We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lavender Circus Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$125
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
New York Palace(Budapest)
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$231
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Budapest(Budapest)
US$233
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$281
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$249
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Prima Fashion Hotel(Budapest)
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (283)
Filter reviews
283 results
Traveller rating
193
72
14
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
72
14
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsnational museumno liftshared bathroomgreat locationan en suite roomapartment was greatbring earplugsjewish quartermetro stationon arrivalno air conkalvin terlove budapestvisit budapest againcommon areasruin bars
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 283 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hostel was incredible. It is without a doubt the most unique and welcoming place that I have ever stayed at. As other reviewers have noted, you do have to walk up about 3 flights of stairs to reach the hostel; however, I thought that added a lot to its charm. We also were just carrying backpacks, so we didn't see this as much of an inconvenience.

We had great service when we arrived to the hostel; the woman who greeted us gave us a run-down of everything we should do and see in Budapest, in addition to providing a map.

Our room was toward the back of the hostel, and it was very spacious. It was a loft style room, with a seating area and lighting below, and a lofted bed for two above. The room was beautiful, and looked out over the courtyard. Since we were toward the back of the hostel, we were pretty much able to use the bathroom next to us as our own private space (bathrooms are not in the rooms)

Overall, the common areas of the hostel were incredibly inviting- at times, we didn't want to leave to go out and explore. There is decoration and interesting things to look at everywhere, and the space is really warm and a great place to relax. The hostel provides a laptop for you to use as well in the common area which was helpful in booking train tickets and looking up sites.

This hostel was the best that I have ever stayed it; it had the charm and ambience of someone's home, but it was in a convenient location (located right next to the metro) and was spacious and clean. I loved how unique it was; other hostels might have more amenities, like breakfast or a bar, but this was the most memorable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nwolf14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The hostel is in a great location, close to the Kalvin ter metro stop and the National Museum. I got an email with detailed instructions how to get there, so it was easy to find. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us a map and a lot of tips where to go.
Our room was nice and spacious, with a view of the National Museum. We left our luggage in the hostel after checkout and were allowed to use the common room/kitchen (free tea and coffee, internet) and bathroom till we left in the evening.

1  Thank impossiblegrl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My friend & I (both female and in our early twenties) stayed here for 5 nights this month while exploring Budapest. We found the location of the hostel really convenient with lots of things within walking distance and tram/metro/bus stops a matter of seconds from the front door.

We were really impressed when we first arrived (though exhausted after walking up all the stairs - it's a big old building and, subsequently, there's no lift!) as the building the hostel is in and, in particularly the decor once inside, is absolutely beautiful - we loved the eclectic style which gives it real character. The staff member who was working when we arrived was attentive and hilarious and we were really impressed that our room was ready earlier than anticipated and was lovely - we were lucky to have a huge window facing onto the street and the very grand national museum opposite (thankfully we bought ear plugs to block out the noise of the traffic!). It's important to bear in mind that there's no air conditioning; we were aware of this before booking but didn't realise quite how hot and difficult to sleep it would be - our room felt substantially hotter than the other areas of the hostel (perhaps because it faced the street rather than the courtyard) and, though a fan was provided, it barely made a difference.

The only thing that we felt lets Lavender Circus down is a couple of the other staff who unfortunately were nowhere near as friendly as the first lady we met and actually came across as hostile and rude - they didn't even acknowledge us during our stay (even when I smiled at one of them) and appeared to spend the majority of their shifts sat on their computer/phone. We felt as though we were being looked down upon and, subsequently, did not feel particularly welcomed or comfortable during the stay - even going to the kitchen was an awkward experience.

We chose to stay in this hostel rather than rent an apartment as we're quite sociable and hoped to meet new people. Unfortunately this didn't happen as it seemed that all the other guests staying whilst we were there went to bed very early (whereas we were keen to experience Budapest's famous ruin pubs!) and time spent in the communal area tended to be spent staring at phones or watching programmes on computers. Obviously this was not the fault of the hostel as the communal area is cosy and inviting and perfect for socialising but it's important to bear in mind that you might want to consider staying elsewhere if you want to have more fun or prefer a livelier atmosphere. However, if you want to stay somewhere quiet yet quirky then go ahead - we still managed to have our own fun anyway!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Midway through our one-month backpacking Interail, the TripAdvisor app had become a regular tool for pretty much every city we travelled by.
Budapest was critical as, by mid-July, you can expected all the hostels to be booked full. The Lavender Circus wasn't the first door we knocked on; it was, however, the one we fell immediately in love with.
The entrance is virtually unnoticeable; hadn't we previously called the owner and gotten the address, we would have missed it.
As many Budapest buildings go, you walk through a dark inner patio to access the stairwell. Carrying our heavy backpacks in a sultry summer all the way up was a nightmare; once arrived, sitting in the ecclectic, intimate hall, was the owner.
He welcomed us in, making us feel like long-awaited guests. In the waiting room we were offered a cup of tea (and copious glasses of water); the decor, as other travellers have described, is unique and warm, cozy. It takes some time until you absorb most of the inumerous details.
Someone had canceled their reservation, so we ended up getting their place in a mezzanine double room that looked fabulous and made me want never to leave the place again. As whole, Lavender Circus totally deserves five stars - but sleeping in the mezzanine room gave us an awkward, probably unjustified, fear of falling out of bed.
The staff was, however, the best we came across on our trip. The map and their suggestions were useful, they went all the way to help us in several tasks - finding a Pharmacy, getting our laundry done, trying to find us accomodation for our second night.
Having peeked in at *several* other hostels, I'd say the Lavender Circus is the best in Budapest for a solo traveller / couple / family / small group of friends who want to explore the city and know that, at the end of the day, they'll have a quiet and intimate place to go back to, one that really feels like home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This may be the coolest hostel I've ever stayed in. The decor is eclectic in the best possible way. It is an interesting and building, so be ready to walk up lots of stairs! The staff is incredibly helpful with local advice and rush to provide you with free tea and coffee whenever you walk in.

The rooms are not only adorable, but very comfortable. The location is great as well. If you are looking for a quieter, more intimate hostel experience in the heart of Budapest, you won't find abetter place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaHopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews