We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like hotel than hostel, too many rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa De La Musica Hostel
Ranked #44 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
KL, Malaysia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“More like hotel than hostel, too many rooms!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is like a factory block of endless passage way and rooms after rooms after rooms. Too many people and it can feel abit too 'mass' like a hotel. I prefer the dorm environment whereby you know the faces and see them regularly. Having said that, staff is helpful and resourceful though the bed and pillows ain't that great. They do have pillows and great security so that's a plus point. I only stayed one night but glad to be out of it - just too many people and too many rooms for my liking and of course the price went up sky high because it was Sziget festival and I wasn't even there for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielwongkaifai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BudapestCasa, Public Relations Manager at Casa De La Musica Hostel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Casa Guest!
We are sorry that the crowd wasn't ideal for you, you came on the busiest days of the year when the whole city goes crazy for Sziget Festival! We do raise our prices during these days but not up to the sky, only a couple of Euros per night. :) For example dorm beds go from 9EUR to 14 EUR, but other than this one week and the New Year's week, we stay with low prices all year! So we encourage you to come back to us when it's a quieter time, we hope to see you again!

Best regards,
The Casa Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    94
    32
    8
    7
See reviews for
1
50
53
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hostel has a relaxed atmosphere which is great for travelers. The rooms were clean and spacious, the showers worked well and lockers were provided (lock required). The kitchen facilities were good and the coffee that was provided was great! The hostel is in a great location; the hostel is within walking distance of Keleti train station as well as the city centre (15/20 mins for both). It is also close to supermarkets and shops and some popular bars and clubs. Staff were welcoming and happy to help. Would have been good to have had a happy hour at the bar, but overall this is a really good hostel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Hostel is easy to find. Easily reachable from the airport with public transportation and from the main bus station. Metro stop 800m away from the hostel. Nice staff. 24 hours reception always appreciable. Good location for night life, visits, etc. Clean showers and clean rooms. The terrace and the hostel bars are highly appreciated, the kitchen is well equipped and the meal, drinks prices are reasonable. The supermarket is two steps away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulineMI6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

6 of us stayed 2 nights in a lovely 10 bed room. There was 1 bathroom in the room, as well as 2 more of each down the corridor which was enough, minimal waiting involved. The whole hostel was very clean, when the light went out in our bathroom someone came and fixed it for us immediately. The hostel staff were all very friendly and helpful, happy to recommend bars etc to us as well as sell us tickets for the Szechenyi baths. A great bar, with a really nice atmosphere on the outdoor terrace which also had a decent sized paddling pool - perfect for the hot weather. We had the hot breakfast there one morning which was fantastic and not too badly priced. The location wasn't too bad, quite near lots of the pubs and clubs, as well as a nearby Tesco and Spar for shopping.
We were concerned as there was only one kitchen area for the whole hostel but we never had to wait and it was extremely well equipped, biggest issue was fitting things into the fridge!
There were two small fans in the room but the whole hostel is desperately in need of aircon, temperatures were up to 37 degrees and it was horribly hot every night, we slept with windows and doors open which of course made our rooms quite insecty. A shame as that ruined what was really a lovely stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

This hostel was brilliant for our backpacking trip. Perfect location, not too far from anywhere. The staff were really helpful and good facilities were provided (especially the swimming pool)! Will be back.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Best hostel in Budapest for sure! Great breakfast and dinner. Too bad everyday is hamburger day. Staff is AMAZING! Really help full and charming. Rooms are clean, and lockers are available. Swimming pool is great and clean. Kitchen, toilets, showers are really good. Water in shower is a bit bipolar...We stayed here for 9 nights in a 16 person room and had an amazing experience in the hostel and in Budapest.

Dessy & Denny

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denny_Dessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 333 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Terézváros
Friends Hostel Budapest
Friends Hostel Budapest
#27 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Maverick City Lodge
Maverick City Lodge
#5 of 641 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
Marco Polo Top Ho(s)tel
#53 of 641 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Musica Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Musica Hostel

Property: Casa De La Musica Hostel
Address: Vas utca 16., Budapest 1211, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 641 Speciality Lodging in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa De La Musica Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 90-bed hostel in the heart of Budapest with 4/6/8/10/12-bed dormitories, female-only rooms and private rooms, all rooms with shared bathrooms. Free WIFI, free coffee & tea, fully equipped kitchen, summer bar and pool, bike rent & tours, free maps, free linen, no curfew or lock-out! Discounts for groups! We are a few steps away from sightseeing hot spots, cultural monuments, ruin bars and party places! The Casa is designed for the curious traveler, come and explore Budapest while staying at an awesome colorful hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa De La Musica Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing