We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel change”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #96 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We were supposed to stay in the Carlton Hotel. When we got there we got no answer at the door. Asking people on the street, we were told it was under renovation. No message on phone, no note on door, no notice from Vayama. The Hotel President rescued us, honored our reservation, no extra money. They get all the credit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

351 - 357 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2014

I stayed here for a long weekend, and absolutely loved it. Everything was incredibly clean and new, the staff was super helpful, and you can't beat the location!
Budapest is generally not an expensive city, but we felt like this very nice hotel was an especially good bargain.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

You can walk wherever you want to go in Budapest from this hotel. Its just behind Liberty Square and St Stephens is only two blocks away. The hotel is clean and the beds are very comfortable but its the little things that let it down. Its too hot and the room heating controls don't seem to make a difference. The towels were small and old (some had holes). There is a kettle in the room but you only have plastic cups and stirrers, and only coffee with no milk or creamer. If you've paid the 4 star price the leisure facilities are then an extra cost of 9 euros per person per day which is pretty costly if you just want to sit in the hot tub for half an hour after a day of walking. However, the staff are polite and helpful and the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Porgester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I've stayed in many hotels in Europe and I have to say Hotel President was my most disappointing stay to date. I payed €286 for 2 nights (double room) at the Hotel for New Years eve. My partner and I were told at reception that our room was located in a 'quiet' part of the hotel, which sounded good but when we went to our room we discovered what I would describe as the smallest and most basic double room I have ever come across. Choice of TV channels was abysmal and no extra pillows were available. The ambience of the room in general was extremely poor. Breakfast was very poor. We arrived for breakfast at 09.30hrs and the food was very poor. Finding a clean table with cutlery was not possible and the staff were rude and unhelpful. Checkout is 10am, highly unreasonable!! There were some positives; the hotel was generally clean, the reception staff were helpful and the location of the hotel is very central (a short walk from St. Stephens basilica). I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are told your room is in a 'quiet' part of the hotel beware it may not be up to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kieran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Budapest is an interesting city and if you want to see it this is one of the best hotels to see it from.It is in a quiet, central area of Budapest and you can walk to a number of tourist attractions from it.We used to use the hop on hop off buses a lot when we didn't feel like walking and there is a stop for these buses a short walk from the hotel which came in very handy.The hotel was clean and tidy throughout and the staff were helpful and pleasant.We stayed in a Garden City Room with a mirrored wall and ceiling which wasn't really to my taste but it did give the room an extra sense of space.The only meal we ate there was breakfast which was good and I'm sure the meals in the beautiful rooftop restaurant would have been excellent but we preferred to wander around and try the local bar/restaurants which are in easy reach.To be honest we really didn't do the facility's this lovely hotel has to offer justice as we were only there for a short time and we wanted to see as much of Budapest as possible.The main reason we booked this hotel was for its location and we weren't disappointed, everything else was a bonus.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Good clean basic 4 star hotel...but the location is perfect....you can get around on foot and Danube is 5 minutes walk...The hotel restaurant on the other hand wasn't that great..We ate there just because we were really tired but was a total disappointment.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank evridiki89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We was surprised by very nice calm atmosphere in this hotel. Location was excellent for those who willing to have very active holiday. Will definitely come back to this hotel and town for thermal spa treatment. Special thanks for hotel reception staff, non of our request was missed out.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#39 of 335 in Budapest
4,469 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 335 in Budapest
2,315 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#107 of 335 in Budapest
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#52 of 335 in Budapest
1,199 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#56 of 335 in Budapest
718 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Regency Suites Hotel Budapest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Hold utca 3-5., Budapest 1054, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 335 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £52 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent Istvan Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Vaci utca (Vaci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing