We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in a perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #10 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem of a hotel in a perfect location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

A great value for money hotel in a perfect location in the city centre, near the opera. Really helpful staff, very clean and well equipped room and bathroom with high quality fittings, reasonably fast free WiFi and good breakfast. From the reception, into the lift and through to the room - everything exudes quality. All this for 59 euro per night (double bed including breakfast) in such a location is a real bargain. Will definitely book again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Opanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear „Opanta”,
Let me thank you very much for your valuable feedback you have left on TripAdvisor. It was my pleasure to learn from your review that you really enjoyed your stay with us. I was glad to see that you were satisfied with every aspect of your stay. Your praising words are highly appreciated. Our aim is to impress every guest of ours with quality, I am happy that we succeeded. We look forward to your next visit. Please make sure to contact me directly before making your upcoming booking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,190
    354
    47
    7
    4
See reviews for
329
738
103
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Opera Gardens Hotel was very well located - close to the Opera House and other main attractions. Very easy to get into the city and see the sights. Breakfast was included, the Wifi reasonably fast and staff who were consistently helpful. The room was nice enough but we hardly spent any time in our room - too many other things to do!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear „James W”,
Firstly let me thank you for your stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. It was my pleasure to see how much you appreciated the central location of the hotel and you also found it very easy to get to the sights in the city. Let me thank you for mentioning the stable Wi-Fi connection which we provide free of charge. I was really proud to hear that you highlighted the quality service provided by the hotel staff. It was also great to read that the room was nice enough to provide comfort after a tiring day of sightseeing. As I am almost sure that you still have a lot to discover in Budapest, we would be honoured if we could welcome you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The room is great, very spacious with a fully equipped kitchen and fridge. The beds are very comfortable and bathroom was a good size.
The staff here are so friendly and helpful it made the whole trip that much nicer. They welcomed us into the hotel with brochures and helpful suggestions of what to do in Budapest.
The location of this hotel is fantastic, it feels like you are right in the city center however its quite and local, the Opera is down the road and its less than a 5 minute walk to St Stephan's Basilica.
I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone travelling to Budapest.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear „Nat K”,
I would like to thank you sincerely for posting your excellent comment of your recent stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments on TripAdvisor. I was really happy to see that you enjoyed our central location and also liked the comfort of your room and the bathroom size met your expectations. I cannot be grateful enough for all your kind words regarding our front desk staff. It was my pleasure to be read that they could make you feel excellent during your stay. Thank you very much for your commending words. I truly hope that I will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ukexplorer44
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

The location is great. A few minutes walk from the train stop. The apartment was compact and don't expect much privacy. We requested double beds and found one room with twin - asked it to be moved together but it wasn't switched. We stayed three nights and was a great place to explore both sides of budapest. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Such a bargain.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukexplorer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear „ukexplorer44”,
Let me thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay with us. I was delighted to learn that you really liked our strategic location, and it was easy for you to explore the whole city. I was sorry to read that we could not help you regarding the two double beds, but as our apartment rooms were fully booked during your stay, we were not able to fulfil your request and change your room. In case of a fully booked house, there are limits we cannot cross even if we wanted to. I would like to stress that our main goal is to reach 100% guest satisfaction, so we always try to fulfil such requests. Hereby let me apologize for any inconveniences this might have been caused to you. However it was my pleasure to see that despite this issue, you found our breakfast selection plentiful and the price/quality ratio also remarkable. We are grateful for the top rating you gave us. We honestly hope that we will have the chance to accommodate you in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I knew this hotel would be good as they emailed me to confirm and ask what they could do to help with our arrival (one week ahead). A car was organized to collect us from the station, with advice as to how much to pay. On arrival, staff recommended a fantastic restaurant nearby and reserved us a late night table as we were starving. The rooms have a decent kitchenette with microwave, hot plates, kitchen implements etc and the bathroom is supplied with lovely L'Occitane products. In the foyer of the hotel stands a table with complimentary sangria and biscuits. There's even a cute little cutout of running shoes in each room, tied with laces, directing guests to the best place to go for an early morning city run (awesome for a runner like me). It seems like nothing is too much trouble in this small but very smart hotel. A great find.
Michelle
Sydney

Room Tip: If traveling in a bigger group the apartments with a second bedroom would be advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear „Michelle T”,

I would like to thank you very much for your superb review and for the top rating you posted on Tripadvisor about your recent stay with us. I was happy to see that you appreciated our service minded attitude and also thank you for promoting that it is really a smart idea to rely on our care and service during and even before the stay. It was my pleasure to read that you have found your room comfy and well equipped. Let me also thank you for mentioning the extra amenities and the little touches we provide free of charge. We only introduced the cut out shoes with instructions for runners only a few months ago, we are more than happy that they are noted and appreciated by a runner. You are right, we are very keen on guest satisfaction and we always go an extra mile to make our guest happy. Comments like yours are making us just more passionate in our day-to-day routine. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Given their prices, i didn't expect much complementary services. Was pleasantly surprised. A lot of small kind gestures and the incredibly friendly service made me absolutely fall in love with this hotel.

Location is great, breakfast is good, staff friendly, rooms clean, jacuzzi, rooftopbar, and sauna, and all at reasonable price.

Expect me again soon!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank DLeatres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dera „ArnoM”,

I would like to thank you so much for your short but comprehensive and commending review and the top rating that came along with. It was my pleasure to learn that we were able to provide a memorable experience which exceeded your previous expectations. Thank you for noting the little extra touches. As your review speaks for itself, I am only to be grateful for such guest like you who value the quality and effort a hotel like our delivers. We would be proud to have you back upon your next visit, hopefully very soon. Please do not hesitate to contact me before making your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments is a nice place, in the city centre of Pesta, in the
Pedestrian area. Lots of terasses and restaurants near by makes every guest happy.
Personnel was very nice and helpful, speak very good English and answered all my requests.

Room Tip: Elevator does not go to the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bela_Schiffler, Front Office Manager at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear „Cristina M”,
Let me thank you very much for the comment on your stay at Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments. I was happy to read that you highlighted our central location in the city centre of Pest. It was especially pleasant to see that you found lots of terraces and good restaurant in our close vicinity. I was also proud to learn from your review that our staff gave you processional service throughout your stay. Please let me highlight that we help to deliver every guests luggage placed on the top floor where our top roof terrace and other exclusive rooms appear. I am grateful for your kind review and so happy that we were able to give you a new and memorable experience in Budapest. We would be delighted to accommodate you on your next visit to Hungary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,734 reviews
District V / Inner City
Aria Hotel Budapest by Library Hotel Collection
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#5 of 334 in Budapest
2,186 reviews
Andrássy út
Hotel Moments Budapest
Hotel Moments Budapest
#3 of 334 in Budapest
1,079 reviews
Casati Budapest Hotel
#8 of 334 in Budapest
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments

Property: Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments
Address: Hajos utca 24, Budapest 1065, Hungary
Phone Number:
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > Terézváros
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Budapest
#8 Business Hotel in Budapest
#9 Romantic Hotel in Budapest
#9 Luxury Hotel in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easy onsite parking for EUR 16/car/day. In the City Center in the heart of Budapest. Business facilities: free breakfast, free wifi internet access, providing computer or tablet to check your emails, free meeting room up to 6 persons, copy, fax, laptop, adapter, telephone charger, room service. Child friendly facilities like baby cot and chair, toys, baby buggy, baby sitting service. Free wellness area with fitness room, sauna and jacuzzi. Fully equipped kitchen, LCD television, air conditioning and free coffee and tea making facilities in every room and apartment. Pets are allowed. Wheelchair access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Opera Garden Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Opera Garden Hotel And Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing