We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place for a primer on Hungarian wine!”
Review of Faust Wine Cellar

Faust Wine Cellar
Book In Advance
More Info
US$44.42*
and up
Budapest Private Wine and Cheese Tasting Experience
Ranked #1 of 190 Shopping in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Be our guest in our authentic Faust Wine Cellar under the Dominican Cloister - the part of the UNESCO World Heritage! We are offering about 80 sorts of Hungarian wines and 30 sorts of "Pálinka". During the week we are organizing special wine and "Pálinka" tastings guided by our sommelier!
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great place for a primer on Hungarian wine!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We did the "Curiosities of Hungary" tasting. It was a fabulous introduction to wines of the region. We had a great time-- intriguing wines in delightfully strange (but intimate) setting, with an excellent host.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Elisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    790
    126
    15
    9
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the second time we visited.

It is a great 3 hours getting sozzled on nice wine and some great chat from Gabor and his wife.

A great afternoon and I rarely drink alcohol!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank scottkeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Romantic, Fun and Informative”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We came along here on the Sunday night of our weekend trip to Budapest and were lucky enough to be the only people there for the evening.

Gabor made the experience extremely fun and entertaining particularly as we are not "wine gurus" to begin with. He was extremely passionate and enthusiastic about the beautiful wines from across Hungary and this really made for an enjoyable evening for us.

We also had the dinner while in the cellar which was beautiful, although as previous reviews have said, the cheese scones were also absolutely lovely!

The cellar itself was really special and very romantic which was perfect as I had booked this as a birthday treat for the other half. Gabor even brought a little birthday cake out to celebrate when he found this out.

Overall would HIGHLY recommend putting this on your 'to do list'

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KDC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good wine”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

It is in a cave but associated with the hilton hotel. Located on the Buda side. I suppose one might think it expensive for a wine tasting but really, it comparable to California. Many wines. I would skip the dinner.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jogtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“MUST DO IN BUDAPEST!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My experience at The Faust Wine cellar was top notch. I 100% recommend this to anyone and everyone traveling to Budapest. It is a small, quaint setting with only a few tables. Candle lit in a cavern, it is ideal for a romantic night out or a group of friends. The wines were amazing and I had no idea Hungary had so much to offer from the wine regions (some varieties are sent to the Queen of England and are very difficult to get your hands on, but Faust Wine Cellar got ahold of them too!) I will definitely be back the next time I am in Budapest! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! great prices as well!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank larissalee5589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Faust Wine Cellar also viewed

Budapest, Central Hungary
Budapest, Central Hungary
 
Budapest, Central Hungary
 

Been to Faust Wine Cellar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing