We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budapest starts here!”

Free Budapest Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$17.60*
and up
Budapest Local Pubs Tour
Ranked #1 of 297 Tours in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Insightful and entertaining city walks about history, society, architecture and what Hungarians are actually like. 7 days a week, 9 tours a day. Tours range from General, to Communism, to Jewish themed walking tours with critical and honest local guides. Tours have no fixed prices, based on name-your-own-price system only. Free Spirits. Free Guides. Free Stylers.
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Budapest starts here!”
Reviewed 19 September 2012

This is the place to be on your first day at Budapest. It is a very friendly and informatiove tour of the city. The tour guides are very friendly and open to any questions you may have. Recommended some of the best sights and restaurants to go. This tour is must if you are new to Budapest!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ferdous7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Ferdous7,

The aim of our General Tours is to give visitors the knowledge to be able to handle everyday situations like locals in Budapest as early as possible after their arrival. Thank you for highlighting the usefulness of the tour.

We are grateful in the name of all of our guides for recommending us to other travelers.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,098
    653
    140
    63
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“<3”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I really like the options of tour these guys suggest. I took different tours from them. 3 topics I am the most interested at. They were not just like usual guides, giving tons of information, but did some jokes, talked to people.
I enjoyed indeed
excellent mark goes form St Pete

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank StRasTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear StRasTina,

we're happy to have been able to satisfy your needs for historical and up-to-date city information during your stay in Budapest.

It's especially rewarding to read that you regard our guides special and offering more than the average level of service.

Greetings to you in St. Petersburg, and we hope to see you again!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Do this first thing when you arrive! ”
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

The tour is great. 2 tour guides were very helpful and provided a lot of history and insight to the city.
We walked around St Stephens Basilica and Elizabeth Square then crossed the chain bridge and walked up hill. The walk uphill was not difficult, but you can take the funicular instead. They showed us the Castle Hill area. The tour ends near Matthias church. They gave us plenty of tips on tourist things like where to eat and drink, what to visit and how to spot a good bureau De change and how to avoid tourist traps. All advice were honest and very useful!
Overall I highly recommend anyone visiting the city take up this tour. Tips is voluntary and we tipped HUF 4000 for 2 people in total.

Helpful?
1 Thank Pengster F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Poznan
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best way to learn about communism.”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Even though I come from Poland which is also a post communistic country and I believe I have good understanding of the matter I found the communistic trip in Budapest very enlightening. The information was presented in an understandable, non chaotic, sometimes funny, sometimes shocking but definitely not boring way. Our guide Suzi was very familiar with the subject, she not only gave us fully satisfying historical background, but also shed new, personal light on the matter. I recommend this trip for everyone who wants to learn the history of Hungarian soviet era and understand its impact on a today situation.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MartaP0land
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear MartaP0land,

thanks for your great review on our tour, during which we aim to shed some light on the history of Hungary as a Communist country. As you know, this ideology produced different types of regimes and societies in each country it affected, so we're happy if you think you got a good insight through the personal stories told.

Your positive comments are much appreciated - in the name of Suzie as well.

See you the next time you're around!

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must-do for first-time visitors”
Reviewed 15 September 2012

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Budapest and based solely on TripAdvisor recommendations, took the Jewish Quarter and afternoon Budapest Walk tours the first two days of our vacation.

Both were professional, informational and wonderful ways to begin our week-long stay in this history-filled, gorgeous city.

Jewish Tour: Anna and Aaron are well-trained guides who are clearly passionate about their city. Each minute of the 2-1/2 hour tour was maximized, giving tour participants - Jewish and not - an expansive look at, understanding of and insight into Jewish life and sites before and after World War II. Dedicated to making this tour educational, they encourage tour participants to ask questions.

Afternoon Budapest Walk: Our guide Esther is delightful. Clearly passionate about her native city, she is enthusiastic, energetic, engaging and has a wonderful sense of humor. She knows Budapest well and provided participants with important tourist information as well as an insider's look into this amazing city - past and present. The company is fortunate to have her in its employ.

Esther's assistant guide Bridgette provided valuable 'back up' for those of us who had questions - and when she was uncertain of the answers, she went to great lengths to research and answer them. She is curious and interested and never considered my questions frivolous. Like Esther, she is a wonderful asset to the company.

My husband's mother was born in Budapest and his family roots date back generations so we had many questions specific to that history and Esther and Bridgette did their best to respond accordingly.

Tours overall: In my opinion, both tours are a must-do for anyone visiting Budapest for the first time. They are invaluable!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jazzbird925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapester1973, Guest Relations Manager at Free Budapest Walking Tours, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Jazzbird925,

we are grateful for your extensive and praiseful review. It was wonderful to meet you in person and to clarify the issues about the "Big Walnut and Small Walnut" streets, a place of your husbands's ancestors. It was a rewarding experience to have the opportunity to assist you.

We say a big thank you for your participation and contribution in the name of Anna, Bridgette, Esther and Aaron and everyone else working for us.

That said, we're awaiting your return to Budapest.

With kind regards,

The Free Budapest Walking Tours Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Free Budapest Walking Tours also viewed

 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Free Budapest Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing