We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, but loud and small rooms”
Review of MushROOMs Bazilika

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MushROOMs Bazilika
Ranked #246 of 674 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 29 August 2010

The location of the place is great, you can walk to the Danube, have metros and sights in walking distance.
But there is a club close to it which place really loud music so you might find it hard to sleep.
The quality of your stay also depends greatly on the room you are in. The single and triple room are VERY small. You will barely have enough room to put yourself and your luggage in the single one (actually, they also sell it as a double...)
Also I would not recommend going as a couple, as you do not have much privacy there.
But if you are on a short trip for sightseeing and get the big room (the only one which has a private shower) and are lucky enough to have the club next door not playing, it is a good place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katarina77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2010

This place is amazing! We were in the new Mushrooms hostel in Akademia street, near the Parlament (wonderful location), and we had whole beautiful apartment for us. It is very clean, very bright and well equipped. The girl who owns the hostel is more than helpful and kind! She tolerated all our delay problems, last minute changes and entrusted us that apartment for 4 days. Price was more than fair. All in all, I would highly recommend this place without any doubts!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shmakica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

Small hostel with very nice rooms in the heart of the city centre. The kitchen was well equipped and the hostel was clean. The only minus which I can think of is that the bathroom of the green room was small.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

For budget travelers, this is THE place to stay. The MushROOMs consists of three bedrooms (with different capacities), each with a dedicated bathroom, along with a shared kitchen, living room, and balcony. The shared spaces are large and useable, the rooms are simple and stylish, and the location cannot be beat. Just a block from St. Stephen's Basilica and a blue-line metro station, within several blocks of countless restaurants, banks, internet cafes, money exchanges, and grocery stores, the MushROOMs are in the heart of all a tourist wants to see in Pest. And perhaps even better? The proprietor, Andrea, is sweet, helpful, and flexible - checking guests in at all times of the day and night to accomodate the varied schedules of travelers. For the cost, I cannot recommend the MushROOMs highly enough!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 336 in Budapest
1,213 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#103 of 336 in Budapest
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,515 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#14 of 336 in Budapest
4,383 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MushROOMs Bazilika? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MushROOMs Bazilika

Address: Lazar utca 9., Budapest 1065, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #246 of 674 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for a friendly, nice and comfortable apartment to stay in the heart of Budapest? The MushROOMs Bazilika is 5 minutes from the main metro station. Our apartment is located in a pretty nice building from the turn of the century, near to the Opera House and St. Steven Basilica. We have only a few rooms so if you want a quiet and good accommodation at a reasonable price, we might be the right choice for you! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing