We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad at all” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colors Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Colors Hostel
Ranked #121 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2011

Had a private room in an apartment, shared kitchen and living room with another couple. Really liked this apartment and the fully furnished kitchen and utensils. Breakfast was included according to the booking.com reservation but staff told me brekfast wasnt included.. however we got it, so no probs. Staff was very friendly and helpful all the time. Only negative side was that the wifi is NOT available at the apartments (only at the reception and dorm rooms) and the elevator did not function always, which was a bit boring with heavy suitcases... I would definately recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatariinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    46
    20
    15
    5
See reviews for
4
23
39
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2011

I travelled with 4 friends for 2 nights. The staff is not so friendly. The breakfast is included but non-existent (bread and jam). Actually it's an apartment converted into an hostel. The common room includes the reception, the kitchen, one computer and one fridge.
The only positive fact is that the hostel is really quiet (You cannot do noize because of the neighbors).

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChassiR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Budapest hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

We had booked a double room with private toilet and we were set into an apartment, to share with another couple. Each room had a private toilet but shared a common room with kitchen and living room.
The common room was beautiful but unfortunately the rooms were small, with horrible view and with a very hard bed (it gave me back pain). I actually don't think it was a real bed but a sofa converted into bed.
Super small toilet.
Ok location, in the center of the city. For this price, you can find much better.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davanita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
200 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2009

We booked 2 dorm beds for 5 nights but only ended up staying 1 night after finding bed bugs in one of our beds (and hearing that one was found in the bathroom). It was a bit of a hassle since we had to find somewhere else to go and it took some negotiating to get our balance refunded but, in the end, we got it sorted out so there were no hard feelings.

The place itself didn't have a great vibe (people weren't very friendly) and the place was a bit dim but the staff were kind...

We certainly wouldn't stay here again but the location is OK and the staff were helpful so if you can't find anywhere else, it would do. If you can pre-book, however, go to the Budapest Bubble...Olga and Yumi are just fantastic and we really enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sasandtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#56 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
District V / Inner City
Club Apartments & Rooms
Club Apartments & Rooms
#78 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
District V / Inner City
City Rooms
City Rooms
#153 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Design Apartments Budapest 2
Design Apartments Budapest 2
#156 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
District V / Inner City
Pesto Hostel
Pesto Hostel
#286 of 651 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
District V / Inner City
Amber Terrace Studios
Amber Terrace Studios
#36 of 651 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colors Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colors Hostel

Property: Colors Hostel
Address: Veres Palne utca 14, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What a hostel should be! Simple AND affordable. Colors Budapest Hostel brings back affordable accommodation, an amazing city and a cozy, friendly atmosphere. We are located in the best part of town, walking distance from ALL the major must see attractions in Budapest, including the River Danube, Vaci Street, Parliament and all the best restaurants and bars. Also plenty of cheap supermarkets and non-stop shops if you'd prefer to cook up dinner in our fully equipped kitchen.On a budget? No problem, we include a FREE breakfast (3 types of cereal, bread (toast), butter, jam (3 flavors), coffee, milk, and tea), FREE wifi and plenty of great deals on walking tours, pub crawls and even caving under the famous Buda Hills. We also have FREE Tea/Coffee all day, FREE linen, and FREE cable television.We are staffed 24 hours a day with NO CURFEW, so you can take full advantage of Budapest's nightlife. Local staff know all the best spots on any given night to guarantee a fun night out.Colors Budapest Hostel offers 6 & 8 bed dormitories and fully air conditioned apartments with two double rooms in each, so any backpacker can find the perfect solution, for a very reasonable price!Our great staff are here all day and all night to answer questions, help with directions, or just to point you in the direction of their favorite pub, ensuring that you have an amazing experience not only at our hostel but in the beautiful city of Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Colors Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing