We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable and colourful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa De La Musica Hostel
Ranked #44 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitable and colourful”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Good place within walking distance of the city center and public transport. Downside is the sometimes unnecessary noises made in the hostel by what seems to be a dancing school and some soundchecks of the cafe downstairs. Common room can be a bit small when the hostel's full of people and the bar closes quite early. Also, the mattresses are quite thin and uncomfortable. The staff is friendly though and it's overall an inviting and colorful place.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArjunSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    93
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
1
49
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Great place if you are into party hostels! Location is excellent, very close to two metro stations and withing walking distance of all the attractions. Staff was nice and very resourceful. However, be aware that it might be a little too noisy at night. We arrived on a very hot summer weekend. There was no AC, and the little fan in the room did not really work. This was just a minor incovenience though - might not be a big deal during the fall/winter. Cleanliness was ok, but there was one shower that could use a renovation. All in all, good value for the price :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bunburina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kula, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

The hostel is really nice. It is near the center, on walkable distance, which is great. They give you clean sheets and towels for free, which I appreciated a lot, as i didn't have any with me. We have had a nice time there, met many ppl. There is caffee for guests open until 10pm and during hot days you can chill out in the plastic swimming pool. When you check in, you will get a coupon for free welcome drink - palinko (hungarian traditional drink).

However, there are some cons for this hostel. It is situated on second and third floor, which have many many stairs, as it is an old building, so floors are really high. So if you are a girl going with a suitcase, you will have a lot of fun.... Second potential drawback - there is no many bathrooms. I say potential drawback, as although there was 1 bathroom per floor, it was not frequently occupied during our stay. But others, might not be that lucky :)

All in all, i am very satisfied with this hostel and hospitality of the staff. You will not regret staying there

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zule87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Casa de la Musica is extraordinary place! I would recommend this hostel to everyone. Rooms are nice and clean, staff is friendly and hostel`s mood is quite great!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LukaHlisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Very good hostel price/quality
Very welcoming staff and good ambiance.

Securated by lockers and access card during the night.
Very clean (rooms, sheets, bathrooms..)
Cheap food and drinks at the bar

We highly recommend this hostel, we just stayed 2 nights but we really would like to go back there :)

If you have the opportunity, don't hesitate

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin9192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

This hostel is one the best hostels I've stayed in, and I've been traveling the globe for 9 months as of writing this review. The staff is super friendly and very knowledgeable. I had friends who were supposed to stay in another hostel and that fell through last minute due to poor service the staff at Casa De La Musica was quick to help me out and put my friends up. If I'm ever back in Budapest, I'll definitely be staying here.

Bullet Points
-Great internet
-Awesome and affordable bar
-Free coffee!
-Nice kitchen
-Free maps and great advice by staff
-Safe

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2012

colourful, bohemian, friendly, cannot fault this place

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#53 of 641 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Musica Hostel

Property: Casa De La Musica Hostel
Address: Vas utca 16., Budapest 1211, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa De La Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90-bed hostel in the heart of Budapest with 4/6/8/10/12-bed dormitories, female-only rooms and private rooms, all rooms with shared bathrooms. Free WIFI, free coffee & tea, fully equipped kitchen, summer bar and pool, bike rent & tours, free maps, free linen, no curfew or lock-out! Discounts for groups! We are a few steps away from sightseeing hot spots, cultural monuments, ruin bars and party places! The Casa is designed for the curious traveler, come and explore Budapest while staying at an awesome colorful hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa De La Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing