We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good stay”
Review of Hotel Chesscom

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Chesscom
Ranked #105 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pretty good stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I had traveled for about 8 hours by plane and had a 13 hour layover in Brussels before arriving in Budapest so as you can imagine I was very tired. The bed was quite comfortable and I had a good rest that night. The room was a bit warm but if you just open the window it is fine. The bathroom was nice and the room was pretty clean. The breakfast was included and was very tastey. If you are not looking for luxury and just need a place to sleep I recommend it. It is close to the airport but maybe a bit further from the main attractions in budapest but the metro is closeby so it is no big problem. I enjoyed my stay and have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Roxana C,

Thank you for your nice review. I am delighted to know that you had a fabulous stay in our hotel and you had no complaints whatsoever! :) Thank you for mentioning how tasty the breakfast was.

We look forward to seeing You again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    165
    78
    15
    3
See reviews for
69
127
52
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I was looking forward to my stay here this summer and have done alot of travel in budget hotels and hostels in many locations. But alas, this hotel is pretty grim. I must say I am shocked by the good reviews I have seen. I was shown two rooms and rejected the first one, but the second was no better, just bigger and set higher up so maybe it was a quieter spot in the hotel.. I had booked my room in advance for three nights and got there in the evening, so I took the second room that was offered to me and was really not sure if I could bear to stay even one night. I did stay one night and piled up the clean sheets on the top of the bed and slept on top of them.. I left the next morning.

The hotel is close to the airport bus and is cheap and that is probably why people go there. The bed was stained; (there were two in the room with stains all along the frame) The beds are traditional Hungarian-style couches, and they looked ancient) The rug was stained too. Everything was old as the hills. People all over the world just want a good bed, (a clean bed), clean sheets, and a good shower for a stay at any hotel. It does not have to be fancy.. This hotel did not have anything to recommend it except the restaurant next door.

Finally, the most interesting part. How do owners who put nothing into the upkeep of their hotel manage to get such nice staff?? During my stay I met only women on the staff. Rita, at the front desk was soft-spoken, lovely and polite and did what she could to please and help. Her English is also very good. I really appreciated all these things immensely and hope she will find a place, and a job that is worthy of her talents and people skills. Veronica was also quite helpful. The cleaning staff obviously tries their best. The sheets were clean and the toilet and bathroom had been cleaned well. But the general condition is quite poor, and the owner should look it over and put some cash into the hotel, it could be a good place but it is now more like a poor hostel. There is growing competition in this area with some new local hotels. I suggest the owner have a long hard look at the place......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Homeawayfromhomestay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Homeawayfromhomestay,

Thank you for your comments, although we are disappointed and sorry that your experience with us was not as you expected. We are a traditional budget hotel outside the city center and close to the airport. Beds should always be without stain and I apologise if this was not the case. We are constantly maintaining our rooms and facilities.
Thank you for mentioning how helpful and friendly Rita and Veronika were in the reception. We pride ourselves on our friendly and professional staff and it is always important that they are recognised for their hard work and effort.

I understand that your experience here at Hotel Chesscom was not entirely to your satisfaction, but that there were some positive comments that you made about us.
Therefore we hope that perhaps you might return to us again and that we could live up to your expectations on another occasion.

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my partner and our 2 dogs for just 1 night. Everything at this hotel is as it should be - the rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable and with good linen, the staff is helpful, the location is great - right next to a metro station (the last stop of blue line) and a large shopping mall, which makes for a very convenient budget stay. The metro downtown takes some 20 minutes and costs around 1 EUR one way. There is free parking at the hotel grounds and we had air-con, a fridge and a TV in the room, non of which we tried. My only complaint is that the hotel is next to a busy road where trucks go all night long and the windows, although they help a lot, don't manage to hold all the noise away. My partner slept through it without problems, I had to use ear-plugs and a sleeping mask (quite a lot of light gets from the street through the curtains and blinds). For those interested, the price for a dog was 10 EUR per dog per night.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to budget travellers and families who do not need any luxurious extras but want all the necessities in place.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Leinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Leinka,

Thank you for sharing your opinion and experience of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you had such a great time in our hotel and you were satisfied with the location, cleaning, reception staff and with the hotel room. I am sorry to hear that you couldn't sleep well. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard. Those rooms are more quiet than the ones at the front side. On your next stay please ask for a room at the back side and we will do our best to allocate you in a nice and quiet room.

I do hope we will see You again in the near future!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runcorn
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

At fist I was disappointed because I've only ever experienced 4/5 star hotels in Britain. I soon came to realise it had everything we needed! Air con worked a treat, beds were comfy, pillows could have done with more filling but were okay, didn't buy breakfast at the hotel as it looked mediocre but there's a Tesco right by it and the local restaurants are delish! The stay was well organised and staff were brilliant, helped every time I had a question. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DBellfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear DBellfield,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your recent stay with us, we are delighted to know that you have spent a nice stay here and found the hotel clean and comfortable and our team at reception efficient.
I hope next time You will try our breakfast as well. :)

We look forward to seeing You again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The hotel is easy to find. If you take an express bus 200E from airport, you can get to the reception in a half hour. The hotel has not rich interior, but it is very clean. The hotel staff is very polite and helpful. There is a large shop mall, bus stop and edge metro station near the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VladymyrZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear VladymyrZ,

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are happy to know that You found the hotel very clean and good connection by bus and underground .

We will be happy to welcoming You again!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I had a very early flight out to conclude my visit to Budapest and Hungary. I wanted to find a hotel on the Metro which was closer to the airport where I could use shuttle service. My room at Hotel Chesscom was clean and basic. The staff was really good. I didn't have breakfast due to the early departure. Enjoyed the small bar in the lobby before bed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TAS14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear TAS14,

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Glad to hear that You were satisfied with our hotel and You found the location good.

Looking forward to seeing You again in our hotel!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bgd
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel is situated on wider Budapest area.Nearby is located large commercial centre with several shops and a railway -sub. station.Nice , by buildings surrounded parking and standard breakast.Rooms are an average but also not below.You will not be specialy suprised by something during Your stay but You shouldnt be dissapointed too. Good relation money - value.Good for sleep ,eat and go whatever You do next , travel, visit Budapest....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchesscom, Front Office Manager at Hotel Chesscom, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Randja,

Thank you for your comment on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that You liked the hotel and You found it good relation money - value.

We will be happy to welcoming You here again!

Kind Regards,
Ms Andrea Pálfi
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Aventura Boutique Hostel
#96 of 334 in Budapest
192 reviews
Hotel Pension Helios
#111 of 334 in Budapest
336 reviews
Terézváros
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
easyHotel Budapest Oktogon
#129 of 334 in Budapest
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Hotel 21
#58 of 334 in Budapest
584 reviews
District I / Buda
Hotel Charles
Hotel Charles
#46 of 334 in Budapest
582 reviews
Hotel Oswaldo
#192 of 334 in Budapest
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chesscom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chesscom

Property: Hotel Chesscom
Address: Bartok Bela utca 5, Budapest 1191, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Chesscom 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Chesscom is a modern hotel offering simple comfort and great value. It is located at the Kobanya-Kispest station of the main blue-line Metro. The city-centre is easily reachable by Metro, the Airport is only 15 minutes away. Our air-conditioned rooms are fully equipped. We offer free parking on site and free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Chesscom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing