We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the worst.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Margitkert - CLOSED

Restaurant Margitkert
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: European, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled in the foothills of Budapest's Rózsadomb, we have been proudly serving our guests since 1780. The restaurant's walls are covered with pictures of prominent personalities who come to dine on our exceptional Hungarian cuisine. François Mitterand, Tony Curtis, Princess Margaret, Alain Prost, Helmut Kohl, Olof Palme, Francesco Cossiga, Willy Brandt and Václav Havel are only a few of the many who can attest to our hospitality. We offer the best of Hungarian cuisine, great wine selection, friendly service, inside and patio dining and authentic Gypsy music every night. For specials, please visit our website.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the worst.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

Disgusting tourist scum. Bad food arrogant waitress and annoying gipsy musicians. They destroyed our brought birthday cake. They did not fulfil any extra request... The musicians did not let you talk they play in your ears an kept asking for money. I am local and ashamed of this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ddnlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tourist rip-off danger!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is a so called "typical" Hungarian restaurant, but as I Hungarian I would really die of shame if all the restaurants having Hungarian cuisine would be as horrible as this is (they aren't, thank God!).
I could list a few reasons why I don't recommend it: don't bother to reserve a table, they will not keep it in case some tourist group comes in with full pockets! The food is overpriced and quite bad. You could go to a real good place in Budapest enjoying quality dishes with the same price or less. The waiters are not really attentive, they bring you a dish and you have to ask for the cutlery! I had the feeling that there were too few waiters for a busy evening, so not too good management. When asking them what they recommended, they immediately recommended the most expensive dish.
Avoid it from far far away!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ZsuzsaKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just keep away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

One more restaurant targeting any kind of tourists travelling to Budapest. And when you target people that you don't plan to see again in the near future, you can afford bad service and mediocre to bad food.
Tuning the band's instruments once in a while wouldn't be a bad idea also.
Just my opinion after 3 years in Budapest and after visiting several places in this town..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Ilias F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A cosy place for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

On a recent trip to Budapest with my granddaughter, we had lunch at The Margitkert. The food is very acceptable, very Hungarian (Hungarians are great carnivores and the menu reflects this), and the service was impeccable. The prices are very reasonable, and since I reserved online (they have a good website), I received a 10% discount. It is easy to find, located near the Margaret Bridge and Margaret Island, which is a lovely place to go for a stroll after. The restaurant is warm and cosy, with overtones of a German or Swiss stuebli. To add to the 'Germanness' there are photos of recent German chancellors Helmut Schmidt and Helmut Kohl eating there (separately, at different times). There is gypsy music in the evenings but not at lunchtime. I would have gone back if I had had time, but Budapest has so many good restaurants that one has to choose. Well recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Feodor_Dostoevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Hlavni Mesto Praha, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food for reasonable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We have been there after visiting Margits island,as we wanted to try hungarient traditional food. The service was nice,food delicious - all three courses we had,beer and wine ok. There was live gypsy music and they played excellent! You can sit outside in the garden. The bill was really a nice surprise -for the three course meal for two with some wines/beers it costed only about 12000 HUF.

Helpful?
2 Thank Eva649
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Margitkert also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing