We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Exec room. Location is disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Stayed at the Zara for 3 nights in mid July 2011. Booked an Exec room, which was big and in good condition. No view to speak of, since the location of the hotel is further away from any of the major tourist stuff and takes at least a 20 min walk to get to the river. Overall thoughts were that it was a decent hotel, but lacked the location or polish of the Le Meridien or Hilton, and I would avoid it unless yo get beyond the location.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank nydc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2011

Dear Nydc75,
I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the size of the executive room. I sincerely hope you also enjoyed our facilities and services too. I agree the highlight of Budapest is its location and the banks of the river Danube. Bear in mind however that Budapest is a big capitol with almost 2 million inhabitants and 525 Square Kilometers offering a lots of attractions not all on the Danube, like the Opera, the Great Synagouge or the theatre district, Music Academy, the ruin pubs etc. These attractions are good reasons to return but for a longer period. You are welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,901 - 2,907 of 4,558 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

Have stayed in Budapest a number of times but on the last trip we stayed in Continental Zara and this is one I will come back to. The location is very good, 2 mins walk to the metro and about 15 min stroll to the Danube. Next door is an excellent italian restaurant Terzo Cerchio.
The reason we picked this hotel was the outdoor pool. Its small but an excellent way of relaxing after a busy day sightseeing. the spa facilities are also very good.
The rooms are a bit small even though we had selceted a deluxe but in such a beautiful city it wasn't a problem. The breakfast is basic buffet. The one black mark for me was the coffee...instant from a machine...yuch! But the cafe upstairs served a decent coffee so after the first day that was our morning ritual.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SuzDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear SuzDundalk,
I was very proud reading your review from an expert of Budapest hotels. What the coffee is concerned there are critics on the quiality of the coffee, but it is mainly beacuse of the coffee machines in general. On request we serve different coffees from our traditional coffee machines too. As I read from your review you enjoyed however the coffee in our Gallery Cafe. There is no doubt, that coffee, the famous Molinari coffee is really one of the best one can imagine.
Please keep ypur words and come back to Continental Hotel Budapest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

From the moment we arrived at the Zara we felt welcomed. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and the hotel itself was lovely.
Our room was well decorated and included a mini-bar, air conditioning and two very comfortable beds! I had been expecting tiny rooms after reading some of the reviews on here but found ours to be quite spacious. We faced into one of the courtyards and it was also very quiet, we didn't even hear any 'normal' hotel noise such as doors shutting etc..
The breakfast buffet had plenty of choices and was constantly re-stocked and hot. The hotels wellness suite was nice and the outdoor rooftop pool a luxurious finishing touch!
The Zara is well placed near to all public transport routes and only a 15min(ish) walk to the Danube. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others and would stay here myself again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scrubmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Scubmonkey,
Many thanks for your kind review. I was especially happy to read that you disagree with some of the reviews regarding the size of the room. There are always opinions which find the size of a room not appropriate, but for short stays the size of the rooms are spacious enough. And we have three different tyes of rooms as per size, except that we have suites too.
It was quite flattering me to read how much you liked the breakfast and the constant refill of the buffet table.
Many thanks for recommending our hotel and looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

comfortable hotel inmidst the city of pest - metro nearby, breakfast buffet is rich and of excellent quality

Room Tip: rooms looking in The Courtyard are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KHSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The hotel was just beautiful. The rooms amazing, stuff so nice and helpful. We have been there few months after it was open. Stayed there for a week..Lovely outside pool area also delicious food and breakfast was just perfect!.5 minutes from the center and 2 minutes from buss and tube. When I go back to Hungary I will defiantly stay there again hope their price will be as good as it was when we went last time ;)

Room Tip: defiantly stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yiotsot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Yiotsot,

One week stay is quite enough to test a hotel in depth. This is why I was happy to read how satisfied you were with the facilities and with the service. I appreciate very much your compliments. I hope Continental Budapest will be the venue of your next stay in Budapest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

our citytrip to budapest (4 girls) during the weekend, was absolutely unforgetable !!!
we had a lovely stay in this hotel where the staff, at any time, did everything to give us a wonderful time : they gave extra information about the attractions, made a reservation for dinner, ordered a taxi, sold us tickets for the bus, thermal bath,etc.
and always with a big smile !
the breakfast buffet was delicious ...
and the swimming pool, sauna and whirlpool on the rooftop were a big surprise !!!
when we ever return to budapest, it will surely be here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BudapestCitytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear BudapestCitytrip,
it was good to read how much you enjoyed the services of our Concierge moreover always with a smile! Reading your compliments on our breakfast it seems to me, that the breakfast, our weakest point is not anymore so hectic as it was once before. The return to BUdapest and to our hotel is up to you! You, together with your girlfriend are always welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I got a great rate for this hotel on Jetsetter.com, so even though it's about a 5-10 minute walk from the main tourist area, I thought I'd try it out. Our room was beautiful and comfortable and the pools were so key in the middle of June. The breakfast was delicious! Loved everything about this hotel - easy walk to everything in budapest (including the train station).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anner89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2011

Dear Anner89,

many thanks for your great review! I was especially happy to read how much you enjoyed your brekafast. The changes we have introduced in the operations of the breakfast guests feel much better in a relaxed area and can enjoy the quality and a wide selection of our breakfast buffet.
I hope you will shortly return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 336 in Budapest
5,044 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District V / Inner City
InterContinental Budapest
InterContinental Budapest
#29 of 336 in Budapest
3,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Buddha-Bar Hotel Budapest Klotild Palace
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#18 of 336 in Budapest
7,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 336 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range: £48 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing