We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Paris in Budapest - go there!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of M. Restaurant

M. Restaurant
Ranked #59 of 3,080 Restaurants in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$25
Cuisines: French, Eastern European, Central European, Hungarian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Little Paris in Budapest - go there!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

A really nice, cozy restaurant with a fantastic atmosphere. The creative decoration adds to it. And at the end of your evening you get to draw on the paper that protected your table. Fun.
The menu is adapted to the feeling of the chef, the season and the availability on the market. Everything is prepared with great care. And the service is personal and very nice. From the M. salad, to the catfish, and the chocolat fondant - it all was of great taste and presentation. You are off the tourist track and that's great. People from the neighbourhood come there too which gives it a special touch. I would go back next time.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dbeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    156
    34
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Local and Hip without being touristy”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Off the beaten path but a great find! Very cheap wine and small cozy atmosphere. We had the beef cheek entry and duck with plum chutney with polenta. Very delicious and reasonably priced. Really liked the brown paper lined drawing decor. Service in well spoken English.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 11EC11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cool place with good cooking”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

It's easy to miss this place, a bit of the main tourist track and covered in scaffolding on the night I was there with my wife.
It's very small, just a few tables upstairs and down. The walls are covered in brown lining paper and they have drawn on patterns and pictures with black pen. Cool.
Staff are lovely and friendly. When pouring our local sparkling wine the waiter noticed my glass was not clean. Without waiting for me to say anything he replaced both my glass and the bottle. The wine was pretty good, by the way.
For starters we had the Hungarian charcuterie and an octopus salad. Both delicious and both big portions. Main courses of Duck and Beef Cheek were bistro classics. This is French bistro cooking with Hungarian portions!
Too full for dessrts we went straight to coffee. I asked for a digestif and was recommended Palinka. I've not had this before. It's strong! My wife didn't like it so the waitress brought her small glasses of the raspberry and quince flavour to try. All on the house.
The bill was too low for food and service this good - only 11500 huf. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rewhog
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We found this place using tripadvisor initially. Werent disappointed. The food was very good and fresh - the only negative is that we went a bit early and there werent too many people. The wine was very good and inexpensive. Highly recommend the Salmon tartar for appetizer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexibrahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“M. as more than medium”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Basically I'm not a real french kitchen fan. But the atmosphere of the restaurant is impressive and unique. The second biggest advantage of the place is the seasonal offers, which are linked to the actual season, so the courses are really fresh. The taste of the courses are pretty cool. The staff is kind and polite. Not so expensive as I thought earlier. Good choice occasionally. Overall I can recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tothpeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed M. Restaurant also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to M. Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing