We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maverick Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Maverick Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Awesome place, great location close to metro station, well decorated colorful with classic stuff. The building is old and gives you a small taste of the city.

The vibe of people in the hostel is the best, they create a concept of the hostel around the comedy movie "The 'Big' Lebowski" that makes everything funny. The rooms are named as characters of the movie. And in they give us some freebies that makes everyone happy.

Really recommended.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ViniciusCS1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    171
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
53
179
153
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Qrendi, Malta
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Shockingly shabby from the outside but up to standard on the inside. Most suited for youths since the rooms are very basic and have that modern look. There was an extra bed in our triple room but no wardrobe or television. Bathroom was fine and the sleeping quality was good however the beds were not too sturdy (as you would expect from youth hostels). Location is great, staff at reception were very helpful and apart from WIFI they also had internet on PC available and free of charge which was very pleasing. Cannot complain really.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatlemania216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maverick_Hostel, Manager at Maverick Hostel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you for the review. We are sorry if there was somekind of misfunction with the TV. We have checked it and it is working at the moment. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

The beds and staff were very good, we had hot water in the night but not in the morning!!!! The bathroom wasn't totally clean, overall the price was high in comparison of what we got in return and with the prices of Budapest.. And also when u ask the staff for good places to go to sometimes it is right but other times it is only because they have a deal with them ;)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hvzarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maverick_Hostel, Manager at Maverick Hostel, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Sorry for the problems in our new Lodge, which has just been opened and we had some difficulties with the water system, but the problem had been solved since. We have been improving our cleanliness in our new property, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

This is the bottom of the list of all hostels that we stayed through our European travels. Below average. Tiny room, felt dirty overlooking a horrible courtyard. Nothing like the pictures on website. Bad start to our stay in beautiful Budapest. We were forced to pay upfront for the 5 nights booked but checked out after 3 days. Good location, the only positive.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maverick_Hostel, Manager at Maverick Hostel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
We are very sorry, that you didn't get what you expected from us. We had repainted the room since and we concentrate more on cleanliness.

The payment following our policy is always on arrival, but unfortunately we didnt realise your miscomfort in time, and we couldn't refound you for the last two nights of your stay. Sorry for the problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff was so friendly, personable and down to earth, this hostel was clean, safe and the perfect place to go! It was my first time in Budapest and the staff gave us ideas on things to do and where to eat. The room was very clean, my things were safe and the showers were awesome- a definite plus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank study_travel2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

Had a wonderful experience on a quick two night stay in Budapest. Very easy to get to by taking subway from train station. The confirmation email gave great helpful instructions on how to get there. Booking online was unusually easy and quick. Once we arrived, staff was very friendly and helpful. When we discovered that our room had only one bed, Levi put us in an available room with single beds at same rate. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Common area was great with comfortable stylish furniture and internet. Overall, a great place and great visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tttmartin53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

It was a plesure to stay at this well located hostel I must say that the staff is really nice friendly and polite as hungarian pleople as a bit unfriendly in my humble opinion there is a girl of the staff ginger can't remember her name but she is friki lovely anyway hostel was so clean tidy perfect.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank spidihiwkick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,550 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,316 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Four Seasons Hotel Gresham Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maverick Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maverick Hostel

Property: Maverick Hostel
Address: Ferenciek tere 2, Budapest 1053, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 651 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Maverick Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maverick Hostel is located in the heart of the city, in a royal mansion built by the Habsburg dynasty, fully renovated, waiting for you in its original magnificence.The apartment is free from bunk beds, there are fireplaces, pouffes and plants in the public areas to ensure the great atmosphere.Due to the central location of our hostel unnecessary travels can be spared. Most of the city's attractions can be reached within 15 minutes. Due to our own experiences in hostels around the world we pay special attention to cleanness and calmness, and employ helpful staff that welcomes you at the Maverick after an eventful and tiring day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Maverick Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maverick Hostel Budapest Hotel Budapest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing