We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good restaurant in Budapest”
Review of Cafe Bouchon

Cafe Bouchon
Ranked #45 of 3,108 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Terézváros
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant in Budapest”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Had a very nice meal there, the starter of asparagus and serrano ham was light and delicious. We also tried the salmon pancakes and were delighted that it was light and tasty.

Wine in Hungary is excellent and we were not disappointed with recommendation that the waiter provided. The staff were all well informed, polite and helpful.

It was very difficult to decide on a main course so in the end we opted for the suggestion on the menu of trying three dishes and sharing it. it worked out at about 5,500 forints but between two this seemed very good value. We were delighted with our choice. The duck was superb, as was the foie, the pork a little too dry.

We seem to have arrived during rhubarb season, and so we ordered the rhubarb cheesecake. it was the least satisfactory of the dishes, being very heavy and not very rhubarby. I was surprised because the rest of the meal had been so light and tasty. Can only assume that cakes may not be their strong point or that Hungarians have a different view of what a cake should be like.

We had a tokaj to accompany and then tried a further tokaj upon the waiters recommendation.

Living in London, we found the price exceptionally reasonable. We came to try Hungarian cuisine and thats exactly what we got. We were very pleased.

Ambience, well it was full of non Hungarians - most likely tourists but that did not mar the atmosphere. It seemed to be full of appreciative diners.

We walked there and so it was a nice walk down Andrassy Ut. and then up through a restaurant lined street.

Would very much recommend visiting Cafe Bouchon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JThmsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    768
    253
    58
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pasay, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we've had!”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

My family and I had dinner here during our first night in Budapest. Since it was one of the highest rated restaurants near our hotel, we decided to dine here. The restaurant's ambiance was very relaxing. The staff was amazing. We were immediately given a seat despite not having a reservation. They were also very pleasant and helpful, always making sure to answer any questions we had and constantly asking how we were. We weren't able to get the name of our server but he was a big guy who really knew the menu by heart. He gave us stellar recommendations for our meal and made sure everything was perfect. The food was no different in terms of taste. Being very picky eaters, the food we ordered tasted amazing! The hungarian specialties were a new taste for us. We had such a pleasant dining experience that we came back for our last night in the city. Definitely recommending this restaurant to anyone visiting Budapest!

Tip: try their goulash (main course) and ricotta (dessert - Hungarian specialty)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little surprised they were rated # 10 in Budapest”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a very nice meal here. Efficient service and good food. We were givven a free shot of Grapa at the end of the meal. Ambiance was a little lacking, crowded tables and noisy tourists. Not the quiest romantic evvening we had hoped for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this restaurant from the write ups on Trip Advisor and they did not let us down. There were 6 of us on holiday together and so we were able try a good variety of dishes all of which were superb. The owner is absolutely lovely and speaks extremely good English. His waiting staff are also excellent and have a very in-depth knowledge of every dish so were able to explain them to us very well and also recommend suitable wine. We had dinner there on our first evening and enjoyed it so much that returned for lunch on our last day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gadab0utgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very friendly, recommended!”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Dropped in unexpetedly with a group of six. The restaurant was full but the keeper promised a table within an hour which we then got. Food was very good and the the wine recommendations nailed it. Excellent service, recommended!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ExoB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Bouchon also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Cafe Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing