We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy in Budapest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marmara Hotel Budapest

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Ranked #101 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
cheshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy in Budapest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

The Marmara lived up to its description on the website with smart modern decor with an eastern theme. large bedroom we stayed in a superior room bed was very firm OK for me but my daughter found it too hard. kettle in room but you have to buy tea coffee etc so take your own , free safe brilliant !mini bar reasonably priced Continental breakfast was tasty with the best scrambled eggs I have had at a buffet breakfast. The staff are friendly and polite and happy to help. The hotel has a small bar area we had a cocktail on the last night of our stay but it was a bit of a dissapointment think the bar staff need a few lessons in making a good cocktail. The hotel is down a side street a short walk to the Parliament buildings Metro and St Stephens Basillica I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms are very hot even with heating turned down glad we had tiny balcony as we had to sleep with do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 17Patc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,292 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    632
    253
    65
    35
See reviews for
129
710
61
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013 via mobile

We booked this 3 night stay as a cheap city break. It was excellent value and we both enjoyed the breakfast.
Staff were very helpful and welcoming.
Only fault would be that coffee was provided in the room but no milk.
The hotel was very close to some lovely restaurants and the metro station.
Overall we both really enjoyed this stay and would definitely consider this hotel if we were to return.
Note- do not book this hotel expecting 5 star and then complain. Take is as a sound base and you will have a brilliant time as we did. Enjoy :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Thetravellers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milano
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

Beautiful 4 stars hotel, nice and confortable, near the centre of Pest and Buda too. Good to get the public transport. Duna river, which divide Bud with Pest, is less than 10 minute walk. Good and complete breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sifulottdementa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for 4 nights in November. Extremely disappointed with arrogance and dismissive attitude of staff. Two tea bags provided first day, no milk, coffee or teaspoons and we're told that we would have to pay if we required more - never experienced such poor hospitality anywhere else in the world. Breakfast very disorganised with shortage of the basics- cutlery, dishes and condiments and very frustrated guests queuing at the antiquated self serve coffee machine. Very poor quality towels and bed linen and faulty a/c . Couldn't wait to get back to the comfort of our own home. Staff so cold and abrupt.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The hotel is clean and efficiently run, the rooms are compact but all that you need for a city break. The breakfast is fresh and ample, fruit, bread, croissants, eggs, sausages and cereals. It is about 15 mins walk to the centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JO141216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and communal areas. Bathroom all fine too, tiles perfectly clean ! Rooms generally on the smaller side but suitably equipped with everything you need. Modern feel inside the hotel and rooms , like it's been recently refurbished.

Breakfast was ok , ham , cheese, some fruit, breads, croissants. Drinks not great and the water for tea tasted funny and wasn't boiling hot. Orange juice and pineapple juice on offer. Had to ask for cutlery and a tea spoon. Breakfast could do with improving.

Overall perfectly pleasant hotel in centre of Budapest a short walk from the Margaret bridge. Okay Italian nearby is worth a visit for dinner if you're staying here. And the Europa cafe for coffee and cake.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank rockchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Row, Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a Groupon offer as a substitute when our primary hotel was not available on the dates we needed. The front desk was welcoming & helpful during our 3 days there. The front lobby is inviting. We took a shuttle arranged by the hotel from the airport. No problems. The bus, train, & trolley service is such that I think I would try that in the future. We were close to train & trolley stops and within walking distance of much of the "pest" side. We did not use the hop on hop off bus but bought day tickets from the trains. Worked great! We loved Budapest and would stay again at Marmara if the price was right. Breakfast was ok. Room was nice but was inner room with no view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Soho Boutique Hotel
Soho Boutique Hotel
#83 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
NH Budapest City
#70 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Atrium Fashion Hotel
#91 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Carlton Hotel Budapest
Carlton Hotel Budapest
#81 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Hotel Regnum Residence
#68 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marmara Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marmara Hotel Budapest

Property: Marmara Hotel Budapest
Address: Nagy Ignac utca 21, Budapest 1055, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City , Belváros-Lipótváros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Budapest
#72 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Marmara Hotel Budapest 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmara is located in the heart of the city, in the Nagy Ignac Street, and it invites you to the breathtaking world of the Orient. Whether you are visiting for an extended time, for a business trip or just for a weekend, you can find the perfect stay in our hotel. Our hotel rooms amalgamate the harmony, comfort and elegance with the warmth of your home on the road. We offer you 93 single and double rooms, merge-able standard, and superior double rooms with balcony, as well as suites to accommodate your needs. We provide you the most appropriate atmosphere, not only for leisure, but also for undisturbed work purposes as well. The hotel is equipped with easily accessible free wireless Internet connection in the public areas, plus a 24-hour reception is at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Prestigia so you can book your Marmara Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budapest Marmara Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing