We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“noisy but good price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Kutná Hora, Stredocesky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“noisy but good price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

great location for a trip to centre of Budapest, its 3min to metro station and shopping centre. Parking for free and good value ! Staff was very helpful and kind. We shared batrhroom with next room, but everything was good - always clean. Maybe its quite noisy at night because hotel is near big crossroads.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiiiiiiiinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Dear Katinka,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with the room and you found the staff helpful and kind. Also that you made use of our parking.. Unfortunately we can not do anything about the roads (which is a shame!).

We look forward to seeing You again!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    156
    74
    14
    2
See reviews for
64
120
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is little bit "dusty" but it's located near metro station and a biiiig mall, it is quite clean, breakfast is really amazing and price is more than fair. There is also a big parking lot behind hotel. Really recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arbajram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

We arrived at Hotel Chesscom fairly late on a Saturday night and the staff we great at making us feel relaxed and at home. I had made a mistake with the booking, and the staff were very expedient at dealing with it, and managed to get us a double room for the next night, and a triple for the night we arrived. There was zero fuss and the issue was sorted very quickly.

The location isn't in the centre of Budapest, but the transport links here are brilliant. We did have a bit of confusion when we arrived at where the hotel was but this was quickly sorted. The M3 Metro line runs frequently with the underground going into the centre at least every 10 minutes. For us the location was great because parts of Budapest were a bit too hectic for our liking. The area is safe, despite what some reviews have said, and we experienced no problems whatsoever. There are some homeless people that hang around the KOKI Terminal, a few may ask you for money but will leave you alone and are not violent when you say no. Having said this there seem to be a lot of homeless in most areas of Budapest we visited, and there are certainly no more around the location of the Chesscom than other areas.

The rooms were clean, and basic; for the price you pay to stay you cannot expect much more. The building is a little care worn, but clean, and for us the slightly battered appearance of the Chesscom added to its charm for us. The furniture in the rooms is basic, but functional and the beds were very comfortable and we slept very well.

If you are on a budget, and want a nice budget hotel for your exploration of Budapest, look no further. It has a fantastic team of staff who are so helpful and kind, and the location is ideally inbetween the airport and the centre. A charming place full of Eastern European character!

Room Tip: To find the hotel when you get off the 200E, head through the KOKI terminal shopping centre (away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angemapange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is located very convenient. In 5 mins walk from the airport bus stop, which runs from 4.05 am till 11 pm. It was really essential for me because I had an early morning flight.
Also it is close to metro stop, from where you can reach city center in less than 30 mins. The shopping mall with Tesco store is also in 5 mins walk. There is a fridge in the room hence you can keep there the food.
The room was tiny, but clean and tidy. Staff was really helpful. reception is 24 hrs.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
96 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Handily situated just a few minutes from the terminus of the 200E bus from the airport, it is easy to get into the city centre from the bus/metro station less than 5 minutes walk away. Very good value rooms and the staff are very helpful and pleasant. However, the air conditioning in our room did not work and because of the very noisy street outside we had to keep the windows shut which made for a very stuffy night. Breakfasts were plentiful with a wide range of food laid on in the continental style. Would certainly stay again - and hope that the air conditioning is working!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the houses at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank totallyuntamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

Having stayed at the Chesscom Hotel on numerous occasions now, it is ideally located for Kobana Kispet Metro and getting to Nepliget Bus Station for onward travel to Lake Balaton and the likes. It's a small hotel but it's friendly, clean and value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper then ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lesley3088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Chesscom is great budget accommodation.It was perfect for us as we had hired a van to explore Hungary, but did not want to take it into the middle of Budapest. Located 10 minutes drive from the airport, but also a quick 10 minute whizz into Budapest central.on the M3 Metro. It is central to everything, with a big Tesco/mall directly across the road if you need supplies. Rooms are basic and a bit small, but clean and tidy and excellent value for money. Great to have breakfast available and with lots of variety, even for a gluten intolerant traveller.The staff at Chesscom were extemely helpful and could not do enough to assist us with our trip. Thanks so much to everyone there!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hillmumma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#109 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#114 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#96 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#44 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
Villa Korall
#137 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Ibis Budapest Aero
#107 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Property: Hotel Chesscom
Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing