We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good experience”
Review of Colors Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Colors Hostel
Ranked #133 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

The staff (not the girls, they're kind) wasn't so friendly and the breakfast is really poor. You cannot lock the door when you're taking shower, and the bathroom is in front of the kitchen. Event though it's well located.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wyllians V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2012

This winter I went with some friends for a few days to visit Budapest. We chose The Colors Hostel because it looked nice, but that is not the only reason why we ended up enjoying it so much. At Colors Hostel we kind of had that feeling of being at home in the center of Budapest.

The hostel is ''hidden' in an old building right in the center of Budapest, pretty close to anything you would like to visit by foot. We had a 6 bed room, colorful indeed and very clean. The hostel is very small so, apart from our room, there were only 3 or 4 other rooms (I don't remember exactly) and a big kitchen which was also used as a reception. Also, there are two bathrooms with showers and hair-dryer.

The service was very welcoming. At the reception we were given plenty of information about free tours, what to see etc. There was a computer with internet in that big reception room that we could use and also there was wi-fi in the entire hostel. The breakfast was included in the price (very low, btw) so we had at our disposal cereals, milk, yogurt, jam, tea, coffee (we had to make it ourselves, which felt like home).

The other guests were mostly young, but there were also few middle-aged persons so people over 40 should not feel discouraged to choose this hostel. Anybody can have a young spirit after all. And you sure need a young spirit in order to visit and enjoy all the beauties of Budapest.

Room Tip: If you are going in low season, there is a chance that the hostel is not very crowded and you can st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank strainpasager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

hard to find as the only sign for the hostel was a piece of paper stuck to an apartment building, so took quite some time to find.
upon arrival staff were not very friendly, did not show us how to get into the building, until we asked some time later. then we had to ask again for a key card to get in, which you pay a 5 euro deposit for.
location wise it was great, right in the centre, walking distance to all main sights.
good rooms with big lockers. free breakfast (cereal and toast).
common area not great, just 2 dining tables with 4 seats each.
only 2 showers for female and male each, and the showers always had a bad smell to them. had to wait to have a shower more than once.
a good place to get your head down, and was relatively cheap.
no proper place to store luggage after check out

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2011

Had a private room in an apartment, shared kitchen and living room with another couple. Really liked this apartment and the fully furnished kitchen and utensils. Breakfast was included according to the booking.com reservation but staff told me brekfast wasnt included.. however we got it, so no probs. Staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. Only negative side was that the wifi is NOT available at the apartments (only at the reception and dorm rooms) and the elevator did not function always, which was a bit boring with heavy suitcases... I would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KatariinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

I travelled with 4 friends for 2 nights. The staff is not so friendly. The breakfast is included but non-existent (bread and jam). Actually it's an apartment converted into an hostel. The common room includes the reception, the kitchen, one computer and one fridge.
The only positive fact is that the hostel is really quiet (You cannot do noize because of the neighbors).

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChassiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had booked a double room with private toilet and we were set into an apartment, to share with another couple. Each room had a private toilet but shared a common room with kitchen and living room.
The common room was beautiful but unfortunately the rooms were small, with horrible view and with a very hard bed (it gave me back pain). I actually don't think it was a real bed but a sofa converted into bed.
Super small toilet.
Ok location, in the center of the city. For this price, you can find much better.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2009

We booked 2 dorm beds for 5 nights but only ended up staying 1 night after finding bed bugs in one of our beds (and hearing that one was found in the bathroom). It was a bit of a hassle since we had to find somewhere else to go and it took some negotiating to get our balance refunded but, in the end, we got it sorted out so there were no hard feelings.

The place itself didn't have a great vibe (people weren't very friendly) and the place was a bit dim but the staff were kind...

We certainly wouldn't stay here again but the location is OK and the staff were helpful so if you can't find anywhere else, it would do. If you can pre-book, however, go to the Budapest Bubble...Olga and Yumi are just fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keshira haLev F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Avenue Hostel
#32 of 672 in Budapest
257 reviews
District V / Inner City
Maverick Hostel
Maverick Hostel
#6 of 672 in Budapest
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
Hotel Chesscom
#100 of 334 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hostel

Address: Veres Palne utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #133 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £20 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a hostel should be! Simple AND affordable. Colors Budapest Hostel brings back affordable accommodation, an amazing city and a cozy, friendly atmosphere. We are located in the best part of town, walking distance from ALL the major must see attractions in Budapest, including the River Danube, Vaci Street, Parliament and all the best restaurants and bars. Also plenty of cheap supermarkets and non-stop shops if you'd prefer to cook up dinner in our fully equipped kitchen.On a budget? No problem, we include a FREE breakfast (3 types of cereal, bread (toast), butter, jam (3 flavors), coffee, milk, and tea), FREE wifi and plenty of great deals on walking tours, pub crawls and even caving under the famous Buda Hills. We also have FREE Tea/Coffee all day, FREE linen, and FREE cable television.We are staffed 24 hours a day with NO CURFEW, so you can take full advantage of Budapest's nightlife. Local staff know all the best spots on any given night to guarantee a fun night out.Colors Budapest Hostel offers 6 & 8 bed dormitories and fully air conditioned apartments with two double rooms in each, so any backpacker can find the perfect solution, for a very reasonable price!Our great staff are here all day and all night to answer questions, help with directions, or just to point you in the direction of their favorite pub, ensuring that you have an amazing experience not only at our hostel but in the beautiful city of Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Colors Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing