; the rooms were incredibly spacious (much more hotel room style), the place was designed beautifully, with each room having its own individual character, and the staff were great at making you feel at home.
Lavender Circus is owned, and therefore designed, by a local artist- and the artwork on the walls, alongside quirky antique decorations, really does the hostel so many more favours than a cheaply done 'modern' finish would have. The old building it is situated in also compliments this, alongside having a good security system.
I never had to wait for the bathroom (we were in the shared rooms- I believe there were en-suites) and these were clean and good quality, with fishtanks! Also, I was able to put a wash on and hang my clothes out to dry for a very minimal cost.
We met some other couples staying at the hostel, and as there was no pressure to party as there is with many other larger backpacker-orientated places, you could sit on the large balcony/entrance area and have a couple of drinks and get to know people as they passed through. We also sat out with the staff a couple of the nights, who were interesting and friendly (with English that put any grasp of foreign language that we had to shame) and gave us some Hungarian national spirit to sample.
Overall, we couldn't have been happier with our stay here and only wish that we could have had longer! Definitely recommended for couples/small groups of friends who are sick of the institutional style party hostels and would like to stay somewhere calm, spacious, and beautifully finished.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlixPallett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

Such a cool and quirky hostel. Great for pretty much any couple. If you want peace and quiet it's easy to find in your room and if you want to sink a beverage or two the common room is a great place for it, and the staff are more than willing to facilitate you having a good time.
Awesome

1  Thank Wazzatherockdog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 May 2013

If you are adventurous and constantly trying for something new, this is maybe be the right place for you.
The hospitality is rather lavender-like; they are really, and very very kind receptionists which is and always there for you explaining to all your doubts and won't mind repeating stuffs as they are really patience I can say.
The experience is rather circus-like; a special experience as you can explore and admire different arts by the owner of this hostel(an artist).
You can even just walk bare-footed treating it as your home because the pathway is clean too.

It maybe not be suitable for all peoples as it has rather artistic and daring arts in different rooms.
You need to walk 3-storey high without a lift which is not recommended for people with heavy luggage.
You will need to wait for rather a long time for the kitchen when there are many people using.

The ambiance is perfect and artistic (quite romantic). This place is great to spend your moments in a pair like for a couple stay or with your BFF.

Room Tip: If the designs/arts of the rooms doesn't suit your personal preference or ethnic. Kindly ask the receptionist to change a room if there is any availability.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryjovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews