We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, perfect location!”
Review of Hotel President

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel President
Ranked #97 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 4 days and we had a great time. The rooms where great, but small. It was mirrors over the bed and around the bed, quit nice actually, we loved it :) The breakfast was just okay, nothing more. We also tried the spa on the hotel. We had to pay entrance fee to get to the pool area. It should be included, but it was not expensive, but very unnecessary and irritating. 2800 HUF (12 USD). The staff was very kind and helpful. The prices was also reasonable, we paid 28000 HUF pr night (112 USD) breakfast included. Nice hotel, we would love to stay here another time. LUPS

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PetterN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

334 - 340 of 1,026 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel five years ago and it was great back then. Now it’s only good location which hasn’t change. The only great thing about this hotel is location.
Hotel needs renovation (dirty walls, old carpets ect). They changed toiletries to the cheap ones and it's not good. It's four star hotel which can't afford uniforms for staff? Housekeepers walks in shorts and very open t-shirts, at breakfast room all personnel wears different clothes, don't have name tags, so it's difficult to understand to whom ask for something. Low quality food at breakfast.
And the worst part was check-in procedure. I don't blame that poor girl, who had no idea what she needs to do - but you can’t leave her alone in reception, without any training. She didn't find my reservation (she let me understood that it's my fault, because I made booking the same day and no one checks bookings so often (?!)), I showed her confirmation. I asked, but she didn't let me go to the room until she decides what to do (she was in panic, trying to call somebody, after just looking at her notes). And we had to stand in front and wait. After a lot of time she finally found our reservation and we asked for a double room. She gave us twin. We called to ask, maybe they have double room available and she explained, that all rooms in this hotel have only twin beds, double beds don't exist in this hotel. Really? :) After two nights I moved to another hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with natural light (not inside view), but they probably won't care about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giedre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

This is a well kept hotel in a good location at a very reasonable price.
I stayed on two occasions for business but managed to spend some time in the evening taking in some of the many sights, Budapest is a beautiful city and this hotel is fairly central to most things.
Rooms are modern clean and in good order, I had no issues with Hotel noise although there were some sgort term utility building works happening locally, (but you cant blame the hotel for this).
From a business perspective the location of the Infopark is a short taxi ride away, for sightseeing the Hotel is almost in the middle of the sightseeing map, about 5min from the river where you can see the main bridges, cathederals and castles.
Back at the hotel , breakfast is reasonable although not impressive, in the basement there is a small but well equiped gym. A Sauna, large Jacuzzi and small pool which are welcomed at the end of a hard day.
There are a number of good reastaurants in a couple of adjoining streets 5 mins walk away so all in all a good location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This hotel was quite nice, but the room was really small, we could feel a smell of food from the kitchen in the room despite our closed window.
Breakfast was the same every day - average, small selection
Good location

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiskooH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

It is a nice place to have a room in the city of Budapest. Quite cheap. Do not expect too much, but very correct for the money. The reception desk service is nice, the place is friendly, and they have a helipad!!! A small airport for helicopters in the middle of Budapest! What, this is not New York!!! Where are we?
Anyway we got the chance to visit it despite in winter it is closed as Panorama Terrace, and the view is outstanding. Hey, you can arrive with a chopper. I have spoken with the staff and they sad there is a chance to organize helicopter service, but need a special reconciliation. Of course need enough money, but not that much which would be needed in western Europe, or in the States.
The Hotel is nice, friendly and cozy. Also have a classical and a modern annex.
We will stay in Hungary for a while and this is a perfect place with every comfort far from home.

Room Tip: The street side is classic style and real civil area comfortable and sunny. In the modern annex you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sol d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I chose the hotel based on it's location in District 5 and what a great choice it was. The hotel is in a perfect location, the price is amazing, the rooms are nice and newly renovated and such is the entire hotel - perhaps it's new?

Breakfast was good with a large selection. There is a pool and SPA which I didn't have time to use.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m747p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I just got back from a long weekend in Budapest. I went with a friend and we stayed here because the price was great, and the spa looked gorgeous. We got a superior double room for a great price. The room was very big, very clean. Had a large shower but no bath. A few complimentary toiletries and a kettle with 3 in 1 coffee/milk/sugar sachets (not the best I've seen, no tea bags, but considering it's not self catering I didn't expect there to be any coffee facilities in the room. Also a reasonable mini bar, drinks only).

The breakfast buffet was the usual mix of chocolate donuts, tinned fruit, salad, bacon and eggs and of course a few random things like onion rings and mini hash browns. Great selection of different breads, good quality orange juice and lovely coffee.

The staff were wonderful. Whether it was helping with more towels, fixing things immediately when the fuse blew, directing us to hip local bars and restaraunts and generally being very polite and attentive at any encounters. I always value this more than the average person might due to my age and appearance (young and heavily pierced and tattooed!).

The location was excellent, near to a huge number of monuments and metro stations and a beautiful building in itself. We did not use the spa in the end even though it was one of the main incentives for picking this hotel. Once you've been out sightseeing till 6pm you do not really want to pay for a whole days entry for just another hour or 2 use of the spa (its shuts at 8pm). The treatments are a bit vague and someone has to come independent of the hotel to perform these various massages which are quite expensive. The spa itself 2,900HUF for the whole day which is very cheap if depending on how much you use it that day.

Would love to come back here again if I didn't try to avoid visiting the same places more than once! Lovely hotel and amenities. A great base for a long weekend in Budapest.

Room Tip: Our room was non smoking, but a lot of the cheaper ones did have balconies and ashtrays and definite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim_oooooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Continental Hotel Budapest
Continental Hotel Budapest
#40 of 334 in Budapest
4,442 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#7 of 334 in Budapest
2,290 reviews
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#108 of 334 in Budapest
1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Estilo Fashion Hotel
Estilo Fashion Hotel
#49 of 334 in Budapest
1,183 reviews
District V / Inner City
Residence Baron
Residence Baron
#54 of 334 in Budapest
712 reviews
District V / Inner City
Cosmo City Hotel
Cosmo City Hotel
#50 of 334 in Budapest
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Hold utca 3-5., Budapest 1054, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District V / Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #97 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £54 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel President is a brand new luxury boutique hotel located in the heart of Budapest, in the vicinity of the fabulous building of the Magyar Nemzeti Bank (National Bank of Hungary). Budapest's other major attractions, such as Szent Istvan Bazilika (St. Stephen Basilica) or Vaci utca (Vaci street) are within walking distance from Hotel President. Hotel President was designed to offer quality and style, and a unique experience for all guests: businessmen, delegations, groups and families as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing