We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Cozy Gem!”
other travellers have booked this property
Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living Room
The dining area Living Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
78 reviews
Living Room
The dining area
Living Room
Courtyard entry to Apartment Olive
Living Room
Gated door...
Living Room
Entering Apartment Olive
Living Room
The living room
Inner Courtyard
From the doorway...
Hallways
The 'American kitchen'
Inner Courtyard
Washer and microwave tucked into kitchen...
Inner Courtyard
Looking towards the doorway from the kitchen...
Kitchen
...
Kitchen
Living Room
Kitchen
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
...
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Door to living room from bedroom...
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
The Master Bedroom
The living room from the bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
The Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Street
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Inner Courtyard
The Master Bedroom
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Inner Courtyard
The bedroom, bathroom door at rear, living room on right
...
Glass bricks bring light into the bathroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
The bathroom...
Custom shower
Antique washstand
Bathroom chandelier
City Hall
Hallways
The Master Bedroom
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Budapest, Central Hungary

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 78 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NewMexico...
New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
603 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
“A Cozy Gem!”
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

This is our second stay at one of the BVR vacation rentals and it was another delightful experience. Olive is a cozy little spot, right near City Hall and convenient to all of Budapest's attractions. We spent a week at Olive after 10 days at Max, another BVR property a short distance away, and it has all the joys of Max in a small, sweet setting. John is an incredible host and his local staff are very attentive. This is what every vacation rental experience should be like!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amenities and location
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MN
Reviewed 25 October 2011 for a stay in June 2011

Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kate M
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Olive rocks!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2011 for a stay in August 2011

In August my partner and I spent a week using Apartment Olive as our base for exploring Budapest. Olive is a wonderful oasis between the two worlds of Budapest. Out the back gate is a quiet neighborhood dominated by the city and county halls. The streets are quiet, people walk their dogs, and around the corner at the Cafe Gerloczy, friends chat for hours over snacks and a glass of wine or a cup of coffee. Out the front gate is the glorious, if now somewhat unloved, Parisi Udvar, one of the most beautiful buildings in Budapest, smack in the middle of one of the busiest tourist and restaurant streets in the city. This block alone would give the traveler a good taste of the many faces of Budapest: hip, urban up to date city; struggling, grimy parts working to come back from soviet neglect; and glorious jewels of Budapest's glory days, some restored, some waiting for their turn.

Olive herself is a delight, a cozy little apartment with a much bigger heart. The apartment itself is nicely decorated and very comfortable, but John and Jeanne, your hosts, make it so much more than that. Pastries, coffee, tea, groceries in the fridge. They even left me a birthday gift, John having noticed from my passport that I would have it just as I was leaving Budapest. And Olive's location in an inner courtyard means you can have all the energy, bustle and life that is Budapest at your fingertips, and then close a big wooden door to the courtyard and enjoy the sound of birds chirping. It's a lovely place to take a quiet break from your sightseeing or cafe hopping. And do try the Unicum. They sell tiny bottles of it at the great market hall. If nothing else, the entertainment value of watching your traveling partners taste is worth the price of admission.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and the warm welcome received.
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike, it was great.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Reviewed 14 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Liked best: Homey, clean, well outfitted, superb location
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Tourists
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
14 Sep 2011
We were chagrined to learn of the construction, abruptly and without notice from the building, in mid-July after we had left for an extended stay away. It is, mercifully, just about finished now in mid-September, 2011, as the elevator is fully functional and all that remains to be done appears to be the removal of the scaffolding surrounding it. By October 1 or so I believe they will be fully finished, though perhaps the cleanup will take a little longer.

Before booking, if this is a matter of concern please feel free to ask about the current status of the work. Since we learned of it, we have routinely been informing guests of it before finalizing booking.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ozallan21
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything you read about Olive is true”
Reviewed 12 September 2011 for a stay in September 2011

I booked this apartment after reading about it on Trip Advisor and it measured up to the hype in every way. One of the very best apartments we have stayed in anywhere in the world. Attention to detail is first class and i struggle to find anywhere for improvement. Olive will not disappoint.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and attention to detail
Liked least: Noisy workmen - but only temporary inconvenience
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Reviewed 10 September 2011 for a stay in July 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
NY
Reviewed 3 August 2011 for a stay in May 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing