We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful with the shuttle...Good place in budapest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Actor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Actor Hotel
Ranked #243 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Be careful with the shuttle...Good place in budapest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Breakfeast included, 3 blocks from metro, nice staff, upscale room, and only drawback is the "free" shuttle to airport... It is only free after three nights so we ended up paying 20 euros to take us to the airport. They will call it for you saying that but actually It is a taxi and it will cost a little bit more but it was a great service. I suggest doing it if your having a early or late flight as the streets to the metro have a tough neighborhood and I would walk there with the luggage or family away from the sunlight. But overall hotel experience was positive and room was very nice

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PilikaiHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear PilikaiHawaii,

Thank you for your comments with regard to your recent stay at Actor Hotel Budapest. Whilst I was pleased to read that you found our room to a high standard both in comfort and cleanliness I was disappointed to read of your dissatisfaction with aspects of our shuttle service. As testified by previous reviewers on Trip Advisor this is not the experience that our guests are accustomed to receiving.
In answer to the confusion surrounding our free airport shuttle service, I would like to clarify that this offer is only valid if you stay at least 3 nights with us as you mentioned. Please also note that this service is only available between 07:00 to 22:00 (07:00 am to 10:00 pm) everyday. This information can also be found on our website and other booking sites too. I've tried to look after on your case, get in touch with you to learn the full story, but your nickname didn't help me. All I can think of that there was a misunderstanding between you and my colleague at the reception. Please accept our deepest apologies for the caused inconveniences.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Actor Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    90
    53
    25
    35
See reviews for
34
72
7
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iisalmi, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed in Actor hotel for a five days in mid-September 2013. Our choice was obvious - nice and peaceful hotel within walking distance from the town center within a reasonable price.

And whow, we were surprised - this hotel was cozy and relaxed, silent (for old-timers like us ;-), the staff was friendly and always to willing to help. Both breakfast and dinner was good. As mentioned lower, it took only five minutes to walk to subway station or couple of minutes to tram stop. You can buy tickets for subway, tram, bath, from the hotel. Of course, You can walk wherever You want (as we did). The airport shuttle was also working - but remember to check the transportation before arriving/departing.

Thanks, folks of Actor Hotel, for successful vacation in Budapest!

Room Tip: We did have a superior room, which was cozy and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKokkonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear JKokkonen,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is wonderful to know that you found our hotel to be cozy, relaxed and silent and that you enjoyed the services provided by our staff. I'm especially glad to hear that our hotel's location met with your expectations and you could easily discover all the sights that our beautiful capital city Budapest has to offer.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Actor Hotel Budapest in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Korsoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We visited this lovely hotel in September 2013. The hotel is located in a nice quiet neighborhood just a short walk from the metro station and it comes easily to get to the center of town. The rooms are large and we were so lucky to get one with a balcony. The hotel and the rooms appear very clean and maintained and has everything you need: Nice wide beds with very good mattresses, nice bathrooms, hairdryer, television, mini bar and a small safe. The service and the staff at the hotel are fantastic and the free airport shuttle makes it easy to get there from airport. Hopefully it will not be the last time we visit this nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelleFrandsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear HelleFrandsen,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review of your recent stay at Actor Hotel Budapest. I am thrilled to hear that from the moment you arrived until the moment you left everything was great. The team at our hotel pride themselves on ensuring that each and every guest enjoys a special time with us, and I'm glad to see we succeed to deliver this to you.

We truly hope too that you will visit us again soon and we all already look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm Regards,
Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grootschermer, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

I made a reservation at the Actor Hotel because it is (relatively) close to the Palace of the Arts where I was going to see a concert with the prima donna assoluta Edita Gruberova.
Also it was cheap (€ 48 for a single room).

The room was clean, not big but not tiny either.
Bathroom had a large shower, a toilet and a sink.
Bed had a nice, firm mattress.
Desk was a bit dark even with the lamp turned on.
WiFi worked fine.
There was a mini bar but it was not very cold.

The young woman who checked us in was very friendly and helpful.
Other staff seemed to be not very interested.
They said their 'good evening' when we said ours but no smiles.

I was not impressed by the neighbourhood.
There were some shops (some were even open 24/7) - that was nice.
A few cafe's and a few simple restaurants.
That was disappointing.

But hey! I paid € 48 for a comfortable room in a quiet street (very little street noise) that was clean and had WiFi and a nice bed.
So no complaints.

Would I go back there?
Probably not.
Not because of the hotel (it is really good considering the price) but if you plan to spend just a short time in Budapest you may want to be in a nicer neighbourhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
Thank JDm452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear JDm452,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor following your stay with us and I am pleased that you feel that the hotel is good and nice, even though our location didn't meet with your expectations. I'm sure I would be able to advice you routes, places, things to do in our neighborhood that would change a bit your opinion. Unfortunately only a 1 or 2 nights stay is simply not enough to get to know Budapest. Hope you enjoyed the concert with the prima donna assoluta Edita Gruberova at the Palace of the Arts.

I truly hope you will grant us an other opportunity (after my response) to prove you there are a lot great things to do in our neighborhood that you missed during your short stay and I will have a chance to personally guide you.

Please do not hesitate to contact me at any time, I will be more than happy to assist!

Warm regards,
Konstantin kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kozani, Greece
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I visited this hotel in March with my school on our 7 day Europe trip. The thing with this hotel is that it has very confident - relaxing rooms which is exactly the thing we needed after an exhausting (but beautiful) walk to both Buda and Pest cities :) . Nice bathrooms , normal breakfast and fast/large elevators. The only problem we had was to park the bus into that narrow road in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexandrosKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, General Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear AlexandrosKaz,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site following your stay with us back in March and I am delighted to hear that you had a wonderful experience. I am also glad that you found your room to be elegant, nice and comfortable. Actor Hotel Budapest has one of the biggest rooms in the 4 star category here in Budapest and we are proud of it :).

I am so glad that your overall stay was so enjoyable and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you and your group back to the Actor Hotel Budapest on a future visit to our wonderful capital city.

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel is a bit far away from center of the city, but near underground station Klinikak, so easy to get center. Peaceful location.
Breakfast is very good and the athosphere also nice.
Service is very good, staff is nice and helpful.
Room was clean.
Nice place and not an expensive hotel. I recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauKul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear LauKul,

Thank you for taking the time to post a short, but helpful and positive review about your stay with us. All of our staff members work hard to ensure that our guests leaves with a feeling of satisfaction and I'm delighted to see we were able to deliver it in your case. I will definitely pass your thoughts to them for a little encouragement :).

We wish you all the best for you and your family and look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed at the Actor for 9 nights in July 2013, and think our extended stay meant we got a larger-than-average room! Most guests only seem to stop for 2 or 3 nights - which is a shame for a city that has so much to offer. We were staying whilst the Hungarian Grand Prix was on so things got a lot busier at the weekend, but the hotel seemed to cope OK, and was always quiet at night.

Our room was spacious, clean and well-equipped, apart from lack of tea/coffee faciliteis (which we knew in advance). Bed was usual 'two singles' pushed together, but wide and comfortable. Air-conditioning struggled to cope with mid-30's temperatures, but good enough to be respite from the heat outside.

There was a good choice at breakfast, and some different options throughout the week, including lots of fruit and some hot choices. Reception staff were helpful, if a little slow at times. One of the best features was the free transfer from and to the airport, especially as the hotel is a little way out of the centre. The organisation of that was very efficient.

The location of the hotel is probably the only slight drawback - it's deep into Ferencvaros and a good 5-min walk from either the metro or a tram - which while not an issue for us, could be for some. Also, the area isn't over-endowed with restaurants and bars (although there's a very good one on the closest corner!) so a trip into town is probably required for more choice. However, Raday Utca is only 10-15 min walk away, with lots of eating options.

Note for vegetarians: Budapest is difficult for veggies, especially if you or your partner wants more than pizza/Italian all week. Even fish is hard to come by in Hungarian restaurants. Our saviour was 'Hummus Bar', of which a new branch had just opened at the nearby Leonardo Hotel close to Fernec Ter, just 2 blocks away! They did a number of hummus-based meals, plus other veggie options, and plenty for the meat-eater too - and great baklava for dessert too, all at a very reasonable price!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front in the 'round window' might be larger (ending in 08/09?).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Konstantin K, Guest Relations Manager at Actor Hotel, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear foxjenny,

Thank you for sharing such a detailed review about your stay with us. It is always lovely to read positive guest opinions about our hotel.
You are right, you were promoted with a free upgrade to a Superior room to make it even more comfortable and enjoyable your stay with us. I'm glad to see that you appreciated it.

I am also pleased that you found our free airport transfer offer efficient, helpful and well organized. We have also updated our official website with a new transfer order form to make the arrangement procedure easier & effective.

Please allow me to recommend some new possibilities for vegetarians as I feel bad that you found our beautiful capital city to be difficult on this matter. A new great restaurant recently opened in our neighborhood called Petrus which also offers some meal options for vegetarians, and TheBigFish restaurant is waiting for those who like fish near to the Oktogon station about 20 minutes away from us.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts with us and We certainly look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit and please do not hesitate to contact us, if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind Regards,
Konstantin Kovats
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Leonardo Hotel Budapest
#116 of 342 in Budapest
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Di Verdi Imperial Hotel
#149 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Rila Hotel
#258 of 342 in Budapest
3.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Marmara Hotel Budapest
Marmara Hotel Budapest
#101 of 342 in Budapest
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Actor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Actor Hotel

Property: Actor Hotel
Address: Viola utca 10-14., Budapest 1094, Hungary (Formerly Actor Business Hotel)
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Actor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Actor Hotel Budapest enjoys a peaceful location close to the Danube river and Petőfi bridge, just blocks away from the Grand Boulevard. Klinikák metro station (M3 line) and the main tram line (No. 4-6) are only 500 m away.We ensure free transfer from and to the airport on prior request in case of minimum 3 nights continuous stay. This service is available between: 7:00-22:00 everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Actor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing