We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting small lovely hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very interesting small lovely hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We stay here just for one night. Rooms are clean and have everything you need: TV, condition, refrigerator.
Chesscom is situated near metro. It takes 15 minutes to go to center.
Service is perfect. We would like to locate here once again when we will in Budapest.
I think reviews about thief and robbering it is not true or these people had lost money and gadgets.

Helpful?
2 Thank alebedynets
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    156
    74
    14
    2
See reviews for
64
120
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed there for one night,the staff were very friendly the room was not so big but very clean,when i left the hotel early morning to catch my flight i was given a bag with breakfast inside, i will use it again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FIN
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

I choosed Hotel Chesscom because its location; it's very close to the metro/bus station Kõbánya-Kispest. In the end I desided to use the airport shuttle service and booked that straight from the hotel (e-mail, because the link on the website wasn't working?) and they answered me very quickly! The deal was much cheaper (1250ft) than booking Airport shuttle transfer from the company's own website (3200ft), so here's a tip for you :) Checking in was easy and very quick, because I had paid my room already.

The corridor had a broken lamp, so I had to use a flashlight from my phone to get the key on the keyhole. I had one room with two beds with shared bathroom. The room and the bathroom were clean, the bed sheets felt very clean :) One towel was pretty worn out but I had few spare ones. In the room was a spacious wardrobe with a safety box, table with a chair, flat TV with english speaking channels, small fridge, air conditioning, WiFi, and two night tables. From the window the view was not that nice, but the window was new and kept the noise outside, but instead you can easily hear the noises from the corridors or next room. The rooms are not the most updated ones but will do for this price!

The staff spoke very good english, and even though I hadn't paid for breakfast before it was possible to eat there for only 1000 ft or 4 €. They had variety of joghurts, cheeses, ham, scrambled eggs, pecon, sausages, eggs, some fruits and cereals... everything you can find from much more higher rated hotels as well! It was raining when I spent my night there, but despite the grey wheather I got a nice feeling from Budapest, thanks for this hotel and it's smiling staff :) Next time, I know where I'm going to stay !

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Avo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I've stayed at Hotel Chesscom on two occasions; once just for two nights, before catching an early morning flight from Liszt Ferenc (Ferihegy) Airport, located nearby, and on a second occasion during a week-long summer vacation in Budapest. During my second stay, I got a comfortable, air conditioned room on the top floor of the hotel, with a relatively spacious, clean and modern bathroom. The room had cable television, a mini-fridge (which was really convenient for storing bottled water, soft drinks and fruit) and intermittent wireless internet access. Unfortunately, their free internet access was unreliable. During my week-long stay, it was down on three occasions, as was the wired internet access available using the public computer terminal in the hotel's lobby. I had chosen Chesscom specifically because it was well-priced and advertised wireless internet access in the rooms, so this was rather disappointing.

The hotel's receptionists are generally efficient in providing you with basic service, but they do seem somewhat indifferent to visitors with any special requests, questions or concerns. Don't expect them to go out of their way.

Hotel Chesscom provides a free continental breakfast with most room reservations and packages. As is customary in this part of Europe, breakfast includes a selection of cold cuts, cheese, tomatoes, yellow peppers, fresh rolls and bread, nutella, jam and cereal. They also had a couple of hot options (sausages and scambled eggs), but I did not try these. Hotel Chesscom's breakfast is certainly more than adequate and better than the free continental breakfasts offered by most North American hotel chains. The only drawback is their "juice"--which is just a sweet, artificial drink made from powder or syrup.

The hotel's location just one block away from the Kőbánya-Kispest metro terminal means that it generally takes under 20 minutes to reach downtown Budapest using public transit. But if you are planning on partying late into the night in downtown Budapest, this hotel is not for you. The metro stops running a few minutes before midnight and at that point, your only real, remaining option is taking a taxi, for which you can expect to pay the equivalent of around $20.

The hotel is also a block away from the Köki Terminál mall, which is a standard, boring indoor shopping centre. As a visitor, you might find their food court useful, if you are looking for a quick meal. They do also have a Tesco, which is convenient when it comes to buying bottled water, soft drinks, fruits or snacks during your stay.

The hotel is surrounded by grey, communist era apartment blocks, and lower-end residential side-streets. The only sit-down restaurant in this working class neighbourhood is a family-run Transylvanian restaurant located right around the corner from the hotel, called Bújdosó Székely. They offer traditional Hungarian, Transylvanian and Romanian dishes at very reasonable prices. They also have live Hungarian nostalgic pop music during dinner on weekends, which is the only instance of entertainment or liveliness that you can expect from what is otherwise a dull, very drab low-income suburb.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mackenzie1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graz, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

I can't really say anything against this hotel. the location is very good especially for people who continue traveling by plane. The airport isn't far away from the airport and the hotel offers also a shuttle service for 1250HuF (4-5€). The stuff was really friendly and helped me with everything I needed. I can warmly recommend this hotel and I will also come back again as soon as I visit Budapest again ;)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nibo1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellesmere Port, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

The location of the hotel is excellent. When you book you can ask them about their 5 Euro bargain transfer; it is well worth it, considering that you are the first to be dropped off.

Accommodation
The rooms are not luxurious, but you get a safety box,a fridge an LCD TV and a desk. If you do not want to share your bathroom with anyone else call the hotel as these are issued when they are fully booked. Not a lot of disturbance but can cause inconvenience. Rooms 18. 19 are the rooms to avoid; these have shared bathrooms. Not sure about other floors.

Staff:
Whenever I asked the receptionist for something they were very helpful. Breakfast is good, self-service but you can get a nice espresso in the morning included. At night staff is not around a lot, I used to take my key with me when I just popped out to avoid waiting.

Cleaniness
The rooms are clean and the lady is very thorough. Towels changed when you put them on the floor, No dust flying about which is good as I have asthma.

Bar
Not much to say about the bar; the prices are great but not many guests use it. I just had an Unicum for my stomach and noticed that the bottle was sitting on the shelf for a long time without being used. It didn't bother me, it doesn't go off.

Area
If you walk right from the hotel you find a great little swimming pool and a non-stop shop. There is a huge shopping centre, Metro and train.

Room Tip: Ask the reception before you arrive if you will have your own bathroom to avoid disappointment.. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

We had a twin room on the 5th floor and stayed for 4 nights. The room was clean, tidy and heated and the beds were comfortable. The shared bathroom was very clean and we only had to share with one other room which was excellent. The only downside was the basin tap in the bathroom had hardly any water coming out of it which was very annoying. The walls were a bit thin, so you could sometimes hear the other guests, but luckily you can't hear any noise from the traffic. The hotel is extremely easy to find and right across a massive shopping centre with links to the airport and the city. Staff were lovely and I really enjoyed my stay! Absolutely great value and perfect for the budget-concious traveller! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sophie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#110 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#115 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#45 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Villa Korall
#140 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#107 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Property: Hotel Chesscom
Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing