We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel to see a great city”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great hotel to see a great city”
Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

Hotel service, rooms, location were all perfect, would recommend to anyone looking to take in budapest to stay at hotel Zara.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m very glad that you found everything perfect and I would like to say how much I appreciate your recommendation.

Please be our guest again. Sincerely yours,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

4,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    1,504
    290
    48
    29
See reviews for
463
2,236
153
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liondon
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Our selection of this hotel as a useful base for exploring Budapest was a wise one. Modern, clean with helpful cheerful staff.
Corridors a little narrow but public places airy and spacious.

Room Tip: a lomg walk fro the lifts unless you take a room at the end of the corridor and use the back lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Martin,

I’m very grateful for your straight review. “Modern”, “clean”, “helpful” – these words express everything that we are working for.

Looking forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

My Mom and I were somewhat disappointed with our choice of hotel in Budapest; I really don't get all the glowing reviews....maybe we had a lousy room because despite researching previous reviews, I think we didn’t make the best pick. The location was pretty good (only 10 minute walk from hop on/hop off tour) but if I went back again, I’d definitely stay at the Marriott or InterContinental or the Hilton, which all have much better locations within the city. Our hotel may have been 4 star, but the room was definitely 3 star…it was tiny and had a small bathroom with a smaller shower. The hotel staff was ok…not particularly friendly at check in or checkout and the lady at the coffee area was decidedly unfriendly. The housekeeping did do a good job of keeping the room clean but amenities usually found in 4 star rooms (robes, slippers, etc) were not available. The hallways were grungy and dated (at least on our floor); it just didn't feel like a 4 star hotel. Downstairs is beautiful but upstairs looked more like a mediocre hotel. If you look at my other reviews, you can see I'm not really picky and am usually quite generous with rating but I just can't give this one a 4 or 5.
One great point about this hotel is the pools. The outdoor and indoor pool were fabulous especially after an unusually warm day of sightseeing in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
Dear Guest,

I was sorry to read that our hotel did not meet yur glowing expectations. Since our hotel is in the downtown in a silent side street and has 4 stars only it is not reasonable to compare it with the 5 star hotels on the Danube. Slippers, bathrobes and even kettles are not standard amenities in the standard rooms, I agree, but all are available on request. I think the characterization of our hallways are a question of taste. I apologize of any of our staff members did not provide you the proper service. Hereby I thank you for your compliment son the room cleaniness and on the roof top wellness area.

Many thanks and best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here last weekend in a group of 8, could not fault it whatsoever. Firstly, fast and friendly airport pick-up from the concierge team was excellent and great value. As soon as you arrive in the door the concierge staff are wrestling your baggage from your hands to help, for a speedy and efficient check in. All 4 of our rooms were upgraded without charge, including 1 room that had been booked in the sister hotel 10 mins away by mistake. As soon as we realised the mistake (on our part), staff at the hotel were extremely helpful to put it right, and this did not cause a problem at all. We were all accommodated in the same hotel as soon as possible (the next day). The rooms were very nice, with everything you need including robes and slippers, which were not expected due to the excellent value price we paid. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice to cater for every taste and a great Americano, so much so that I could manage without English Tea for a few days! Good location, within walking distance of the Danube, bars and restaurants, and lots of attractions. If you don't fancy the walk, Concierge will book taxis which arrive in minutes and even recommend places to eat. We took their advice and went to Spoon on the river, in the shadow of Buda and the palace - fantastic lit up at night. Insider tip: take photos before midnight as they turn the lights off!!!! I have to say, it was the best food I have ever tasted, absolutely divine, and 2 courses with lots of wine cost less than 30 GBP including service!! Could not recommend this hotel and Budapest in general enough - I will be back there ASAP!! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay xxx PS the male species in Budapest are REALLY handsome!!! :)

Room Tip: Buildings on all sides of the hotel, so not really a good view to be had, but mine was overlooking t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for your comprehensive picture about your experiences. I’m very happy that your problems around your room booking got quickly solved. I believe that the excellent service is the key for the perfect relaxation so that you don’t have to deal with every day troubles.
Our receptionists and concierges visit all restaurants before they recommend them, these is why the only high quality places are taken into account.

Let me mention that if you wish to taste real English Tea in Budapest next time please also visit our Galery Café or ARAZ Restaurant.

You are most welcome at any time at our Hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

On arrival at this fabulous hotel I was beginning to think I was in the wrong place, it appeared far too luxurious for what I had paid, the lobby was very grand and they had a pianist playing! We were given a free upgrade on checking in and I was very pleased with the large room with flat screen tv built into the wall and a lovely view. I also used the rooftop spa and pool which was fabulous after a long day trekking around the city. Breakfast was served til 1030am and there was a huge selection. As soon as I got back I recommended it to a couple of friends who had their trip here booked in the next hour! 10 out of 10!

Room Tip: We had a lovely view of the hotels trendy courtyard, other friends didn't have such a great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your amazing review!!! I’m proud that Continental Hotel Budapest made such a great first imression. Whenever we can we offer the best available rooms for our Guests.

I appreciate your recommendation and eagerly looking forward to you and your Friends’ visit.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

A very classy outfit, lovely design and architecture. Only issue is charging for use of spa

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your praisful words regarding the architectural solutions of our Hotel. Some of the room rates do not include the complimentary use of the wellness area, I am sorry that your agent did not inform you about it at reservation.

Many thnaks and best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlaar
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Posh interior with shining gold fabrics in a rather small sized room. Adjacent restaurant Araz can be recommended. Wellness only open from 9 am to 9 pm.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 27 April 2012
Dear Guest,

I’m very glad that our interior impressed you and that you were satisfied with ARAZ Restaurant as well. Let me recommend you to try an other type of our rooms which may be more suitable for you if you visit us next time.

We are looking forward to seeing you again.

Best regards,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,736 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,083 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing