We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you are looking for outstanding service, attention to detail and beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Hotel Budapest

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“If you are looking for outstanding service, attention to detail and beautiful surroundings then this is the hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

We stayed here as part of my 40th birthday celebrations and found the service to be outstanding. From the moment we checked in, the lady instantly commented and wished my a happy birthday. We were thanked (genuinely thanked) for choosing their hotel. The actual building inside and out is stunning, from the front doors, reception, garden area to rooftop pool and views. The manager should be highly complimented on his and his teams performance down to the very last detail.

Location is good with great public transport links to pretty much anywhere you want to go. We will be back and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The USP has to be the fact that you can have that city break,but also have some time chilling at the pool too. Well done to the manager and staff of hotel Zara, it's increasingly unusual to get this level of service!!!

Room Tip: We were lucky to be upgraded to a delux as the manager had recognised my special birthday. We staye...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnepk32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Dear Yvonnepk32,

First of all I would like to thank you for selecting Continental Hotel Budapest ****superior for your Budapest stay and for choosing our Hotel for the celebration of your 40th birthday.

I truly appreciate your comment above and it is a considerable pleasure for myself, that you were satisfy with the staff and I was delighted to read that you were impressed by the architecture of the building. It was one of our highest criteria, when constructing the building to provide a green oasis for our guests, an atmosphere, where one can relax and escape from the noisy city center.

Let me express again my appreciation for your review and for your stay with us. Our experienced and eager hotel staff is gladly waiting for your near future return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,316
    1,440
    269
    47
    27
See reviews for
445
2,144
144
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I have never been in such a great hotel! Everything was just perfect: when we arrived, the staff immediately took our lugage to bring it to our room, the receptionists are very friendly, the room is very nice and clean, the breakfast is so varied, the restaurant is beautiful and the food is delicious, there is a nice bar where you can drink something at night to relax after a busy day... We had a very nice stay in this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Marcia D,

I wish you to stay in similar good hotels like Continental Hotel Budapest. Your compliments on our hotel and staff are all highly appreciated.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
laois ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

we have just returned from 3 night stay in this wonderful hotel. Got up grade as it was our anniversary trip. rooms beautiful, good size, breakfast excellent. bar food - small selection but really top nosh. our only quibble was having to pay extra for use of pool and fitness area. why not include it in price of hotel stay. we were disappointed with this extra charge. Staff excellent and efficient. overall a wonder hotel and will return any time. public transport from airport is easy enough, take bus 200e to metro station and blue line to derk F ter. from here you can walk to hotel. ask for synagog on Dohany street and hotel is short distance further on, on this street.

Room Tip: we were at front of hotel but with ac on and windows closed we have quiet sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenlaois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Helenlaois,

a lot of thanks for the maximum scores you gave after your stay with us. I was very pleased to read how much you liked our hotel despite paying for the spa extra. In most of the hotels it is complimentary, just like in our most room rates in Continental Hotel Budapest. I can suggest to check all the conditions when making the rerservation, as for example not all the rates include brekafast neither. On the other hand the 6 euros/person for the rooftop swimming pool and for the other facilities are worth, I think.

Once again, many thanks for your post and best regads,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My partner and I spent two nights here in February. The location for us was fine as we didn't mind walking and exploring but it is off of the main street. The main entrance disguises the beautiful reception area of this hotel with grand piano and modern decor. The reception staff were very friendly and welcoming and were happy to help with any queries we had regarding attractions and public transport.
The room we had was decorated to a high standard and was by far the best room I have had in a while considering the price we paid. Great bathroom and comfortable beds with slippers and bath robes.
The breakfast served was good with a large selection, we also had dinner in the hotel restaurant which does great deals for hotel guests. The food was beautiful! There is also a bar which overlooks the main lobby area which provided a good selection of alcoholic beverages and bar menu.
We did not use the spa pool/facilities whilst there as we were too busy exploring Budapest & the outdoor pool was a no no as it was snowing.
The hotel was easy to find for twin people who had never been to Budapest before and within a few minutes walk of a main interchange on the metro. Travelled from the airport via public transport which was easygoing however, beware of the inspectors on the airport buses. You must validate your ticket in the little box on the bus even if you buy it from the driver. We didn't do this (fools!) and were fined. We saw this happen to several other tourists on the bus also so be careful.
This is a beautiful hotel, with great food, friendly staff and extremely reasonable prices. I would happily recommend this hotel to anybody looking to explore Budapest.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vixxy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Dixxy82,

February is not the best season for exploring Budapest, but I was happy to read how much you enjoyed our hotel and Budapest despite of the incidents with the validation of your ticket on the tram. I appreciate the nice desciption of the room amenities, as it is very useful for the readers of Tripadvisor in the room reservation, since all the Deluxe and Executive rooms have upgraded amenities.

I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our breakfast and ARAZ Restaurant too.

Many thanks and look forward to your return.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

What can I say. WOW. beautiful,stunning,modern,historic are a few words. Upon arrival we were greeted with smiles. As it was my birthday whilst staying we were very kindly upgraded to a suite which was huge, spotless, lavish and had everything you could need.We also had a balcony. unpacked and went for a wander,took photos of the stunning lobby and upstairs cafe,which serve the best cocktails,nice to start off the evening. Also has seperate part for internet use which was great for finding places you may want to visit although the hotel staff are more than willing to help with anything, also speak very very good English so no confusion.
Breakfast was plentifull, again, everything you could want. fruit, cold meats, cheese, bacon, 3 types of eggs,bread,salad, yogurt, cereal,pancakes and the best porridge i've ever had. We sat outside which was lovely in the morning and the staff were fantastic, always smiling.
Would also recommend visiting the spa, swimming in a roof top pool at 7pm with the sun shining was fantastic. Hotel is also in a great location 5 min walk to Andrassy ut where there are lots of places to eat and drink plus the public transport is a very short walk away.
We got back from a day sightseeing to find a birthday card to me, from the manager with the biggest fruit platter, what a lovely gesture,it really did make our holiday even more special.
All in all I cant promote Continental Zara enough. Beautiful hotel in a beautiful city, I can't wait to visit again, and I will definitely be coming back here :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJ_rdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear EmmaJ_rdan,

reading your review I can find out that your birthday trip was a memorable one, in terms of destination selection for Budapest and in selection of Continental Hotel Budapest as the venue fpr it.. I can find out from your sincere review too how much you enjoyed every moment of your stay. I read with great satisfaction about the smile and the service provided by our staff.

Once again, Many Happy Returns and see you shortly again.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just returned from a four night break at this excellent hotel. We chose it following research on tripadvisor and it more than lives up to its reputation. We were given a free upgrade to an executive room as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff, all of whom were always smiling. Hotel spotless throughout. Good choice at breakfast. Overall, very highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welshboy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Welshboy007,

your thoroughful research on Tripadvisor seemed to be a good selection and I was happy to read that we did not fail. Sometimes it is dangerous to read such satisfied reviews, because the expectations become high. I was especially happy to read that the staff is smiling.

I wish you again all the best for your wedding anniversary.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed here when our son played in an ice hockey tournament. While not close to the ice arena, it was a nice walk through Pest, across the Chain Bridge to the Buda side. The hotel was very nice and the staff spoke English and were very helpful The pool on the roof is quite nice and has a great view. The indoor pool was nice as well and we enjoyed relaxing in both, after walking a lot. They came in to turn beds down every night and leave candy, which was a nice touch. The only thing that was disappointing, was the mass people jam every morning for breakfast and the confusion and chaos that went with it. Not enough seating, sometimes the food empty trays were not filled for a long time, they ran out of coffee and a couple morning you had to wait in line to get in. We did enjoy a nice dinner in the same restaurant one evening, and it was very good.

Room Tip: Get into breakfast early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markandmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Dear Markandmore,

I thank you for your post especially the good remarks. I was sad to read that you found the breakfast room chaotic when a lot of people rushed into it at the same time. If the hotel is full and the majority of the guests are induvidual leisure guests - mostly on weekends - we can really hardly manage after 9 am so many guests. I apaologize for it.

The dinner in ARAZ Restaurant was however a pleasant experience as you write, so I hope this service compensated you for the incnveniences during breakfast.

Many thanks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,543 reviews
District V / Inner City
Prestige Hotel Budapest
Prestige Hotel Budapest
#7 of 342 in Budapest
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
District V / Inner City
Hotel Parlament
Hotel Parlament
#6 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#17 of 342 in Budapest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 342 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing