We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best customer service!”
Review of Bell Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bell Apartments
Ranked #19 of 190 Budapest B&B and Inns
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best customer service!”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I visited Budapest on business on 28th July 2012 staying just for weekend. What surprised me was very friendly manner how customers were treated as owners of the hostel sent a taxi to meet me at the airport so I did not have to think about anything. Everything was organized for me!
When I arrived at Bell Hostel & Guesthouse all was wonderful and I can really recommend it to everyone who visits beautiful Budapest. First of all location is impeccable as all main attractions of Hungarian capital are within walking distance – baths, castles and synagogues. Shops, restaurants and metro station are very close too.
Also if you wish to travel to Formula 1 free bus services are very near and you can meet fans also in the hostel.
Quality of rooms is of the highest standard. Beds are wide, bathrooms clean and kitchen facility can provide you with everything you need to prepare quick meal.
You feel like at home as management allow you to feel like at home with being able to live as an ordinary citizen of Budapest and no one can event think that you are guest when you meet neighbours.
Thank you so much for this opportunity to stay!

--
Agris Lauzinieks

Room Tip: Call Mr. Egressy on +36308626727.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    22
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a small hostel on the two top floors in an apartment building. I think this hostel suits travelers who are looking for a central location to stay in Budapest. The hostel itself is very quiet, mainly I would guess because of the consideration of the ordinary residents that also live in the building.

Some noise from the street can be heard throughout the day and night. The building is situated at a big street with quite a lot of traffic passing through, which also has trams that operate on a tight schedule around the clock. I could hear the trams when I was lying in my bed, but I had no problem to sleep anyway.

The hostel is easy to reach from the airport with the public transportation network. One bus and one metro line gets you to the Nyugati metro station, which also is the location of the train station for national and international train connections. I checked out the city in google earth before I left my home country, and that made it even easier to find the location of the Bell Hostel.

The staff was very nice, friendly, cheerful, welcoming and helpful. It was a pleasure to arrive and get all this attention and help with tips of what to see and where to find it. The very nice woman that received me took her time to help me without any rush at all. I have stayed in hostels all over the world, and I do not think that I have ever felt welcomed to this degree anywhere else. It was a really good start on my four nights stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Stayed here after a conference at the Corinthia. This is a gem of a place. I had a room facing the central courtyard, so the room was quiet. Friendly and helpful. Brilliant value for money. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Varese, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
419 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Extremely well located, new furniture, clean. Small but well equipped. Quiet. An extremely nice play to stay in Budapest, which I would definitively chose again. The staff is very helpful and nice. Only lacking is reception service (can be reached by mail or phone).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavideP76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dsa
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Its a well located hostel located on a 4th floor of a building in the st.istvan körut, one of budapests mainstreets. Staff was effective and friendly. Rooms are spacious,clean and well decorated. But as you have to keep the windows closed it gets very hot during the day, and air conditioning costs extra. My room (the green one) headed to the street, which meant a lot of noise during the night, so i had to keep the windows closed also at night. Be careful as there might be some weird drunk or crazy people around late at night.
Price is a bit high for budapest, but after all it was ok!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fasfsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

The Bell Hostel is conveniently located near the Nyugati pályaudvar train station on the eastern "Pest" side of Budapest. From Budapest airport, trains run consistently to Nyugati station. For the equivalent of a couple of dollars per person, you should be able to reach your room from the airport in less than an hour.

The hostel is located on the 4th floor of a mixed-use building which houses some businesses, the hostel, and residential apartments. The hostel itself is two different levels and the 5 or 6 rooms overlook both the inner courtyard of the building, and the main street along which you enter the property. There is a small elevator which runs adjacent to the staircase for those with heavy luggage.

As others have described the hostel office is open only limited hours each day, but the owners or employees are very responsive if you call or email at any point during your stay. The property offers simple ammenities - two kitchens with everything you need to store or prepare food, two shared bathrooms, five or six bedrooms, a main lounge, and an outdoor balcony. During our stay the hostel was not very full, so there was no competition for bathrooms and the overall property was immaculately clean. The beds were foam mattresses, and pillows and towels were provided. Free wi-fi was available more or less throughout the whole property although some of the corners in our room had relatively poor reception. One small drawback was that the property still doesn't seem to offer hair dryers - there was one our first day, but it appears to have belonged to another guest because it disappeared after that first day.

The staff will give you a good overview of Budapest, and can get you set up with Hop-on-Hop-off bus tickets, or a Budapest pass. We didn't use either of these services because we found walking around the city to be a generally pleasant experience. The staff recommended excellent restaurants for breakfast and dinner at very reasonable prices.

If you're looking for luxury you're probably better off in a hotel than staying at Bell Hostel, but for a clean, well-located room in Budapest you can't go wrong with this property.

Room Tip: With temperatures in the 70's or 80's (F), we found that our courtyard facing room stayed ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just back form six night in Budapest. We stayed in the" little apartment" at the bell hostel. The apartment is small but would be great for a couple. Perfect location for visit.Very clean and great base. Very close to train, metro, tram and bus. Loved the 2 tram along the Danube to the city centre. The owner is full of information and very helpful. Fantastic City.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
City Hotel Ring
#125 of 334 in Budapest
395 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 334 in Budapest
1,358 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Budapest City
#73 of 334 in Budapest
1,413 reviews
District V / Inner City
Parliament Penthouse Budapest B&B
Kapital Inn
#1 of 190 in Budapest
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Apartments

Property: Bell Apartments
Address: Szent Istvan korut 24., Budapest 1137, Hungary (Formerly Bell Hostel & Apartments)
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bell Apartments 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bell Apartments Budapest is a family-run business. We offer what we would also expect during our holiday: good located, clean, comfortable, quality accommodation and reliable advices from locals. Our mission is simple: have satisfied and returning guests. Bell Apartments' portfolio include selected properties in different parts of the city. Whether you are looking for a budget apartment, a romantic place, a spacious flat for family or groups, we believe you will find the suitable accommodation here. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing