We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for reasonable price”
Review of Restaurant Margitkert - CLOSED

Restaurant Margitkert
Price range: US$1 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Nestled in the foothills of Budapest's Rózsadomb, we have been proudly serving our guests since 1780. The restaurant's walls are covered with pictures of prominent personalities who come to dine on our exceptional Hungarian cuisine. François Mitterand, Tony Curtis, Princess Margaret, Alain Prost, Helmut Kohl, Olof Palme, Francesco Cossiga, Willy Brandt and Václav Havel are only a few of the many who can attest to our hospitality. We offer the best of Hungarian cuisine, great wine selection, friendly service, inside and patio dining and authentic Gypsy music every night. For specials, please visit our website.
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food for reasonable price”
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We have been there after visiting Margits island,as we wanted to try hungarient traditional food. The service was nice,food delicious - all three courses we had,beer and wine ok. There was live gypsy music and they played excellent! You can sit outside in the garden. The bill was really a nice surprise -for the three course meal for two with some wines/beers it costed only about 12000 HUF.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eva649
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Surprisingly welcome open terrace”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Decent and discreet service, very good food, good value for money. Interior is in hungarian rustical style but open terrace area is fantastic and very cosy. Really deserves a small climb from the main street :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hrturist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good food, skillful gypsy music.”
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We went to get authentic Hungarian cuisine and gypsy music. We were pleased with both.
The four-person gypsy band was very good and eager to please.

The cold fruit soup was superb!
So was the catfish builoubaisse.
The duck with cabbage roll was fine, but not exceptional.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ok food for reasonable price, make sure you enjoy loud live gipsy music”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We were a bit disappointed about the house/decor of the restaurant room. Food was okay although not stunning. The atmosphere was a bit odd but that was probably due to the fact that there were only three tables occupied around us. A shame that no more people (especially locals) did not show up on that night. We were not enthusiastic about the live gipsy music played. Since the restaurant was mostly empty, the music happened to be far too loud and the violonist a little bit too insisting to sell out his CD. After having politely declined we however kindly tipped the musicians but we did not get any thank you for this since it was getting a bit late and they were in a hurry to leave.... Did not leave an unforgettable memory.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Donkeyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great entertainment, wonderful food and top quality customer service”
Reviewed 2 March 2011

As I am Hungarian, when it came to choosing a good traditional restaurant to bring my spanish boyfriend to was not easy. I have went through loads of reviews, different options checking all the menus etc and this restaurant stood out for many reasons: the menu is proper authentic Hungarian (which is not as easy to find these days), they have live entertainment each night and the location is good too and of course the fact that it is open since a long time. We went there on a saturday night. the atmosphere was fantastic with the musicians and professinal, friendly service. The decoration of the restaurant and the food was as expected. Proper, traditional Hungarian. we had a great time for a really good price too.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank csucsicsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Margitkert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing