We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant budget alternative to hotel”
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We booked Maverick as an emergency when we realised our flights and hotel dates didn't match. We took a private double room with en suite, which was pretty good value at about £45.

Reception were friendly and helpful, and our room was good - high-ceilinged, quite large, with TV, fan, and nice bathroom. In the heat we could've done with A/C, but the fan was better than nothing. Each floor has a little kitchen with coffee maker, fridge, and free tea and coffee. The room was basic - a bed, a chest and a shelf, but totally sufficient. It's not luxury, but as hostels go this was clean, well-organised, quiet and friendly. We didn't make use of them, but there were regular events, tours, pub crawls, cooking parties etc on offer, and the rest of the people we saw there seemed to have been having a good time.

We then went off to our 4* hotel, and to be honest, for the price difference and great central location, I'd rather have stayed on at Maverick.

(note: It's not immediately easy to find, but look out for signs near the metro stop.)

Room Tip: We had a room on the top (4th) floor and it got pretty hot in July! Bear this in mind if you get a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciefromlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hostel was really centrally located. Easy walk up to the castle and there is a metro stop nearby as well. The room was clean and adorable and had a really pretty view! The staff were lovely and really helpful. The building is really secure and safe. I had a great time at this hostel and was sad to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmaknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Maverick's in one word for me, was perfect.

Firstly, I stayed in a private room that was comfortable, well maintained and clean; in addition I had my own bathroom.

Secondly, the location was perfect. Mere steps (actually) from the Metro, the river and all good things in Budapest.

Thirdly, I was a traveling squash player and when the staff found that out, they took me out to play one night at a local club. Seven of them. They are pretty good squash players and on top of that, beer after.

Another valuable point is that the hostel is smoke free. This is a beautiful thing as so many hostels stink like stale smoke. Not Mavericks.

Overall, this was the perfect hostel experience. Lots of travelers, clean modern rooms, interactive staff, a location that could not be better, smoke free and good squash.

Well done guys!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

We arrived in Budapest around 10pm, and finding a poorly signposted hostel disguised as a residential building was rather tricky in the night.
We originally booked an En-suite room with shared kitchen facilities, but were suprisingly upgraded to a large, comfortable apartment (for the same rate) due to an error with the booking system.
The receptionist was friendly, and gladly left her desk late in the evening to show us to the room.
The room itself was clean, well heated / ventilated and included a bath.
I was grateful that the hostel is in a good location, which made a very good starting point for exploring the city by foot, or by public transport.
Shame there was no breakfast buffet, but overall the Hostel seems to be well run and maintained.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank railtourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Could not have been happier with Maverick for our 2 night stay in Budapest. Perfect location in front of Ferenciek Ter bus stop and the Metro station. Very easily walkable to Vaci Utca the main touristy street and a close walk to the bridge to get directly to the Buda side where you can find the castle on the hill. Everything is very easily accessible via walking, metro or bus!

Security-wise it is quite secure as there is a front door, two buzz-in doors (you are given the access code), and then your key works for Maverick's door and your own room door. You only need the access code and the key for the main door at night.

The reception staff is very helpful and offer great suggestions for places to see and directions. In the reception area there are 3 computer/internet terminals free of charge and they even provide a comp Skype phone that can access certain countries. WiFi is accessible in your room as well. Their kitchen is fully equipped with free tea.

I shared a private room with ensuite with a friend and it was surprisingly spacious, clean with hardwood floor and comfortable bed. Windows open for fresh air and street noise was minimal considering the units are not that high up from the street level. Bathroom has a standup shower with lots of hot water. Only thing is the shower head is very high up and not adjustable so gets in your face a bit much and a bit on the floor outside the enclosed shower (not a big deal though).

If you're looking for a crazy hostel with lots of socializing with other guests and a party atmosphere then this is probably not the place for you, but if you're looking for a great location, good place to crash after a long day of sightseeing and better value than a hotel, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemonie604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Really nice place, and the staff, particularly the guy with the glasses - (looked a bit like a Hungarian Clark Kent) forgot your name but he was a complete legend.

Warning - this place is so nice and cushy, you could easily end up living here.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuFoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

We first stayed in this hostel when it opened. Coming back it was great. Staff were heaps of fun and friendly. Kitchen and facilities are new and of great quality. The sleeping is in large but spaceous dorms and we had no problems with noise or access to bathrooms. However, its the staff that make this the best hostel. The helped us with bags, ironing boards etc even when we were no longer staying there. Great Hostel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikzed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
758 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#100 of 336 in Budapest
205 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#7 of 673 in Budapest
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
Pal's Hostel & Apartments
#13 of 673 in Budapest
280 reviews
District V / Inner City
Katona Apartments
Katona Apartments
#4 of 673 in Budapest
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 673 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range: £13 - £77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing