We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really comfortable, value-for-money b&b”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 186 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A really comfortable, value-for-money b&b”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

This b&b has everything to recommend it.
First, the location is excellent - easy walk from no. 16 bus stop, served by frequent buses, or picturesque short climb up from the nearest metro station. You can walk to the centre of Pest in 20-30 minutes. This part of Buda is both picturesque and quiet - wonderful views from some rooms of the Old Town above, beautifully lit up at night, stunning view of the Parliament from rooms on the other side and breakfast room - and absolutely no noise to keep you awake at night.
Second, Viktor was an excellent host - kind and helpful at all times.
Third, the room we had was simple but comfortable - the safe was an unexpected bonus - and like the rest of the interior spotlessly clean.
Fourth, breakfast provided an ample choice of good things to start the day.
This has to be one of the very best value-for-money b&b's in Budapest.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorindaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    74
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
163
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

My husband & I (from Hong Kong) stayed 2 nites there just 2 weeks ago. A very convenience location to the romance fairy tales sightseeing spots: Fisherman's Bastion(just 2mins walk) and the famous Matthias Church, Buda Castle. We enjoyed the day + night view of Fisherman's Bastion very very much (attached wz a photo view from my pillow). The innkeeper Viktor is very friendly, helpful and attentive. He prepared a simple but nice with warm eggs continental breakfast for every guest every morning at the cosy restaurant. Though the pension is not big but clean & tidy. A cosy and value for money B&B highly recommended.

Room Tip: choose rooms facing Fisherman's Bastion if you like fairy tales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

It's very nice located place -3 minutes to Fisherman Bastion, 10 minutes to metro. From my room it was very nice view to Parlament and in the morning I could enjoy sunrise and in the evening watch beautiful lights of Budapest. I was here 4 nights, and I like it a lot.
Inside my room it's enough space.
Also it's safe box, soap in shower, good towels.
The breakfast is easy, but the eating room is small and nice. Victor, who works there, was so helpful and kind. He answered all my questions, gave me maps, and provided information.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia_Trushina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Budavar Pension. Our room was simple but clean, comfortable and with free wifi. We really enjoyed our balcony with a great view of the Parliament accross the Danube. Good choices for breakfast. The owner, Viktor, was very helpful.

Budavar Pension is located on a hill in Buda just below the castle. It's in a nice and quiet location. Batthyány tér, with a tram and metro station as well as the Hop on Hop off boat, is within 10 minutes walking distance even if there are quite a few stairs to climb on the way back. The Pest side is just a short walk away, across the Chain Bridge, even though there is a steady climb back to the Pension.

There are some nice local restaurants. We enjoyed Atakám Budai Bisztró at Iskola u. 29 on the way to the Batthyány tér and Gong at Hunyadi János út 9 on the way to the Chain Bridge. The owner of Gong, Bakonyi Nándor, is very welcoming and a seven-time Hungarian boxing champion!

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and great view of the Parliament!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleburg Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We were wrapping up our travel in Hungary by spending the last 2 nights in Budapest and wanted to see as much as we could in the little time left and this was a perfect place to stay. Victor was very helpful and accomodating. We got in late and he met us just as we planned. He gave us information on "must see" sights, events, and even offered to call the airline for us when we had a slight problem locating our reservations on our mobile device. Since we had a 6 a.m. flight out of Budapest, he told us we can grab a cup of coffee and a small breakfast in the dining area.

We had 2 rooms, one superior room and one classic room. The larger room had a huge king size bed and a sofa that opened up for extra sleeping space. The other one had a queen sized bed. Both rooms had sitting areas. Each room had a nice balcony looking out toward the Danube river and seeing a bit of Pest side. All was very clean and eclectic decor. The room that serves breakfast had a balcony with 2 or 3 tables. Breakfast was typical Hungarian fare.

The location is the best feature I think of this Pension. Walk out and you're at the footsteps of the Buda Castle...great great place to wander about at night after all the tourist buses have gone home. Felt very safe and like having your own castle all to yourself after midnight. One lone violin player even graced us with his presence the one night playing Vivaldi...ahhh...it put the whole experience over the top!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zizi49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houten, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2012

My stay for 4 nights was most enjoyable. Viktor is a kind and attentive host, who speaks good English and German. The room on the roadside is large, with a balcony, which is a great asset when the nights are warm. A bit old-fashioned and at times a bit noisy (cars) until about 23.00, but that didn't bother me. Simple but good breakfast, relaxed atmosphere, and literally steps away from the Matthiaschurch, and 10 min from the metro. This is excellent value for money!

Room Tip: You can ask for a room on the streetside with balcony, or on the Danube side with on the 2nd or 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Viktor provided my brother and I with fantastic hospitality! The place is spotless and very well situated in a quieter part of the city and very easily accessible via the subway. We ultimately chose the place based on the overwhelmingly good reviews and we were pleased to discover that the good reviews were well founded. Glad to add to Viktor's good reputation!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#19 of 333 in Budapest
4,074 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#31 of 333 in Budapest
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,693 reviews
District I / Buda
B & B Bellevue Budapest
B & B Bellevue Budapest
#8 of 186 in Budapest
441 reviews
Kapital Inn
#1 of 186 in Budapest
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing