We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, and excellent value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Green Dream Apartment
Ranked #92 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked the studio for two people. It was all very straightforward, with the owner, Greg, sending us information and directions etc in advance. He met us at the apartment, which is not far from Budapest Keleti railway station (easily reached by metro/tram), and located a minute's walk from the Danube's Elizabeth Bridge and the #2 Tram which runs along the river, via Parliament down to the Green Bridge (Central Market Hall / Gellert Hotel), and the #4/6 Trams which access all the major sights of Pest. The apartment's clean, well equipped, the bed doubling up as a settee during the day. It has free WiFi and is excellent value for money. And Greg is on hand to give advice, e.g where the best place to eat locally was after arriving early evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike_the_Blues_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirandulo, Manager at Green Dream Apartment, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Our homey apartments located at Margaret bridge, Pest side bridgehead, in museum piece 100+year old historical buildings on Grand Boulevard (Szent Istvan korut). Although being downtown central location, it is accessible by public transport, such as main tram lines #4/6 and #2 or metro line #3. Beautiful, relaxing parks of Margaret Island are within a few minutes walking distance across the bridge. Easy access to main sights such as Parliament or St Stephen's Basilica. Easy access from train stations: Nyugati is only 5 minutes walking on Boulevard. Keleti can be reached in 15 minutes by public transport. It is always our pleasure to wait, guide and support all of our guests on arrival / check in. Late or midnight check in is really not a problem for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2011

My friend & I booked this apartment mainly on the strength of the TripAdvisor reviews & we were not disappointed. What a superb location - 10 mins walk to Parliament, a couple of mins to Margaret Bridge & a few more to Margaret Island, 20 mins over the bridge to Buda & well situated for reasonably priced restaurants & minimarkets. Even better, because the apartment is located off a courtyard within the building it is extremely quiet & it's difficult to realise you are in the middle of a large city.
We stayed in the Family Apartment, mostly because we had luggage for 5 weeks & wanted to be able to spread out a little during our 6 night stay. We had a bedroom each (up a small staircase), a spacious living area, small kitchen & bathroom equipped with washing machine. We didn't cook any meals, but it was very useful to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee & to have the fridge for cold drinks, yoghurt, cheese etc.
Greg, the host, is a delightful young man who offered advice re places to eat & shop & made sure we knew how to operate everything before he left us. I had suffered a back injury just before leaving NZ & felt I needed medical attention; Greg very quickly emailed me with the names & addresses of several osteopaths.
Budapest is an amazing city & with only 4 full days at our disposal (one was taken up with a trip to Kecskemet & a Horse Show - fabulous day out) we felt we had barely skimmed the surface, even though we took the hop on hop off bus & a city walking tour. There is so much to see - numerous magnificent buildings of varying architectural styles on both sides of the Danube, lovely parks, the baths - we did not get to Szentendre as we had intended, we were just too entranced by the city to go elsewhere.
I do recommend the Green Dream Apartments, for the handy location, the peace & quiet & for excellent value. If I have any quibbles it would be only that the beds were firmer than we were used to & we had to switch on a bedroom light to go downstairs to the bathroom at night as the light switch for the stairs was located in the living room, but those are minor issues - we were very delighted with our choice & would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PixNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Wow, what a lovely apartment in the heart of the city, a great location, close to parliament, Margaret bridge and st Stephens. Tram stop straight outside the door, train station a few 100 metres up the road, rooms were brilliant and facilities are great within the apartment. Greg and Chabby were always available to help, met us at the apartment the day we got there and the day we left.

Do not pay a bomb for a hotel stay here, it's brilliant!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan_meyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

ou return trip to budapest staying again with Gdapartments.my partner and i could not wait to return to Budapest after our fabulous visit in may we felt that there was so much we hadnt seen as it was my birthday in september we decided it was a great excuse to visit again.we contacted Gdapartments unfortunatly their light apartments were fully booked but thankfully their new apartment would be ready in time for our visit.manager Greg was their to welcome us and the new apartment didnot disappoint,beautifully renovated with all ameinaties and a lovely welcome pack and perfectly located.we had a fantastic 5 day stay and cannot wait to return again in july and have already secured our accomodation with Gdapartments.would highly recomend a trip to this fantastically relaxed city and to accomodate your visit Gdapartments are perfectly located to all points of interest and the beautiful margrets island.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank post4hayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

It was my first trip to Budapest. The accomodation was simple and clean. The owner, Greg was friendly and helpful. The location of the accomodation is excellent. It was about 10-15mins to Margret Island and about 15mins to the hop-on and hop-off bus stop for tourist.

The kitchen was clean and equiped with simple cooking utensils. It was ideal for family travelling, as they can do simple cooking there. Everything were good except for the sofa bed. It was small and I was sharing the bed with my sister at that time. Nevertheless, I will still recommend this pace.

Room Tip: Ideal Location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank LynnOng13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

I stayed in the apartment in Sept 2011 with 4 friends. It couldn't have been better - it was clean, affordable and in a central location. We were lucky as the apartment had just been completely refurbished so it was in great condition! Greg was waiting for us when we arrived to explain how to work the appliances and show us around. As it was our first time in Budapest, he also took the time to point out to us decent restaurants, bars and places of interest on the map. We followed many of these up and found them just as he described! The apartment also had free wifi, which was a massive plus. I am definitely coming back next summer!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luisamacdonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We, a family of 5, stayed in one of the Green Dream apartments. The apartment was located close to the Margaret Island and a few tram stops of the city centre. The apartment was clean, spacious and cool. Staff was very friendly and helped us out with all sorts of things, tourist stuff as well as a hospital visit.

Room Tip: Our apartment was at the Szent Istvan korut and was surprisingly cool despite the heat outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leovanderwees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest
Aria Hotel Budapest
#1 of 335 in Budapest
1,202 reviews
Hotel Chesscom
#104 of 335 in Budapest
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#27 of 335 in Budapest
3,509 reviews
District I / Buda
Hilton Budapest
Hilton Budapest
#15 of 335 in Budapest
4,377 reviews
Fraser Residence Budapest
#18 of 335 in Budapest
1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Dream Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Dream Apartment

Address: Szent Istvan koerut 8, Budapest 1137, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 672 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £37 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy guesthouse with private units. Friendly atmosphere in the heart of downtown, closed to renewed Margaret bridge, Pest side. Convenient location, excellent accessibility. Carefully designed to be a truly home-to-home accommodation, where you can easily relax after sightseeing, and sleep well respecting the extra quiet sorrounding. Peaceful courtyard with plants and flowers, you will feel incubated from the hustle and bustle of the city life.Free broadband wifi internet, laptop, cable are provided by default in all units.All apartments have been refurbished recent years 2010/11, quality interior design, furnished according to high level of standards with care to give every comfort of a home. Family friendly environment. Baby-cot, baby-chair, toys for kids are available on request (for free). Highest level of hygiene and cleanness on every check in.Most sights are within a short walking distance. Few minutes to the Parliament, the Nyugati Railway Station or the beautiful parks of Margaret Island. Buda Castle or Heroes Squar can be reached easily and quickly by public transportation. The Danube, the Comedy Theatre are only a minute away. Lot of restaurants, cafes and pubs, shops can be found in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Green Dream Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Dream Apartment Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing