We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good, well located and affordable hotel. Quiet and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very good, well located and affordable hotel. Quiet and clean”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Strongly recommend this hotel for it's location (not in the heart but quieter and 10min walk into the old town), service and excellent suite rooms.

Pro's: decor of the lobby is outstanding. We got a suite which was huge and very well decorated. All mod cons, flat screen TVs (x2). Huge bubble bath and walk in shower. Quiet location yet easy walking distance or short metro ride into old town. Excellent pricing for quiet rooms compared to over-priced and boring main chains. And most of all the service - excellent advice, quick and professional responses to emails and on-site, keen to impress and willing to make that extra effort.
Restaurant is actually surprisingly reasonably priced and offers local as well as int'l food.

Cons: has become very popular hotel, so can breakfast gets crowded and hard to move around the buffet area, especially if raining in their outside veranda - need to find a solution quickly as could become focus of negative comments.
Worth them putting a partition in the suites between main bedroom and lounge for family use - room for improvement then, but excellent value

Room Tip: suite rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doc_Coq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Doc_Coq,
it was flattering to read plenty of pros. The previous crowd during breakfast is nowdays really very seldom, it happens only if the majority of the guests are coming at the same time. We excluded the breakfast from several room rates, which helps a lot. We have started to cover of veranda (courtyard garden) to become independent from the wheather. From your scores I see that you were satisfied with our hotel and hopefully you will recommend us to your friends.
Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,391
    1,484
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,213
151
342
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

In the beginning of July we spend 4 nights in Continental Hotel Zara in Budapest and it was just perfect! Very nice hotel, spacious rooms with new decoration, very calm, good working and silent airconditioning, very friendly staff (they make reservations for each touristic event you want to do, suggest good restaurants),very good breakfast and of course perfect price (we paid +/- 80 euro a night for a room for two,including breakfast)..
The small pool on the roof was very pleasant, adds to the perfect-holiday-sentiment ;-)
The only minor disadvantage is the location, it's about 10 min walk to the city center,but when you take the subway, you're there in a minute!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juli2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Juli2010,
Excellent feedback and great scores! Thank you! Happy guests - happy staff. This is how it works!
Again, many thanks and please return!
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Room was modern and comfortable. When we were there, the hotel must be quite full cos it was not easy looking for a table during breakfast time! it was crowded.

we had the chance to use the pool which was small in size, so don't expect a workout but good enough for our daughter to take a dip.

everyday, we will take a walk towards the centre/river and it will be about 15 mins-20mins walk.

there's an italian restaurant nearby which served excellent pizza.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longweiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

We enjoyed our stay there a lot! The staff was very friendly and truly helpful in everyway!Great breakfast and fresh!The room was a bit small,but the bed was really big and comfortable!Easy access from the hotel to all places with transportation!And the price was great as well!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadaIdris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Nadaldris,
many thanks for your compliments in your review. I was sad to read that due to the size of the room - despite of the good location, the mattress, the breakfast and the helpful staff - your score was not the maximal. Nevertheless please come back and experience our hospitality again for a better review.
Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We celebrated our wedding anniversary in Budapest this year and wanted something special. We stayed at the Zara Hotel.... it was brilliant!! The staff were very helpful, the room was great with air conditioning and everything that we needed, the restaurant facilities/breakfast was excellent with plenty to eat and drink, and huge variety, the swimming pool and relaxation facilities on the roof overlooking the city were brilliant, and the bar was great to enjoy a few drinks and end the day.
The hotel is anly a short walk from the main centre and the Danube and we enjoyed walking around the city and along the river front. We went to several evening concerts without the need for taxis and buses.
We will be going back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ronshrimpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Ron4434,
it seems to me from your review that you were lucky with the selection of the venue for your wedding anniversary. I found especially complimenting that you liked the location of the hotel too, since some of our guests has different view. The attribute "brilliant" sounds a little bit extreme for our Hotel, but I am not aloud to discuss with a guest!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

Stayed at the Zara for 3 nights in mid July 2011. Booked an Exec room, which was big and in good condition. No view to speak of, since the location of the hotel is further away from any of the major tourist stuff and takes at least a 20 min walk to get to the river. Overall thoughts were that it was a decent hotel, but lacked the location or polish of the Le Meridien or Hilton, and I would avoid it unless yo get beyond the location.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nydc75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 July 2011
Dear Nydc75,
I was happy to read that you were satisfied with the size of the executive room. I sincerely hope you also enjoyed our facilities and services too. I agree the highlight of Budapest is its location and the banks of the river Danube. Bear in mind however that Budapest is a big capitol with almost 2 million inhabitants and 525 Square Kilometers offering a lots of attractions not all on the Danube, like the Opera, the Great Synagouge or the theatre district, Music Academy, the ruin pubs etc. These attractions are good reasons to return but for a longer period. You are welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Have stayed in Budapest a number of times but on the last trip we stayed in Continental Zara and this is one I will come back to. The location is very good, 2 mins walk to the metro and about 15 min stroll to the Danube. Next door is an excellent italian restaurant Terzo Cerchio.
The reason we picked this hotel was the outdoor pool. Its small but an excellent way of relaxing after a busy day sightseeing. the spa facilities are also very good.
The rooms are a bit small even though we had selceted a deluxe but in such a beautiful city it wasn't a problem. The breakfast is basic buffet. The one black mark for me was the coffee...instant from a machine...yuch! But the cafe upstairs served a decent coffee so after the first day that was our morning ritual.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzDundalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 18 July 2011
Dear SuzDundalk,
I was very proud reading your review from an expert of Budapest hotels. What the coffee is concerned there are critics on the quiality of the coffee, but it is mainly beacuse of the coffee machines in general. On request we serve different coffees from our traditional coffee machines too. As I read from your review you enjoyed however the coffee in our Gallery Cafe. There is no doubt, that coffee, the famous Molinari coffee is really one of the best one can imagine.
Please keep ypur words and come back to Continental Hotel Budapest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,701 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,031 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
K+K Hotel Opera
#37 of 333 in Budapest
3,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing