We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hugarian's Finest”
Review of Faust Wine Cellar

Faust Wine Cellar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.88*
and up
Budapest Private Wine and Cheese Tasting Experience
Ranked #1 of 196 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Be our guest in our authentic Faust Wine Cellar under the Dominican Cloister - the part of the UNESCO World Heritage! We are offering about 80 sorts of Hungarian wines and 30 sorts of "Pálinka". During the week we are organizing special wine and "Pálinka" tastings guided by our sommelier!
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
208 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Hugarian's Finest”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Impressed with the owner, who is very knowledgeable(having worked in the Hilton). The wines suprised me as well, having asked for the red selection(being a Rioja man), bulls blood, very good. The last wine tasted(being white) really surprised me as well(eyes shut for this one). Give yourself 2hours+ to take in the atmosphere of the place and ENJOY.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrahamGrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    126
    15
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A romantic place”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

It is a Greit Place indeed if you like famous and valuable trade mark of hungarian wines. I liked it very much with many-many visitors in it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kaczorqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“To book or not to book?”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Tried to book from the UK before we left and we were told by email correspondence that we didn't have to book. Once in Budapest, before we set off to visit the Faust Wine Cellar, we asked our concierge to check that they still had spaces... only to find out it was fully booked. So we can't offer an opinion on the experience itself but we were very disappointed that we had been advised not to book. Perhaps next time we visit Budapest???

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BoozieWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun experience in an interesting setting”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

6 wines tastings was 4800 Huf. Can choose palika as your 6th choice. You can buy a bottle of whaydver you taste. Was definately worth it! But make sure you eat beforehand, as the tasting is generous.

Helpful?
1 Thank FuntimesWeeeeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun! Fun! Fun!”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

My boyfriend and I LOVED this part of our trip. The place is in a cave... incredible. It's SO tiny and intimate. It's also an incredible value; all of the wines were delicious and the sommelier very nice and patient We ended up buying 2 bottles to take back with us. Faust really is a MUST when you're in Budapest. And reservations really are a MUST. The place was fully booked the evening we went.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jmait7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faust Wine Cellar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Faust Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing