We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel in the City of Budapest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in the City of Budapest”
Reviewed 14 July 2011

comfortable hotel inmidst the city of pest - metro nearby, breakfast buffet is rich and of excellent quality

Room Tip: rooms looking in The Courtyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KHSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,409
    1,502
    288
    48
    29
See reviews for
461
2,233
153
344
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel was just beautiful. The rooms amazing, stuff so nice and helpful. We have been there few months after it was open. Stayed there for a week..Lovely outside pool area also delicious food and breakfast was just perfect!.5 minutes from the center and 2 minutes from buss and tube. When I go back to Hungary I will defiantly stay there again hope their price will be as good as it was when we went last time ;)

Room Tip: defiantly stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yiotsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Yiotsot,

One week stay is quite enough to test a hotel in depth. This is why I was happy to read how satisfied you were with the facilities and with the service. I appreciate very much your compliments. I hope Continental Budapest will be the venue of your next stay in Budapest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
budapest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

our citytrip to budapest (4 girls) during the weekend, was absolutely unforgetable !!!
we had a lovely stay in this hotel where the staff, at any time, did everything to give us a wonderful time : they gave extra information about the attractions, made a reservation for dinner, ordered a taxi, sold us tickets for the bus, thermal bath,etc.
and always with a big smile !
the breakfast buffet was delicious ...
and the swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool on the rooftop were a big surprise !!!
when we ever return to budapest, it will surely be here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BudapestCitytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear BudapestCitytrip,
it was good to read how much you enjoyed the services of our Concierge moreover always with a smile! Reading your compliments on our breakfast it seems to me, that the breakfast, our weakest point is not anymore so hectic as it was once before. The return to BUdapest and to our hotel is up to you! You, together with your girlfriend are always welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I got a great rate for this hotel on Jetsetter.com, so even though it's about a 5-10 minute walk from the main tourist area, I thought I'd try it out. Our room was beautiful and comfortable and the pools were so key in the middle of June. The breakfast was delicious! Loved everything about this hotel - easy walk to everything in budapest (including the train station).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anner89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear Anner89,

many thanks for your great review! I was especially happy to read how much you enjoyed your brekafast. The changes we have introduced in the operations of the breakfast guests feel much better in a relaxed area and can enjoy the quality and a wide selection of our breakfast buffet.
I hope you will shortly return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2011

Stayed ther from Sunday to Thursday, large comfortable and beautiful rooms, luxury bathroom, fantastic indoor and outdoor pools and sauna + jaccuzi on roof terrace very friendly staff, excellent location AN OASSIS IN A CITY

Room Tip: Ask for room facing inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msdm1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear msdm1111,
nothing to add or comment for such a nice review from my side. Just say thank you and wish you a return to our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Exceptional all round decor in rooms and public areas. Nice pool area though outdoor was closed but indoor pool, spa and sauna open for guests. Lovely friendly all round hotel and reasonable prices for their level of accommodation. Top Breakfasts too. Excellent for Jewish visitors as located in the old Jewish quarter and close to the main Synagogues and Kosher eateries. I did the whole shabbat shtick at Kacinsky Shull and pre-paid shabbat meals at Hanna's Restaurant in same courtyard. Cholent was tops. Great Hotel at reasonable price.

Room Tip: They have both smoking and non smoking floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzzieBusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear OzzieBusa,
thank you for your kind review. I was happy to read how satisfied you were with our hotel including the breakfast too. The location was ideal for your Shabbat - it was also a good news for me.
Such a good experience is worth to return. Do not hesitate, you are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect ,set back off the busy main road and a short walking distance to the main attractions. The building is very grand and has been renovated to a high standard, the bedrooms are are lovely, very clean, comfortable and modern. The gallery bar is perfect for an early evening drink, whilst listening to the grand piano being played excellently. Roof top pool and sunbathing area was a nice retreat from the city centre heat. All in all an excellent hotel with friendly, professional staff . Thank you I had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roba108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Dear Roba108,
thnak you for listing all the unique selling points of our hotel. What made me especially happy that you listed the friendly service too. Since the human factor makes the difference although the facilities are important too in the success of a hotel. It was good to read too, that you liked the location of the hotel, because not all the guests agree on this.
I hope you will have a chance shortly to return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,734 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,080 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing