We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Plus Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Plus Hostel
Ranked #90 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Guanajuato, Mexico
1 review
“Great trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

"Really nice trip, everything was great, good location, excellent service and the best staff ever, everybody was kind and friendly, and they gave us good advices of the city." Definitely i will come back, totally recommended it!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank celina_carto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    40
    17
    10
    6
See reviews for
1
10
65
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irapuato
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Thank you Home Plus Hostel it was a very good experience there! Clean, nice design, good price and very friendly and helpful staff! Location is perfect, it is exactly in the downtown. Good luck in the future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JorgeIrapuato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

One of the best and cleanest hostels I have stayed in. The beds were comfortable and the rooms very spacious with huge lockers. The staff were very helpful and had a passion for their job and the hostel is in a great location.

If I were to go to Budapest again I would stay there!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckuhradke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013 via mobile

This place is absolutely amazing as you get way more than you pay for! Especially when it relates to hospitality and making you feel at home. It just changed ownership and the three very kind owners have redesigned and updated the place successfully. They also have an incredible skill when it comes to hiring people for their staff. All four women are very kind and helpfull, making us totally feel at home. Also the location is nice and the fact that the hostel itself organises pub crawls, on which we had so much fun.

Without overexaggerating this problably was the most friendly, hospitable hostel we ever stayed in!

Thank you guys for our amazing time with you! Trust me, already making plans for revisiting. So see you soon!

Ruben and myrte, Amsterdam, the Netherlands.



Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ruben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

Hostel was a great start to our trip - went with 2 female friends in August and stayed for 3 nights. Andrew was lovely, made sure we knew where to go and what to see surplus to what we already knew and the two receptionist girls were also very knowledgeable. The receptionists were also great at giving directions to the best clubs and bars in the city!

Getting tickets for the thermal baths from the hostel saved as quite a bit of money, as well as a very large queue outside of the actual baths! Also managed to get information about local taxis from the receptionist, helping us to save money.

Hostel has a lovely atmosphere - everyone staying there at the same time were very friendly and the hostel is a great place to relax after sightseeing and to prepare for a night out in Budapest. Rooms were very clean and lockers are provided, though bring your own padlock. It's on a fairly quiet street, so not too noisy, but just a few minutes away from the tram and metro stations, as well as lots of cafes and a McDonalds nearby.

Will definitely return here when I come back to Budapest!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillk159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Would never recommend this hostel to anyone. My friend and I arrived at the hostel after getting off a night train from Poland. The only thing we wanted was to have a shower and change out of the clothes we had travelled all night in but couldn't even do that. The people who were in the room the night before us hadn't checked out so our room wasn't ready.

We decided to make the most of a bad situation and head out to see some sites as we only had one day in Budapest and were leaving early the following morning. Despite telling Andrew this and saying we knew where we wanted to go etc he insisted on showing us sites on the map. This would have been nice except for the fact he was creepily stroking my shoulder at the same time.

My friend and I reluctantly left our case behind reception and went out while we waited for the room to be ready. However, our day was ruined by the thought of having to return to the hostel. We were disturbed enough by his creepiness to consider sleeping with something propped up against the door so we would know if someone came in.

We returned about half seven at night to find the entire hostel in pitch blackness and nobody around. We shouted hello and had a look for someone for about five minutes but nobody appeared and there was no answer. The keys were in the door to the room we were meant to be staying in but by that time we were too freaked out to stay. We grabbed our case and literally ran out the door and only slowed down when we were a long way away.

Leaving the hostel was the best decision of the trip.

Room Tip: Stay in another hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Andrew is a fantastic host and goes out of his way to help you with advice on what to do in Budapest. He spent an hour with me answering all my questions and booked a massage and trip to the baths for me. Heaps of info on things to do that Andrew can help organise for you even caving under Budapest, free walking tours etc! Perfect size, doesn't feel sterile like some of the bigger hostels. Great stay :)

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lianne2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
The Groove
#75 of 655 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
District V / Inner City
Essential Hostel
Essential Hostel
#112 of 655 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Avenue Hostel
#27 of 655 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belváros-Lipótváros
Suite Hostel
Suite Hostel
#89 of 655 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Boutique B&B
District V / Inner City
The Loft Hostel Budapest
The Loft Hostel Budapest
#43 of 655 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Plus Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Plus Hostel

Property: Home Plus Hostel
Address: Balassi Balint Street 27 (bell 53) | Budapest 5th district, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 655 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home+ Hostel is your home away from home, plus a lot more. We are a comfortable, friendly, bright, safe and well equipped small hostel where you can stay in mixed larger rooms or smaller private rooms.We are located in the heart of Budapest, near the Danube river, between the Parliament and Margaret bridge, on the Pest side of the river. Margaret island is just a five minute walk where you can enjoy the outdoors, plus a lot more.Since we are located near the Margaret bridge, you can choose between discovering the city center or walking over the bridge to the more residential area where the royal castle is located. Don't forget to stop on the bridge to take the best 'Budapest at night' photo :)Our goal is to give you what we would like to get if we were travelling abroad and to make you feel at home. We do that by speaking good English, giving you sightseeing tips, providing you with all the info you may need, keeping the place clean and offering you a variety of pc, audio and video services.Your hosts, Andrew and company, we all love our work, we all love our guests and we like to see everybody happy. So, see you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Agoda so you can book your Home Plus Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing