We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in jewish quarter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Continental Hotel Budapest
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in jewish quarter”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

Overall stars - 5 of 5

Hotel staff - 5 of 5 courteous polite helpful
Restaurant staff - 4 of 5 mostly courteous polite helpful, except for 1 who ran into me and knock over my coffee and stared at me and apologize after I told him off.
Room service staff - did not use
Housekeeping staff - 5 of 5

Room - 4 of 5

Bed comfortable rating - 5 of 5

Room size – small to medium

Restaurant / breakfast - 5 of 5 Fantastic

WIFI - Free, good connectivity

Location - If you arrive by train, take the metro and alight 1 stop at Blaha Lujza tér. Walk north west and look for 'Dohány utca street'. You'll find the hotel. Its also an easy walk to
center (Deák Ferenc tér metro, the only station where line A, B and C intersect) and another 5 mins to Vörösmarty tér metro where many tours / walking tours starts.

Attractions / Sights - mostly on 'pest' side of city (pronounced as 'pesh') within 20 mins walk

Free shuttle - no

Spa - did not use
Room Tip - high floor

Comments: There's a good Thai massage (clean type) few doors from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your detailed evaluation and scoring by services and for your final excellent score. I was sorry to hear that you found one of our waiters was not courteous enough and you have selected the nearby Thai massage instead of trying our massage service.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,411
    1,505
    290
    48
    29
See reviews for
463
2,236
153
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Viana do Castelo, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Backing home from a four days brake in Budapest and what to say? Budapest is just a beautifull and amazing city for turists! Me and my wife choose to stay at The Continental Zara Budapest and find the Hotel just classic and so fantastic. We choosed a deluxe double room (nr 350 in 3rd floor) and find the room a bit small, but very confortable, and with a decoration of very good taste, tremendou confortable large king bed, lots of pillows, allways clean and hot.Very fashion, clean, smal but functional bathroom and AC just cool, making us forget the freezy weather outside the hotel, in the streests of Budapest. Continental Zara is just an amazing hotel. Very beautifull, tremendous decoration, with very good taste, staff eficient and very friendly, allways trying to help us. And what to say about the breakfast, lots of options, good and delicious food, as the juices and the coffe, to good too. It´s location, in spite of being a bit far from Danube river and the main atractions, allows us to walk in a few minutes to them. This hotel provides clients in the superior roof, an inside pool with warm water, sauna and jacuzzi, just working great, which made our vacations becoming a dream! Imagine yourself walking all day in the lovely streets of Budapest and in the end of the day, tired, take a dive in the pool, follow by a session in the sauna and then take a jacuzzi bath! Quite Amazing!

When the client arrives to Continental Zara, the staff in reception, kindly requests an account sign, which then in the of your stay is refundable.

We loved Budapest, we loved so much the Continental Zara, certainly our hotel in another visit to Budapest in summer months! More than RECOMMENDED! TREMENDOUS HOTEL!!!

Sérgio (Portugal)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sérgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,

what amazing review for a good start of 2013! I hope this very first excellent review will bring us lots of success in this year. I can read big satisfaction between your lines and this overall opinion gives us great power and motivation for the coming year.

I very much appreciate your recommendation and wish you a Happy New Year! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October 2012 and thought it was great! It started well when we were given an upgrade to half board , with meal vouchers giving us flexibility as to which meals to take in the hotel's first class restaurant. Our rooms were lovely - modern and comfortable. We thought the hotel was a fantastic design - really spacious and classy - and particularly liked the cocktail bar upstairs. Food was first class. Good location - easy to get to everywhere in Budapest from Zara. Dont miss the spa baths! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,

I am delighted to hear that you spent some time in our ARAZ Restaurant, in our Galery Cafe and used our spa facilities as well. I am more than happy that we did not fail in providing our services and you were satisfied for the value you paid.

Many thanks for your kind recommendation and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012 via mobile

The hotel was great, the service good. A little disappointed that we were led to believe that the superior rooms were bigger. They cost 100 euro to upgrade, they were no bigger and all you fit was coffee and a house coat to wear. I used the housecoat once and had one cup of coffee. Apart from that I would most certainly recommend the hotel

Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Tony H,

many thanks for sharing your experiences with the readers even with the only disappointment. I was sorry to hear that you found the daily surcharge of 20 euros not worth for the size and the extra amenities you received or you expected. Apart from the tea and coffee facilitites we provide bathrobes, slippers, daily turndown service as well what have less value for certain guests, I can imagine.

I appreciate your kind recommendation. Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

We stayed for a week during Christmas time and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel itself feels like a 5-star hotel and is very modern. The reception area is very nice as well is the lobby bar. The hotel is located within a walking distance from the city center (~20min) but there is also a metro stop very close if you want to go faster. The staff was extremely friendly and we had no problems at all during the stay. The staff was more than helpful with all our questions. We stayed at the standard room which was very nice and clean. We had some problems with the room being too warm but nothing that couldn't be resolved by opening the window a little. The room wasn't too big but nothing special about the size compared to other similar hotels. We also had the breakfast for extra money and it was well worth it. Breakfast had everything you wanted and tasted very good. One morning the breakfast restaurant was so full that we had to wait for about 10min to get it. Even then, the staff had organized another place to have breakfast if you would've been in a hurry but we opted to wait. We had one dinner in the hotel restaurant ARAZ and it was OK. Great wines and the food was OK. The best thing was that hotel guests got 50% discount on the alcohol! There is also a SPAR grocery store very close by where you can get your daily groceries. We didn't have a chance to visit the Spa but that's another plus for the hotel that there is one and I can imagine that the roof pool is outstanding during summer time. There is also a fitness center so you work out the holiday fat :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreezingSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for your detailed and useful evaluation of your Christmas stay. It was good to read that you enjoyed your stay in general and I was happy to hear that you found the price for the breakfast (since it was not included) worth for it. I also appreciate your constructive understanding and patience when the breakfast room was full. Unfortunately if the hotel is full with leisure guests it happens that the majority of the guests take breakfast after 9 am causing some hassle in the breakfast room.
I am sure your post on the 50% discount on alcoholic beverages for hotel guests is an important information in promoting our ARAZ Restaurant.

Since you have missed to use our Spa there is a reason to return!

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We booked this hotel for 5 nights!It.was.a very clean and hot hotel !!The service was perfect!!The bad things were that the spa pool was so small and also there are only two cadins saunas only for two!Also one day for my birthday day we made massage the girls who made the massage were not so professonals...BUT the reception was very nice and decorated fantastic for Christmans' days!!!For my birthday one girl from reception remember it and they sent in our room as a gift a fruit salade!!Thank you!!!It is important the good location that the hotel is and also that is very clean and modern!!!You must go in this hotel....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Helpful?
Thank 19georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Guest,

I am happy to hear how memorable your birthday was. I do not know what guests expect from our wellness center as Continental Hotel is not a wellness hotel rather a city hotel offering also some wellness facilities and services. Most of the hotels in the downtown do not even offer any swimming pool. The uniqueness is the outside pool on the roof (except winter). I am sorry to hear that you found our masseur unprofessisonal as all of them are very vell trained professional ones.
I was a little bit sissapointed about your scores on the cleanliness as you have praised it even two times!

Thank you for calling upon the readers to visit our hotel.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Just checked in today and want to say hotel is very good value price wise and most of the staff are very polite and professional. Nothing seems to much trouble for most.
From reading other reviews I was expecting wow great things but I also feel the reviews were not based on the standard rooms . They lack tea and coffee making tools. ( but these were given as complimentary when we rasied the issue) and are a little small.
Overall the building is lovely, the rooms good, modern and very usable . Staff friendly With perfect english . Excellent prices in both the bar and with the food but I wouldn't agree totally with the incredible reviews. The wow factor is missing for me somewhere. Maybe it is because of the check-in experience. When the couple in front of you are offered " a free and luxury" upgrade by the same memeber of staff that then tells you at 2pm " your room is not ready yet, can you wait !!! " You wonder how they chose the " lucky couples??? "

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zoltan_Geher, General Manager at Continental Hotel Budapest, responded to this review, 30 December 2012
Dear Guest,

it is always motivating us if such a high benchmark is set like missing wow factor. I think I have to be quite satuisfied if the wow factor only was missing. Reading your feedback I have to notice that you have enjoyed your stay with us in general.
We inform in all possible ways that the tea a nd coffee making facilities in the standard rooms are on request basis only.
What the bad check-in expereince is concerned I am very sorry for it, but I hope you understand that almost no reservations are the same (guaranteed check-in time at reservation, different rates and conditions, different room types, views, locations, levels etc.).

Many thnaks and best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Budapest hotels
Hotel Palazzo Zichy
#4 of 334 in Budapest
4,736 reviews
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Boscolo Budapest, Autograph Collection
District VII / Jewish Quarter
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
Corinthia Hotel Budapest
#20 of 334 in Budapest
7,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
District V / Inner City
Bohem Art Hotel
Bohem Art Hotel
#13 of 334 in Budapest
2,406 reviews
District V / Inner City
Danubius Hotel Astoria City Center
Gellert Hill
Danubius Hotel Gellert
Danubius Hotel Gellert
#95 of 334 in Budapest
5,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Hotel Budapest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Hotel Budapest

Property: Continental Hotel Budapest
Address: Dohany u. 42 - 44, Budapest 1074, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Hungary > Budapest > District VII / Jewish Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 334 Hotels in Budapest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Continental Hotel Budapest 4.5*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Continental Hotel Budapest 4* Superior symbolizes the past and future, the traditional Hungarian hospitality and refinement of detail and personal service of our age. The building reflects the elements of the art nouveau style and the modern unique design characterizing ZeinaHotels, in the heart of Budapest. The 4 star superior, 272 room hotel - offering standard, deluxe and executive rooms plus suites - will revive the spirit of the legendary accommodation keeping its name and historical facade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Continental Hotel Budapest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing