We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Halfway through & mixed feedback....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aquaworld Resort Budapest
Ranked #76 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We arrived last night having booked a weekend away to celebrate my birthday. Check in was fine but got to our junior suite which was over looking the car park, had 2 single beds & the curtain hanging off the rail. We called reception and explained we weren't happy, and wanted to change to a room with a double bed as we had requested, we were told the the system at night does not allow them to see the room occupancy so we'd have to wait until the morning. We went straight to reception this morning and they said all the other junior suites were booked so we couldn't change. I asked if we could therefore go into the next category up as we were not happy with the room, but as I couldn't PROVE that I had requested a double at the time of booking (as we booked through an agent) we would have to pay to get the next room. We just decided to leave it and have done some furniture moving. Also yet to work out why we don't have a balcony when pretty much all the other rooms do, even the standard rooms.... Actually considered changing from a suite to a standard room just to get the pool view and balcony!
Then on to breakfast... 16 euro pp, for a Buffett, not my idea of good food, much of it was cold (even the hot? stuff)! But not the worst food ever, and didn't really break the bank.
Now to the pool....so there are loads of pools here, and I was aware we'd have to pay more to go into aquaworld but was very surprised to hear that as we had paid a 'room only' rate we weren't actually able to even use the hotel pool. We had to pay an additional 5euro pp per day, we decided to just pay the 15 euro each and go into aqua world. - get there early all the sunbeds had gone by mid/late morning.
So back in our room this evening, and slightly surprised there has been no maid service at all.... Unusual for a 4 star...?!
On the plus the hotel is pretty well presented throughout and the pools are great. Looking forward to getting the free shuttle into town shortly which is a great bonus.
Tomorrow is my birthday so let's hope the service improves slightly.... :-)

Hints: make sure you ask for pool facing and double bed.
Taxi from airport was 24 euro.
And there isn't anything around here so you have little choice to food options during the day - worth bringing a fold up cool back to have some bits in by the pool all day.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hannah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (809)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 809 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2012

The hotel is a bit far if you want to visit Budapest but there is a free shuttle to the city centre which stops right in front of the hotel. We had to get a taxi from the airport because the concierge told us it was too complicated to go by public transport. The taxi is around 35 euros to go and 30 to come back which is kind of absurd. However, we were marvelled when we got to the hotel. It is luxuriously furnished and both restaurants are very beautiful. The rooms are big and comfortable although there are no double beds (but they did push both of our beds together to make them seem like one, which seemed to work very well). The TV is a bit hard to understand but has quite a wide choice of channels, especially for German speakers.
The spa was amazing offering around 10 different saunas, and two pools. The water park Aquaworld is also extremely fun and relaxing. We were surprised since we were not expecting so much variety at an indoor water park. There are many slides, different pools (one just for diving, three jacuzzis, a wave pool, various pools with spa properties and an Olympic pool) all heated. The temperature of each pool is also clearly written outside which is very helpful.
The staff spoke very good English and were helpful and polite.
The buffet dinner costs 25 euros per person which is a bit expensive, although it includes a drink.
There is free wi-fi in every room.
PS: Wear your bathrobe to the spa!

Room Tip: There are no double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Very nice hotel, large rooms, georges bathroom, good quality of breakfast, however used to be better. Nic spa with lots of tourist - poland,russina, uk etc. don´t like this people. Overall very good average

Room Tip: Good family hotel with attractions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in the apartment complex at the ramada which was beautiful, spacious and clean. Aquaworld is a must for a family break to Budapest, the variety of water slides and pools is second to none. We found that the poolside bars and restaurants were reasonably priced, McDonalds is a good 10-15min walk beside a large retail park. The staff were all friendly and helpful, I would highly recommend this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dunnangallIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 days during the Formule 1 Grand Prix. The room was quite spacious even with the baby cot, the carrycot, our luggage.. we had a nice balcony at was geat spend some time there at night breathing the fresh air.
The breakfast is a buffet where you can find everything, eggs, bacon, salad, sweet pastries.. coffee, few kind of juices.. there are also a microwave to heat the babyfood, and water and special tea for babies.
And the SPA is marvellous!two great pools with warm water, and other one outside. It was fantastic to relax ourselves after the F1 race. At the room you have special towels for the SPA and bathrobes.
There are a shopping mall just one or two km around, and there are a free shuttle to go and back to the city.
Great hotel for relaxing holidays

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our family spent the weekend in Budapest, and we decided to stay at this hotel even though it's pretty far outside of the city center - a good 20+ minute drive. We had a car with us, so the drive into the city wasn't that bad. Additionally all the parking in the city is free on the weekends, and we had no problem finding spots everywhere we went.

We wanted an affordable hotel with a pool. My search of Budapest did not really turn up many hotels with pools, and the ones I did find were expensive with tiny indoor pools. The Ramada resort is a destination in and of itself. I know my kids and husband could have spent alot more time in the numerous pools and on the slides.

The hotel itself is nothing really special. The rooms are okay. The showers are okay. The beds are stiff. The curtains did nothing to keep the sun out and we were awake by 7:00 everyday whether we were ready or not. Without the attached waterpark, I would definitely not stay here nor recommend it. But the waterpark really makes the package.

We did try the breakfast buffet once. It had everything I could think a buffet should have. Eggs, bacon/sausage, hash browns, toast, breads, muffins, pastries, cereals, fruits, meats and cheeses, etc. But the price was not included in our room rate, and we didn't enjoy it enough to have it again.

If you have kids and a car, this is a good hotel to stay in when you are visiting Budapest.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

This hotel is great for families-we had a suite which gave plenty of space and at the end of a busy hot day at Formula 1 the pool was very welcome. All the staff were very helpful,in particular the lady in reception.
The down side is that the microwave/fridge are really not that useful.The only crockery was 4 side plates/knives and forks. There is no room in the fridge because it is a mini bar. Nearby there is a mac donalds/auchan.I would go to this hotel again,the aqua park is very good too for a day.
We had a car and found the position of the hotel good for F1 and near to the Danube.(We did a different hotel for the city stop)
The restaraunt has a good range and choice too

Room Tip: The apartment rooms are great if you have a car,you park behind the apartment making it easy to unlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkIzzywizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Margaret Island
Danubius Health Spa Resort Margitsziget
Lion's Garden Hotel
#79 of 334 in Budapest
727 reviews
The Aquincum Hotel Budapest
#128 of 334 in Budapest
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bliss Hotel And Wellness
#123 of 334 in Budapest
366 reviews
Danubius Hotel Helia
#70 of 334 in Budapest
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquaworld Resort Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquaworld Resort Budapest

Address: Ives ut 16, Budapest 1044, Hungary (Formerly Ramada Resort Aquaworld Budapest)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Budapest
#40 Family Hotel in Budapest
#53 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
#61 Business Hotel in Budapest
#77 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £65 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquaworld Resort Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aquaworld Resort Budapest is a four-star superior conference and wellness hotel offering unique services: it has 309 rooms, suites and apartments with internet connection; a conference centre with a capacity of almost 1000; a spa, wellness and fitness unit; an entertainment centre; indoor and outdoor car parks with a total capacity of more than 1000 and direct access to Aquaworld, one of the biggest indoor water theme parks in Europe.Given its excellent location and complex services, Ramada Resort - Aquaworld Budapest has every chance to become a priority domestic and international tourist destination and a popular meeting point for the inhabitants of Budapest and its surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Splitty, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Aquaworld Resort Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Resort Aquaworld Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing