We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 192 Budapest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B and great location”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Very nice B&B in quiet but convenient location in Buda. Easy to walk to Fisherman bastion, castle hill, etc. Helpful host and very nice breakfast, which could be taken on the balcony if a table was free. Would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty635914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
163
40
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ixelles, Belgique
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We spent two wonderful nights in this small bed & breakfast. Viktor was really kind, confident and helpful. We booked an economic room with a shared bathroom and it was almost as if we had our own bathroom across the hall as it was always clean and never busy. The hostel is ideally located next to the historic part of the city and very quiet. It's probably the best deal you can find in Budapest.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColineDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Our family of four (two children 11 and 14 and two adults) stayed here for four nights in August and thought it was great. We had two adjacent (but not adjoining) rooms on the top floor with our own bathroom. There is one other room on this floor too, which I think has its own bathroom facilities. The configuration of these rooms worked for us: as this was the last leg of a reasonably long family holiday, I thought the kids and adults would probably appreciate having some space from each other, and it was nice not to share a room for a change. But this only works if you have at least one child old enough to lock the door from the inside as it must be locked by key from either side of the door. The decor is simple but clean and very comfortable, and you can see the beautiful buildings in Castle Hill through the greenery outside the window, very pretty.

The pension is on a residential street so it has the feel of being in a local neighborhood, yet it is two minutes from Castle Hill in one direction, and five minutes down to the Danube at Bettyany Ter in the other. The location is superb. There are plenty of nice eating places nearby, plus ATMs and a SPAR supermarket, also the transport interchange for boats, metro and trams at Bettyany Ter. The inn-keeper Victor, is very nice, helpful and knowledgable, with excellent English and a very low-key, easy-going manner. One or two other reviewers expressed disappointment about the breakfast but I don't agree. You get what you pay for, and the breakfast here is simpler than the other places we stayed on the trip, but it was also the cheapest place we stayed. All the food was good quality, and enough variety to feed all four of us. Lovely fresh rolls, fresh coffee, some cold cuts, a choice of two cereals, some fresh fruit served in a pretty dining room or on the balcony. Our rooms were standard rooms but we took a peak at a superior room and they were beautifully furnished, an altogether more romantic feel, ideal for a couple.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We totally stayed 4 nights at room 1 of Budavar pension with a great balcony. Never imagined the location is so perfect before check-in. Very close to major sightseeing spot (Fisherman bastion, Matyas church, Castle hill & Buda palace) but you still experience peaceful, relaxing and comfrotable time when you stay there. We heard the birds singing while we had breakfast at balcony. Host Viktor is super nice and friendly to all guests. We definitely recommend this hotel to all the friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swancolore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
754 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We arrived on a train from Zagreb that was 1.5 hours late, and we had to stand in line 30 minutes to get metro tickets and money from the ATM. When we arrived over 2 hours later than I told him we would arrive, he was still there waiting for us, which was quite the relief. Even though it was more than 100 outside, the air conditioning in the room made for a great stay. It wasn't a big deal to share the bathroom, but the walls were a bit thin between the rooms. The breakfast was perfectly fine - on par with most hotel breakfasts. While it was in Buda, further away from the "main" sights, it was just a few minutes up to the Bastion for some great views at night.

We had a late night flight, so we needed to leave our bags until 5. He arranged for a taxi to pick us up then, and gave us a key so we could get back in and get our bags, which was great. We showed up at the hotel at 4:40, and started watching for a taxi from 4:50-5:15. It was confirmed, twice, with the owner that the taxi would be there at 5. Since the desk is not always manned, we had no one to help us solve this problem (a problem I have never had in visits to 30 countries). So, we had no choice but to walk to the square and pay 2,000 HUF more than the rate the taxi was suppose to pick us up for.

So, in all, I would say you can stay here, if you plan to check out and take the metro to the airport/train station. However, being that it was over 100 degrees we didn't feel like carrying all our stuff down the hill, on the metro during rush hour.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brandasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in room 3, it was plenty big for a couple with a great balcony to view Parliament. The room has AC along with a ceiling fan to stay cool. Victor is a great host and is happy to give you directions in the morning, his English is very good. Located right below the Bastion, making it a great place to hang out at night after the crowds leave. Easy to get to the other parts of a Budapest via the metro a short walk down the stairs. There is a market right there also and a very good vegetarian place when you need a break from the heavy hungarian cuisine. Breakfast is simple but it is enough to start the day. O yea there is also a fridge at the font desk where you can get wine, beer,water, etc at any time, just have to keep a tally on a piece of paper.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Danube!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadiehope7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful, located along the hill with a beautiful view of the city band the river. Service is impeccable, kind and always nice. It seem rally to stay as in family. Absolutely suggested to visit the city with alla comforts.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gwopr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#16 of 334 in Budapest
4,173 reviews
District I / Buda
Boutique Hotel Victoria Budapest
District I / Buda
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
Buda Castle Fashion Hotel
#29 of 334 in Budapest
923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,778 reviews
District I / Buda
art'otel budapest
art'otel budapest
#41 of 334 in Budapest
2,748 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
Mango Aparthotel and Spa
#8 of 192 in Budapest
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Budavar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budavar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Budavar Bed & Breakfast
Address: Szabo Ilonka utca 15., Budapest 1015, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District I / Buda
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Budavar Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Budavar Bed & Breakfast resides in the heart of Budapest in the World Heritage Site historic Castle Hill District of the Buda side of the city. You stay several footsteps away from Fishermen's Bastion and Matthias Church. You can reach the business and entertainment district of Pest in a few minutes. Rooms feature wonderful panoramic view and are equipped with air-conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Budavar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing