We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #107 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 24 November 2011

Unfortunately I was sick at this stage of our holidays. The staff were all very helpful and had great english. They were able to help me read the pharmaceuticals I purchased (They were in Hungarian) On top of that the breakfast was lovely and the rooms were really clean and well presented. A great stay overall.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

645 - 651 of 1,424 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2011

In a side street to one of the main circular roads in Budapest, 5 min walk to Nyugati Station the location is ok. Most impressed by service and cleanliness, less impressed by the outside. But then again, It's better to look out from it than have to look at it.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner yards filters some of the Budapest city noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krilon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

We found this an excellent hotel. The staff were all very friendly, the room had everything we needed, the breakfast was very good and the hotel was very clean. On our first night I was having a shower before going out for a meal when the shower fitting broke. We mentioned this when we went past the reception desk on our way out. When we returned back later in the evening we were very impressed to find the shower fitting had been replaced. very quick and good service.We would return to this hotel if we went to Budapest again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Excellent location, 3 minutes from main line station, metro and bus but in a quiet street. Clean, modern facilities, helpful friendly staff. Good buffet breakfast with plentiful amount and selection, constantly topped up by efficient staff. Particularly enjoyed the ability to make your own filter coffee. The small bar is available all day until late and prices were not exhorbitant.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue&Paul-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

was a great hotel to stay in had a very warm welcome easy to check in great rooms very comfortable and the staff were really nice especially andrew on the bar and a guy with a shaved head at reception no need to take a l;aptop had a really good internet on tv which was really cheap £2 a day easy to get ewverywhere highly reccomend great value for the money

Room Tip: ask for one not at the front as sirens can be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank antony h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Hotel Marmara is so nondescript from the outside that we walked right past it the first night as we returned from dinner. It's pretty inside with an Ottoman decor. Believe what you read about the beds. They were like concrete slabs to me but the other four in my group didn't mind them at all. There's a full size shower/tub but the rest of the bathroom is cramped (but functional). There was a heat wave during our visit at the end of September (80s) and the A/C worked well. Breakfast is good and varied. The coffee comes from a machine and is just okay. They do run out of food and dishes because of the crowds but the staff worked quickly to refill everything and clean tables as fast as possible.

The desk staff spoke English. The front desk clerk wasn't always friendly but in the mornings and evenings, there was always another staff member hanging out in the lobby and they were more interested in talking to guests. It's a great location with mini-markets, ATMs, coffeeshops and restaurants close by. Very safe at night. We saw many women walking alone in the side streets after dark. It's on a quiet street plus we had a room facing an interior courtyard so there was no noise at night. The room is small and you will have to climb over your suitcase but it was clean and pretty.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bonnie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My partner and I stayed in Budapest for four nights at the Marmara and it proved an ideal location for sight seeing.We were on a B&B basis , the bed being very comfy and th breakfast more than adequate,though the eggs and bacon could have been a little hotter.
The staff are very polite and efficient.
f you enjoy a cuppa in your room you'll have to pack a few t-bags and sugar as the hotel doesn't provide any.(We got milk from the breakfast table)
All in all we enjoyed the Marmara and beautiful Budapest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photoman698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District V / Inner City
The Three Corners Hotel Art
The Three Corners Hotel Art
#47 of 336 in Budapest
759 reviews
NH Budapest City
#75 of 336 in Budapest
1,534 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#50 of 336 in Budapest
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 336 in Budapest
1,503 reviews
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#52 of 336 in Budapest
1,201 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#87 of 336 in Budapest
1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#77 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range: £42 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing