We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average cheap hotel”
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #107 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The hotel is located close to the metro station and bus interchange at the airport and the mall. Front desk friendly and helpful. Room (27) small but clean. Ideal to get some sleep. Shared bathroom with one other room - clean. Adequate price for the quality. Hotel to command especially for people who have to get up in the morning to the airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPopiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear JPopiel,

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that you found our hotel good value, clean and that our staff were friendly. We look forward to welcoming You here again. Kind Regards, Ms Andrea Pálfi, Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 5 February 2014

+++ For a young couple like us, Hotel Chesscom was awesome. We just visited Budapest for a few days and only spent our evenings at the hotel. Staff: Everybody is very helpfull and very friendly. Not one question is too much. English is not a a problem at all. The staff speaks it fluently Room: It was a large room for 2 persons. We had a nice balcony, which was shared with the room beside us. The room was very clean aswell. We had daily changes of towels and sheets. Breakfast: It was one of the better breakfasts I had in small Hotels. Not luxurious, but it was good. Keep in mind that tastes and prospectives about a breakfast can differ a lot ;) Value for Money: We were very sattisfied. We only paid €114 for 2 persons, for 4 nights. We got a lot in return for this very low price. Location: Great Location! It's only a 5 minute walk to the terminal of the bus and subway. Bus 200E brings you to the airport. If you take subway 3 (the blue line) it will only take you 15minutes to reach the city centre. Short, We can recommend Hotel Chesscom for sure. Especially when you are planning a last-minute citytrip to Budapest and do not want to spend a lot of money for accomodation.

--- The hallways were a bit noisy. But for a couple our age, that didn't matter a lot. Maybe it is something to check first when travelling with little kids.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pieraerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Pieraerts,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post this review and share your experiences and opinion with us and other travellers. I was delighted to read that you have found the hotel spotless clean and well equipped, the location great and our team helpful. We look forward to welcoming You here again soon! Sincerely, Ms Andrea Pálfi, Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Hotel Chesscom was about 2 blocks from the metro stop and a major shopping center (with a supermarket). You could see the hotel from the shopping center. So it was easy to get to all of the sights by metro (last stop on the M3 metro line), even though the hotel was a distance from the sights. The room was small but adequate. The breakfast was OK and plentiful, but unvaried from day to day. Staff were pleasant, but did not appear to be used to helping tourists with directions to sights.
Hotel Chesscom - http://www.hotelchesscom.hu/
Phone +3612801713
Email sales@hotelchesscom.hu

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank james_tesol_teacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us.
I was pleased that you had a good experience overall. I am sorry to read that there were a few elements which needed attention during your stay.

Thank you once again for your review and we hope that you might be back sometime in the future to see the improvements that we plan to make.

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The location was great. The rooms were very functional and the service very good -both the reception and breakfast were on good standard. If you need any information,ask Gabor in the reception! I recommend both Budapest and hotel chesscom to anyone who wants to visit a wonderful European capital with less money than expected.

Thank lnerafale
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Inerafale,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for mentioning how helpful Gábor was at reception. We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional staff and it is always important that they are recognised for their hard work and effort.

We look forward to welcoming You again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

Recommended for those who trevel via airport. Bery close to big shop center, metro and the bus stop ( bus goes directly to the airport ). To the city centre very reasy to reach by metro. Rooms are quite big and clean. Nothing spesial , however everything you need you can find in the room. In general I liked this hotel and will stay next time when I come to Budapest.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Olga T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Olga,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post this feedback on Trip Advisor. I am delighted to read that in general You liked our hotel and You will stay with us next time as well when You come to Hungary.

We look forward to welcoming You again!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

great location for a trip to centre of Budapest, its 3min to metro station and shopping centre. Parking for free and good value ! Staff was very helpful and kind. We shared batrhroom with next room, but everything was good - always clean. Maybe its quite noisy at night because hotel is near big crossroads.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katiiiiiiiinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

Dear Katinka,

Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you were pleased with the room and you found the staff helpful and kind. Also that you made use of our parking.. Unfortunately we can not do anything about the roads (which is a shame!).

We look forward to seeing You again!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The hotel is little bit "dusty" but it's located near metro station and a biiiig mall, it is quite clean, breakfast is really amazing and price is more than fair. There is also a big parking lot behind hotel. Really recommended

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arbajram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#130 of 336 in Budapest
709 reviews
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#98 of 336 in Budapest
210 reviews
Central Hotel 21
#68 of 336 in Budapest
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pension Helios
#121 of 336 in Budapest
344 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 336 in Budapest
672 reviews
Benczur Hotel
#163 of 336 in Budapest
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £21 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing