We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“India in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salaam Bombay

Salaam Bombay
Ranked #259 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: District V / Inner City
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“India in Budapest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Very near the Danube and just around the corner from the Four Seasons Hotel, we found Salaam Bombay, an excellent Indian restaurant. The food was delicious, with perfect, subtle flavors and textures, super fresh ingredients, and the whole place very clean (yes, I peeked into the kitchen, and it was a spotless temple of the palate). Good price/value ratio. Some Indian friends we sent there also gave it a big thumbs up.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    118
    24
    11
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had a great meal. Service was good and they were really busy.
Had chicken madras, good and very tasty. Best curry I've had in a long time

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Idbnorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“efficient tasty food served well and enjoyed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

we were staying at the Starlight Suiten immediately next door and popped into this restaurant partly as we are vegetarian so Indian cuisine is always a safe bet - we were very satisfied with good quality food served quickly and pleasantly, a good sized table and privacy and we could wander the ten steps back to our hotel or - as we did - take in the sights of the lit up Chain Bridge at the end of the street, cross the Danube, and return to our hotel a little more rested and chilled for the evening walk!
Try this little know restaurant in this side street as an alternative to the hustle and busstle of the main drags of Budapest - you'll love it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rufus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surat
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The cuisine is Indian and the taste authentic...we were a big group of 50 at a single sitting yet the service was fast and good...the Indian breads which should preferably be served fresh and hot were catered to even for such a large group and that it indeed creditable...the owner manager was warm in his hospitality and friendly ensuring everyone was more than satiated after the dinner...if you relish Indian food, on the spiced side, this is the place to go to in budapest

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shenaz p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“BEST INDIAN SPICE IN BUDAPEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

The food here was amazing and worth every penny. I went there in a big group but still the people were able to manage and satisfy all. The food is delicious and flavours are nice

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bhargav g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salaam Bombay also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Salaam Bombay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing