We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good value nice hotel”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My wife and I spent four nights here in August 2012. We decided on this hotel having read previous reviews on tripadvisor and were not disappointed. We were delighted that we were able to use the offer on tripadvisor at the time for a free room upgrade. The room was excellent and whilst having modern facilities (including wifi in the room) the character of the building had been tastefully retained. The location is great and the rooftop swimming pool was ideal after a day's sightseeing as the temperature was in the mid 30s. We would definitely recommend anyone to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benandkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear benandkaren,

I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your fantastic review on Tripadvisor. As you mention yourself, we have several guests, choosing the hotel based solely on previous guest’s reviews. That is one of the main reasons, we pay special attention to customer service and appreciate your generousity of taking the time.
It is my great pleasure to note that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay, and had a very pleasant experience in our wellness area. This summer was extremely hot (actually it still is), our outdoor pool was (and is) a fairly significant addition to the hotel services.
I am particularly pleased, that you liked the ambiance and the construction of the building, which is the result of a meticulous and careful planning period and a long-term and complex construction work.
Thank you again for staying with us, and we look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in the area,

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,390
    1,482
    284
    48
    28
See reviews for
456
2,211
151
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We travelled across Europe by train to Budapest, and the hotel car was waiting to collect us at the station when we arrived. At the hotel we were greeted by professional friendly staff who could not do enough for us, and we were escorted to our room by a lovely porter called Lazzio who made us so welcome. The room had been upgraded to a Deluxe at no extra cost and we were very comfortable throughout out three night stay. The public areas in the hotel are beautiful, clean and bright, and we felt very relaxed. We dined in the Aras restaurant in the hotel while we were staying there, and the food was superb, the service excellent and the price very reasonable. The breakfast was to die for, everything you could possibly think of was there, and again the service was excellent. A wonderful three days and we will definitely be going back there.

Room Tip: We had a Deluxe room which was everything we needed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank milo04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Dear Milo04,

I feel hearty satisfaction from your detailed review. This is our goal, and I am happy that we did not fail.

I really appareciate your kind words and your excellent scores and look forward to your promised return.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vellinge, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Excellent hotel, very good rooms and in a nice location. The breakfast was very good, but coming from Scandinavia one probably would expect more.

The staff was very friendly and service excellent.

Can nothing but recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Christian S,

Thank you for your delightful headline (it couldn’t be more flattering) and for your review on your stay at Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior. We are pleased to hear that we could meet your expectations, and that you recommend our services to other travelers, looking for a relaxing city break in the heart of Budapest. I thank you also for praising our breakfast in general, and if you have some spare time, I am truly excited to hear, how we should improve our breakfast selection in order to impress even more our deeply honored Scandinavian guests.

Thank you for your cooperation, kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location is excellent with the Danube about 15-20 mins walk away, and metro and bus access nearby. In old 'Jewish' quarter with good small restaurants, 'ruin' bars etc. The area around the hotel was quiet and felt very safe ( like all of Budapest where we visited). The staff were helpful and pleasant and had good English. Breakfast ( included in our tariff) offered extended choice, though the dining area is very large and busy, so breakfast was not a restful experience! The ensuite room( standard)was rather small we thought, but adequately provisioned. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were rather spartan.The conversion of the hotel from the original spa building, has been done well and imaginatively in the public rooms. The spa is small, and I tried a couple of times to book a last minute massage ( unsuccessfully) but I felt that the massage reception ( a separate company?) was rather off- hand in their manner, and not particularly helpful. Overall a good value hotel that we would recommend.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 284Babs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear „284Babs”!

First of all let me thank you for taking the time and for your kind comments in regards to your stay at Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior.
We put great emphasis on atmosphere, service, and training and it is great that you felt exactly that. It makes me also delighted, that the interior and the design of the hotel, as well as the breakfast and the location of the property were at your satisfaction – these features all contribute to the success and exceptional reputation of our property.

As the massage is one of the most popular services of the hotel, we usually recommend to make a reservation in advance – as last minute requests, just as you have mentioned, can be accepted on very few occasions. Thank you also for pointing out the inadequate manner of our colleague at the massage area, I will immedieately look into the matter, as such behaviour towards our guests is completely unaccaptable.

I sincerely hope, that we may have the opportunity of welcoming you back to our hotel again for another memorable stay.


Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I booked my break through Jet2 and this hotel was one of the options.I booked it on the strength of reviews on this site and wasn't disappointed!
The staff couldn't be more helpful and attentive in a genuine way, and the hotel is beautiful.Excellent facilities and reasonably priced too.Great breakfast,something for everyone.The room safe is big enough for a laptop and there is free wi-fi.Lovely bar and restaurant,and the rooftop spa and outdoor pool were great.
The area has plenty of places to eat/drink and is easy to access all the attractions.We used the hop on/off bus to introduce us to this wonderful city and this includes tickets for cruises on the Danube.After going with my daughter in July,I have booked again for Sept with my fiance.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 190SAF5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear “190SAF5”,

First of all let me thank you for your time spent writing your comments about your first stay at Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior on tripadvisor.com. I am delighted to read that your overall impressions of the hotel and the staff were excellent and it will give me great pleasure to communicate your kind remarks to the entire team.
I am thrilled that you had such a nice time at the hotel, and that you managed to provide such a comprehensive overview of our services, highlighting almost all of our main assets, the staff (what we consider to be the most important in the hospitality industry), the breakfast, the bar, the free wi-fi, the room safe, the rooftop spa, the outdoor pool and last but not least the excellent, unique location of the hotel.
It makes me particularly delighted, that you plan to return in September, on your next trip to the city. If I can be of any assistance, regarding your future stay at, please do not hesitate to contact me personally. Thank you again for taking the time to record your comment on tripadvisor.com.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

This is an amazing hotel. Beautifully done up with elegance. The rooms are large and quiet. Good value for money. The restaurant was fantastic. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The whole place was immaculately clean. The location is good - in the centre of the old Jewish quarter with good access to public transport to get you about the city easily. The rooftop pool was brilliant - wonderful morning wake up or evening cool down. Lots of good (and very cheap) eateries and ruin pubs close by. All in all a real find. Definitely hope to be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruntie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Bruntie2,

I thank you very much for pointing out your extreme satisfaction regarding the high standard of services delivered at Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior.

I am truly glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience with us, having highlights of your stay, such as our excellent ARAZ restaurant, the magnificent rooftop pool, and the unique ruin pubs in the vicinity. Thank you for praising our location, in my opinion also it is a perfect start point to your discovery of Budapest.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Budapest.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Lovely hotel in a great location - lovely staff and the breakfast was great with loads of choice. Definitely recommend if staying in Budapest.

The reception area is lovely and the free WiFi was great. We stayed during the Olympics and it was nice that they had it on the bar so we could have a few drinks and watch it if we didn't feel like being in our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 11 August 2012
Dear Lauren E,

First of all let me thank you for choosing to stay at Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior and for taking the time to share your experience with us. I was pleased to learn that you were satisfied with the hotel’s facilities and services and we really appreciate your comment regarding our breakfast selection, the professional staff and the unique reception area.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior in the near future. In the meantime, if I can be of any assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. I thank you again for your confidence, loyalty and kind words.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 333 in Budapest
4,694 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 333 in Budapest
7,021 reviews
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#16 of 333 in Budapest
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District V / Inner City
Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 333 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing